We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful house, fabulous food and lovely hosts!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boltongate
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Boltongate Old Rectory
Ranked #1 of 1 Boltongate B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 9, 2012

I stayed at Boltongate last week with my family and we had the most fabulous time. If you are looking for a quintessential country home filled with hearty breakfasts and restaurant quality suppers this is the place. Gill and David were very welcoming and made us feel at home. It is the perfect place to go to enjoy The Lake District with added luxury.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JRNYNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gill-David63, Owner at Boltongate Old Rectory, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2012

Thank you so much for writing such a lovely comment. We feel that Boltongate Old Rectory is the perfect venue for groups such as yours where one family effectively takes over the whole house with David and I on hand to deliver tea and cakes, breakfast and dinner at appropriate times!
It was also wonderful to hear so much laughter- we must delve into our games cupboard ourselves more often as your laughter was a real tonic!
We hope your Mum enjoyed her belated 60th Birthday celebrations
Kind regards
Gill & David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 47 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2012

My partner and I travelled from London to Boltongate to spend my birthday weekend, in October 2011. From start to finish, the experience was faultless - by far the best weekend trip I have ever taken. Gill and David could not do enough to ensure we were comfortable, happy, taken care of. The house has been furnished to an exceptional standard; we stayed in the Plum Room on this occasion but would have been happy in any of the rooms. We enjoyed one dinner with them (Gill is an incredible chef, although I have a suspicion she excels at anything she puts her hand to) and the breakfasts were cooker to order from a wide range of choices.

I would return to Boltongate in a heartbeat. It's quiet and well out of the way (best to travel by car) but absolutely worth it. Thank you, Gill & David, for such a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gill-David63, Owner at Boltongate Old Rectory, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2012

This is a rather belated thank you for writing such wonderful comments and we are absolutely delighted that you feel that it was the best weekend away that you've ever had. We try our hardest to think of everything we can to make your stay as perfect as possible so it's really encouraging for us to hear such amazing comments.
Re your very kind thoughts that Gill will excell at anything she turns her hand to, the truth is that she is a complete technophobe which is why it's taken this long to respond!! Still trying though!
We hope you will come and stay with us again in the near future.
Kind regards
Gill & David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

This has got to be one of the best B+B's in the UK. The rooms are wonderful with exceptionally comfortable beds, beautiful bed linens and calm, stylish decor. David and Gill are the perfect hosts and have taken time and trouble to think about every detail of their offering. Breakfast is a delightful affair with amazing local produce and an excellent selection. We have stayed here often and always choose to eat in for dinner if Gill is cooking, as the 3 course evening meal is first class. So too is David's wine list, and both are very reasonably priced. We can't recommend Boltongate Old Rectory highly enough and will be returning again as soon as we can.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SEM44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gill-David63, Owner at Boltongate Old Rectory, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to write such a positive review, we really appreciate it and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.
We're glad you found the bed comfy as we have recently invested in some hand made Harrison mattresses which we think are fabulous, so good to have some positive feedback.
We're also really pleased that you enjoyed the food. One of the best things about being a relatively small B & B is that we can shop wherever we like which means that we are able to support lots of very small local artisan food producers who are making some amazing produce in Cumbria
Please please tell your friends about us, rather than keeping us a secret, as we feel that having breakfast or dinner here with a group of six guests who either know each other or have just met is really one of the best and most interesting parts of many peoples stay.
We look forward to seeing you again in May as we remember you booked again before you left! Thank you
Kind regards
Gill & David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

The most beautiful house in the lakes!! What a hidden gem!! Tucked away in absolute tranquility but close enough to
Access Keswick. The hospitality was faultless and we were made to feel incredibly welcome. Every little attention to detail makes this stay that little bit more special. We arrived to fresh lillies in our room and a tray with tea and homemade cake... And as we left we were given s box of handmade truffles! perfection. We would highly recommend boltongate old rectory, well certainly be back again.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emmabrewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2011

We stayed end of May for our w. anniversary and met some good friends, also returners to The Old Rectory. I cannot say enough about the high standard of rooms, dinner was to die for and such wonderful hosts as Gill and David, so friendly and nothing is too much trouble.I would have no hesitation in recommending The Old Rectory to anyone, it is a fantastic place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ParryStaffordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2010

My husband and I stayed just one night but wished it could have been longer. The owners were wonderful, they made everything perfect. The location is great, the house is fantastic and the dinner was Michelin equivalent.

We loved the fact that children aren't invited it's the way it should be for such a romantic getaway.

We will be returning and would recommend you go too, you just can't help but love this place.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve-Emma_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Boltongate Old Rectory for 3 nights at the end of September 2010. As a Wolsey Lodge member we expected high standards but our experience surpassed expectations. Gill greeted us before we’d managed to reach their front door, gave us a tour of the house (beautiful), offered to help with our luggage and produced tea and homemade cake. During our stay we never got to press the front door bell, always being greeted by David or Gill before we got there. We never dined during our stay but we had plenty of homemade cake and the breakfasts were sublime. Nothing was too much trouble for our hosts. They were able to recommend from first hand experience suitable pubs/restaurants to dine and produced a packed lunch the day we climbed Blencathra. Our room was huge, very well appointed and magically remade whilst having breakfast. We had two lounges to choose from, one with television, both very comfortable. Our stay was the best holiday accommodation experience by far – they have won many awards – it was easy to see why.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrevorCheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Boltongate Old Rectory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boltongate Old Rectory

Address: Boltongate Old Rectory, Boltongate CA7 1DA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Boltongate
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Boltongate
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing