We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just go you can't help but love this place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boltongate
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Boltongate Old Rectory
Ranked #1 of 1 Boltongate B&B and Inns
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just go you can't help but love this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2010

My husband and I stayed just one night but wished it could have been longer. The owners were wonderful, they made everything perfect. The location is great, the house is fantastic and the dinner was Michelin equivalent.

We loved the fact that children aren't invited it's the way it should be for such a romantic getaway.

We will be returning and would recommend you go too, you just can't help but love this place.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve-Emma_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
32
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Boltongate Old Rectory for 3 nights at the end of September 2010. As a Wolsey Lodge member we expected high standards but our experience surpassed expectations. Gill greeted us before we’d managed to reach their front door, gave us a tour of the house (beautiful), offered to help with our luggage and produced tea and homemade cake. During our stay we never got to press the front door bell, always being greeted by David or Gill before we got there. We never dined during our stay but we had plenty of homemade cake and the breakfasts were sublime. Nothing was too much trouble for our hosts. They were able to recommend from first hand experience suitable pubs/restaurants to dine and produced a packed lunch the day we climbed Blencathra. Our room was huge, very well appointed and magically remade whilst having breakfast. We had two lounges to choose from, one with television, both very comfortable. Our stay was the best holiday accommodation experience by far – they have won many awards – it was easy to see why.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrevorCheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2009

Just back from our 6th (at least) stay at Boltongate, and even though this wasn't the best weekend to visit the lake district, we still had a great time.
Gill & David are the perfect hosts, in a perfect location, with a perfect home. So peaceful & relaxing, lovely food, beautiful rooms and a roaring fire, What more could you ask for.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boogie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
World-wide Traveller
Level Contributor
143 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2009

Schedule upon request: 8:30 a knock on your door to inform you your tea tray is out; 9:30 superb breakfast, try the sausage and the local ketchup; after some good walks, 5:30 is the tea with fresh homemade cakes, to be taken outside admiring the lawn and view, weather permitting. You can also indulge in the evening dinner, which will be gastronomic but with a light touch, so not the typical countryside dinner. Everything is superlative, from the room, bed, shower, toiletries, china in which the tea is served, tea itself, lounges (one with an open fire), and the charm of your hosts, who will hand over gigantic umbrellas and local maps. This is not a B&B, but a six stars romantic retreat.

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JeanLouisV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2009

My husband and I stayed here for a night en route for Scotland, but once settled in at Boltongate, wished we could have had the whole weekend there (at least!). Everything, and I mean everything - was fantastic, from the moment we arrived, to a thoroughly warm welcome - offsetting the dreary rain - through to an absolutely delicious 3-course dinner cooked by Gill in very convivial surroundings with our fellow guests, to all the little thoughtful extras in the room like a best-quality DAB radio, gorgeous eco-friendly toiletries etc. and a VERY comfortable bed. We were particularly pleased that the peace of this beautiful, relaxing and elegant place wasn't spoilt by TVs in rooms and piped muzak (so often the case)...Breakfast was yummy, too, and morning tea brought to our bedroom door was an added bonus. Gill and David were the perfect hosts, discreet but very friendly and incredibly helpful - their warmth and perfectionism glows in all aspects of this delightful B&B experience. Can't rate it too highly. Go there if you can - you won't be disappointed. We want to return when we can sample the fabulous garden in the sunshine....

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foodisssima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2009

When my daughter recommended the Old Rectory I wondered whether it could possibly live up to her review.... but it most certainly did !
We loved the elegant house with its beautiful rooms and very nice contemporary features. Our room was spacious and most comfortable.
The food was excellent - Gill is an accomplished cook . The afternoon tea, pre-dinner drinks and morning tea trays are served with very warm hospitality. Gill and David appear to have got the owner/host mix just right. You feel that they really have been pleased to see you - and I suspect everyone feels the same after a relaxing time in their stunning home.
Would I recommend it ?...definetly.......Would I go again?....yes please!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank borneohunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2008

As we were staying in the Boltongate Old Rectory for both my birthday and the first time away together without our baby we hoped for somewhere that we could relax and enjoy from the word go and we were not disappointed.

David met us upon our arrival with tea and some of Gill's lovely cakes and we were instantly impressed with the old yet beautifully decorated building. Our room (The plum room) was wonderful with a big old brass bed that we just sank into not to mention the roll top bath in the bathroom that my girlfriend was particularly looking forward to before coming here!

The attention to detail not just in the rooms but in the whole building was a constant reminder that we were in somewhere really special and this was before Gill's fantastic dinner in the old 16th century dining room. This is also the setting for breakfast in the morning which is definitely something worht getting out of bed for with the lovely local produce and freshly squeezed orange juice.

Gill and David were the perfect hosts, allowing us every comfort and even letting us use their home phone to check up on the baby as mobile phone's don't really work out here, which is a bit of a blessing really!

All in all, a perfect place with perfect hosts and we would definitely recommend it to anyone and we will certainly be returning.

  • Liked — To many to mention! Lovely place, perfect hosts, great food and wine...etc!
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy-Lin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Boltongate Old Rectory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boltongate Old Rectory

Property: Boltongate Old Rectory
Address: Boltongate Old Rectory, Boltongate CA7 1DA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Boltongate
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Boltongate
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing