We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pure relaxation”
Review of Barn Close

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beetham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Barn Close
Ranked #1 of 1 Beetham B&B and Inns
england
Level Contributor
82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“pure relaxation”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Our stay was a present from the children for a break. What a delight it proved to be.Wonderful hospitality in an elegant house. We had a large en suite twin room overlooking Anne's lovely gardens. The room was spacious, comfortable and Anne has lovely bedding which I appreciate. It was a joy to open the curtains and look out at the view.Tea and coffe were provided in the room together with lovely biscuits.Thoughtful touches like fruit tea or hot chocolate were also on the tray in the room.The breakfast was served in a lovely dining room also with a view to the gardens.The house is close to Leighton Hall, Levens Hall and Holker Hall for the lover of gardens and all are worth a visit. The wildlife in the area is wonderful and we saw woodpeckers on the bird feeder. I have only seen 1 in this country before! Anne looked after us really well and we loved the pictures Mike has taken of his big cats! This B and B is a real joy.The village of Beetham is charming and much as an English village always was.I pray it stays that way.The best present we have had, so well chosen.Anne and Mike are to be congratulated.We hope to return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnglandCath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
7
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We particularly wanted to stay in Beetham due to a family connection to the area. It was also a very good location for driving up to the Lake District. The house itself is lovely in a very quiet location, set in beautiful large gardens, just a short walk to the centre of the village.

Our twin room upstairs was spacious and light-filled with the curtains open at picture windows looking out over the Spring garden & croquet lawn. We were very comfortable and felt well-looked after. Anne was very helpful from the time of my first enquiry. She was only too happy to oblige or make suggestions when asked, but otherwise discreet and unobtrusive. Her home-cooked full English breakfasts were ample and delicious, including home-made jam preserves, served at the huge dining table - again with view over the gorgeous garden. We're so glad we found this place.

Room Tip: We had the largest room with twin beds plus 'en suite', which overlooked the front garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoslynJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

My sister and I stayed at Barn Close as a base for exploring the southern lake District. The house is located on the outskirts of the small rural village of Beetham and is very peaceful.
The 1920's house is elegant and comortable and surrounded by attractive gardens. I enjoyed staying in the larger twin room with easy chairs to sit and relax. The room looked out over the garden and was light and airy with a comfortable bed. Lots of interesting reading material and very useful local tourist information is provided. Anne and Mike are hospitable hosts and made us feel welcome and at home. Anne provides an excellent English breakfast. I hope to return for a visit and highly recommend Barn Close.

Room Tip: The larger twin room overlooks the gardens and is lighter and warmer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lindsay N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2010

The "BARN CLOSE" B&B is definitly value for money and a fantastic place to stay when you plan to visit the amazing Lake district. This is a 3 star level B&B and with the Owners' friendly, high stander service and helpful information, me & my husband had a brilliant experience living there.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Loveanimals2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Barn Close? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barn Close

Property: Barn Close
Address: Beetham LA7 7AL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Beetham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Beetham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Barn Close Beetham, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing