We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“better than the ritz !”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Greenends Holiday Cottages
Reviewed August 24, 2013

stayed at Keepers cottage, a lovely place, spotlessly clean, five star accommodation, and five star scenery surrounding it. Barry and Maureen have never dropped their standards over several years of our visiting. They are excellent hosts and I can honestly say there isn't a thing in the cottages you could possibly say was missing to make your holiday as comfortable as possible. Good size tvs, excellent dvd selection , a bottle of wine a basket of fruit on arrival, well equipped kitchen and comfortable bed. very reasonable price and totally relaxing, if your stressed or in hurry up mode, pay a visit to greenends to wind down and chill out in total comfort.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catherine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (13)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 13 of 13 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2012

We had a relaxing and enjoyable stay. Perfect location and perfect cottage! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

Just returned from our 4th stay there, our 3rd at The Stables, our first stay was at Keeper's. Exceptional quality and service from Barrie and Maureen. For a self catering holiday they add lovely touches with the decor as well as provide complimentary toiletries, fruit, Perrier water and my personal favourite, a nice bottle of red wine!
This is by far the best quality accomodation we've stayed in over the years and I will shortly be booking it again for next year!
It is an ideal base to explore not only Cumbria and the lakes but also Northumberland, County Durham and North Yorkshire. 3 years ago we booked the holiday and then booked our wedding at nearby Gretna Green to coincide with the holiday. It is also lovely to just sit and watch the birds, sheep and Alpacas or take a walk on the local moors which can be accessed literally just a few metres from the front gate.
Not a single criticism of Greenends.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
4  Thank sambooker40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2007

We have stayed in a lot of holiday cottages and this was definitely the best - worthy of the five star rating! Lots of high quality furnishings and appliances, fantastic setting and location with lots of great walks around.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew'n'Helen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2007

We stayed at Greenends in Keepers Cottage at the beginning of July this year, and can highly recommend it to anyone who wants to escape from the crowds.

Greenends is situated high in the North Pennines, on a secluded road between Alston and Nenthead, and is undoubtedly the quietest place, both at home and abroad, that we have ever stayed in. It was a pleasure to return here every evening after our day trips out to the Lake District, Northumberland, the Yorkshire Dales and the Scottish border towns.

The rooms are tastefully decorated to a high standard, including an upstairs fully fitted kitchen and sitting room, and a downstairs double bedroom, large bathroom, and our favourite, a large sunroom. Keepers Cottage also had a large gated garden with BBQ, for our use only. Although Keepers is attached to the back of the owner’s house, once we stepped through our garden gate, we heard and saw no one. Sheer Bliss!!

Most evenings we relaxed with a glass of wine in the sunroom, watching the resident herd of alpacas and the large variety of garden birds on the bird feeders, including woodpeckers and bullfinches. The view down the valley was wonderful, even when it was raining.

We enjoyed the solitude and beauty of Greenends and would definitely go back again.

Stayed: July 2007
4  Thank domidog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2007

4 cottages, all five star quality, wonderful views and in a lovely place.
Barrie and Maureen are exellent hosts, and every comfort possible is in these cottages. Easy travelling distance from lakes, newcastle, durham and yorkshire dales, carlisle,. penrith and scottish borders.

this was the third time weve stayed there and lapped in luxury all week at a 2 star price. far superior to any other cottage weve stayed in over the years, and had a wonderful relaxing soak in the large jacuzzi baths in chestnut cottage.
the Bothy is gob smacking for its wonderful decor and peaceful situation.
our favourite is keepers cottage with the conservatory and lovely views over the valley beyond. There are a herd of alpacas belonging to the owners and their antics are fun to watch.

go there, you wont be sorry.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank HighlandsLizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alston hotels
3.6 mi away
Nent Hall Country House Hotel
3.8 mi away
Lovelady Shield Country House Hotel
3.3 mi away
Cumberland Inn
Cumberland Inn
#2 of 2 in Alston
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Angel Inn
The Angel Inn
#5 of 14 in Alston
47 reviews
3.6 mi away
Lowbyer Manor Country House
3.3 mi away
Alston House
Alston House
#2 of 14 in Alston
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenends Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenends Holiday Cottages

Address: Nenthead, Alston CA9 3NA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Alston
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Alston
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Greenends Holiday Cottages Alston, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing