We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Unique setting for a country stay”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Vetulonia, Province of Grosseto, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
BedfordKi...
Bedford
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unique setting for a country stay”
Reviewed June 20, 2012 for a stay in May 2012
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed at this property for a couple of nights during our two week Italy vacation. The owners, Clelia and Andrea could not have been more delightful and hospitable. The property is in a small hillside town in Tuscany, about 25 minutes from the Castiglione beach area. The property has stunning views of the valley below and on clear days, the ocean beyond. The property is on a hillside so not recommended for folks with small children or people who have any trouble walking as it's a little bit of a hike to the cottage from the main house. It is a little bit 'out of the way' but car navigation system brought us right there and Clelia is more than available to help you if you get lost. If you are looking for a unique place with friendly welcoming hosts, this is your place. Meeting them both was one of the highlights of our trip.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The hospitality of the owners
Liked least: The location and difficult access to the cottage
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 19, 2012
Dear Kim and Scott,
thank you very much for your review. Hope everything is fine with you both. Take care . Ciao
Clelia and Andrea
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julia_pag...
Quebec City, Canada
2 reviews
“Private Cottage in Paradise overlooking tuscan valleys and sea”
Reviewed June 20, 2012 for a stay in May 2012

This was definitely one of our favorite places in a 1 month trip in Italy-Croatia.

Vetulonia is an ancient Etruscan town in a quiet part of Tuscany, away from the crowds of San Gimignano and Chianti. We found many beautiful towns to explore at half hour drives from Vetulonia, just as beautiful as San Gimignano if not more, as there were hardly any tourists, but lovely restaurants, castles and sunsets by the sea.

As for the cottage, we did not expect it to be so nice. When we arrived Clelia and Andrea welcomed us warmly and showed us the cabin they built themselves on the cliff side of town, looking over the the hills where they grow olives. The cottage is very clean and comfortable, with beautiful windows overlooking the valley. The outdoor kitchen is very clean as well, well stocked- they even have nice olive oil, ground pepper etc. Stella and Rita, the friendly donkeys come by to see you as you cook! (behind a fence)

The owners are wonderful people, very enthusiastic and generous. Clelia has loads of information for wandering around the region. It is definitely worth asking for Andrea's fish supper, one of our best meals in Italy! (octopus salad, fish carpaccio, fried fish and homemade tiramisu were heavenly!)

We only stayed 3 nights, definitely not enough, we hope to go back one day. I would recommend this place to everyone!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: You can't buy that kind of kindness- They were simply memorable people we met on our journey- The view- The meal with regional wine!
Liked least: Nothing! It could be hard to get to though for people with disabilities as you have to go down some stairs from where the car is parked and the terrain is uneven, but for anyone else it's only 4 minute walk.
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 19, 2012
Dear Julia and Felipe, thank you very much for your review. You've been too kinf with us. It has been a real pleasure for us having you as guests. Thanks again and take care.
Clelia and Andrea
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariette...
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“An incredibly relaxing stay in the beautiful hills of Tuscany!”
Reviewed June 19, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

First of all, Clelia and her husband Andrea are incredibly kind and hospitable and I thank them both for making our stay at their cottage a very pleasant one.

My friend and I were delayed in getting in and we got a bit lost (note: We had printed directions from Google Maps, had directions from Clelia AND a GPS and we still got lost) the cottage wasn't the easiest to find, due to all the windy roads and small streets but thank god we found a lady working in her yard, she didn't speak a word of English but had us follow her while she drove in her car and brought us there. By this time it was 9pm and I told Clelia that we would be there between 5-7pm. They were both so kind to us upon our arrival! She knew we were starving as we had been traveling all day so Andrea got to work on making us a fresh and absolutely amazing dinner at 10pm! I felt horrible as I'm sure they were getting ready for bed themselves but stayed up to make our first night of our stay a great one!

The cottage is situated in a little village which added a nice touch. There were only a few restaurants and one little convenience store that sold everything you needed to make yourself a meal if you wanted to. There was never really anyone around, it felt like just the two of us most of the time which was really nice.

The cottage looks brand new inside, incredibly clean through out. We absolutely loved it! The little kitchen outside was a nice touch and the view....oh the view. I could sit there and stare out at the view for hours. Our favorite thing to do was to sit in our chairs under the olive tree, drink coffee and talk for hours.

Our 3 day stay here was definitely too short and I regret not being able to stay there longer. I will definitely be back for sure. Our start to our trip in Italy was an amazing, blissful and memorable one. Thanks so much Clelia and Andrea! Will see you again :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage being tucked away in the hills of Tuscany making it an incredibly peaceful and tranquil stay :)
Liked least: The stairs going down from the parking to the cottage. Not gonna lie, I almost bailed on my face a few times. Be warned, this property isn't easily accessible for anyone with mobility problems.
Traveling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 18, 2012
Dear Mariette, you have been too generous to us. You' ve made me cry for what you 've written about our cottage and us. We have been glad to have you as our guests, and it has been our pleasure to be nice with you. I whish you all the best and thank you so much again.
Ciao and hopefully see you again.
Clelia and Andrea
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngiMarcu
Timisoara, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great vacation away from the madding crowd”
Reviewed September 11, 2011 for a stay in August 2011
1
person found this review helpful

First of all, the house is in Vetulonia, which is a tipical Tuscan village, not crouded with tourists, where you can have a real italian experience. It is situated in a beatifull location, very quiet (away from the main road, so no one will disturb you), surrounded by nature and most importantly with a great view of the green hills, Castiglione Della Pescaia and the sea. It is close to the main attractions in the area: beaches (to Castiglione Della Pescaia it takes 20 minutes by car), archeological sites, main cities, spas... . Also, the owners are great people, very welcoming and helpfull with advice about the attractions we can visit, they did everything to make our stay as pleasant as possible.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabiana P
Milan, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2018 for a stay in August 2018
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gabriella...
Turin, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia K
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
Google Translation

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing