We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BEAUTIFUL PLACE TO RETREAT”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ashness Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Borrowdale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ashness Farm
Ranked #6 of 15 Borrowdale B&B and Inns
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL PLACE TO RETREAT”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We arrived on a beautiful evening in the middle of the lambing season. The field under our window was full of new born lambs which was absolutely delightful. WE enjoyed walking from the farm gate moments from some of the most stunning views in Borrowdale. The hospitality was superb. We had the residents lounge with its huge log burner to ourselves and just enjoyed relaxing with our glass of wine - neer for a moment did we consider putting on the TV! Being in the middle of nowhere the WiFi is not terribly fast but perfectly adequate. We were pleasantly surprised to have a good mobile signal too. If you want to get away from it, in great comfort, this is the place!

Room Tip: Only some rooms have baths, the rest showers; ours was as big as the main room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosalin101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    16
    10
    0
    1
See reviews for
19
54
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Whitby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

You are in for a relaxing comfortable stay. This is a gem in Borrowdale showing life on a real live farm. Bedrooms are simple but comfortable and warm. We have been coming for the past 10 years and will continue to do so.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights in March at this Farm and had a great time. Our room was Armboth, ensuite with a huge bath and plenty of hot water for a good shower. If you ask for the folding bed as we did, the room is a bit snug for three people. Very clean. Great views and central location, close to Keswick (10 minutes by car).

The family is very friendly, make you feel welcome and are happy to chat. This is a nice touch because at other b&b you sometimes feel like an intruder.

As in other comments, if you have to be away at a certain time its best to ask for an early breakfast as this can take a while.

Breakfast was good, thick bacon and fresh loaf of bread every morning.

Would recommend this place!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5tumplet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We received a warm welcome from Ann and were made to feel very comfortable and at home in her friendly farmhouse. The animals on the farm were a great discovery for our 8 year old who enjoyed putting the sheep away with Ann's youngest sons one snowy evening. The log fire in the lounge was a perfect spot to sit by each evening and her breakfasts were absolutely delicious! A truly relaxing place to unwind, take in the spectacular views and recharge.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed here in Feb 2012 and it was a lovely time. The only things that I would say are that the rooms are very small, smaller than you'd expect when looking at the photos. And the bathrooms aren't exactly glam. It certainly did the job though and there was plenty hot water for a Beth which made me happy. The farm is in a lovely setting and the views are beautiful, it's in a great location too and you can easily spend a couple of days wandering round Keswick and trying all the local produce. The breakfast was ok, nothing to write home about though. Overall, this is a lovely base in the lakes.

Room Tip: Maybe pay a bit more to get a bigger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We recently stayed at Ashness Farm and found it through very helpful directions supplied by Ann.
However, be prepared that if you have anything other than an average car you will not easily get over the very narrow bridge on the way to the farm. We have an Audi A3 which was just about ok. be prepared for that.

The Catbells room was delightful, very clean and well kept, superb views of the hills and the animals. The extremely loud water pipes do not make for a leisurely quiet lie in or relaxation at the end of the day as other people run baths and showers which is a shame as the quietness around you because of the situation of Ashness Farm is spoiled by this. There are no TVs in the rooms so be prepared for that. this didnt worry us as we were out quite a bit.

Breakfast, as mentioned before, was slow. we waited nearly an hour before getting ours and there was no particular order to who had theirs first on the first morning. if you need to get out early you should mention this as the farm obviously takes priority first thing with guests second. It was 10.15 before we got out to start our walk - we would have like to have been gone well before this.

Apart from this it was a pleasant stay - you just have to remember that this is a working farm as mentioned on the website and farm life goes on around you - you have to fit in.

Room Tip: Catbells is highly recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dal_248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linz, Austria
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

This is what I imagine under "good old England". Stylish farm with a lot of animals around and very nice atmosphere. Our room was a bit small, but it was no problem. Very silent place, the only voices you here are from nature. Breakfast was good, also internet connection was nice surprise, most of another places like this one don't offer it. Generally we were satisfied.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JardaZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borrowdale
1.2 mi away
The Leathes Head Country House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,007 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mary Mount Hotel
Mary Mount Hotel
#3 of 12 in Keswick
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
909 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
#1 of 1 in Grange-in-Borrowdale
371 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashness Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashness Farm

Property: Ashness Farm
Address: Borrowdale CA12 5UN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Borrowdale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Borrowdale
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashness Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family welcomes you to experience the charm of Lakeland from within a working fell farm with its origins in the 16th century. We have 5 double/twin en-suite rooms, (3 with baths), each having a spectacular view across Derwentwater. Enjoy our traditional English farmhouse breakfast and relax in the original oak-beamed lounge. A permissive footpath runs through the farm to the nearby picturesque Ashness Bridge and stunning vista of Surprise View. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ashness Farm Hotel Borrowdale
Ashness Farm Borrowdale/Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing