We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mrs”
other travelers have booked this property
Crofters cottage in winter ...cosy and cute ?!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Crofters cottage in winter ...cosy and cute ?!
crofters cottage with 24/7 private hottob crofters cottage caught by rainbow
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Crofters cottage in winter ...cosy and cute ?!
crofters cottage with 24/7 private hottob
crofters cottage caught by rainbow
KITCHEN WITH STOVE OVEN
HECTOR ,ZAZA AND KIKI THE MICRO P[IGS
Hottub light show by night
BANKS FARM
CROFTERS COTTAGE
BED ROOM WITH SATELITTE TV/DVD
LYDIA THE TINY HORSE
BANKS FARM THEN TOP RIGHT THE CROFTERS COTTAGE
CROFTERS COTTAGE
DEER ON THE FARM
SHABBY CHICKY CHIC SHEEP !
CROFTERS COTTAGE REAR VIEW
DIRECTIONS DOWN ON THE FARM
CROFTERS COTTAGE BEDROOM
crofters cottage living room
crofters cottage & cosy sofa !
crofters cottage living room
crofters cottage living room
The sheep
bath ,,have breackfast watch tv ..with waiter service ?!...all in living room !
Crofters cottage front .
Crofters cottage in the snow
This years lamb with mum
This years pet lamb
The hot tub
all weather covered 24/7 private use hottub
all weather covered 24/7 private use hottub
gliding at Skirwith 12 miles away amazing well worth a go !
Louise ....ready for take off 0 to 60 in 3 seconds winched to 1300 feet at 45 % go on have a go ?
Bertie the buzzard
Sunrise over Alston moor
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Alston, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Khutchins...
2 reviews
“Mrs”
Reviewed February 5, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We stayed here for my birthday. It is absolutely fantastic. Very comfortable and spotless clean with everything catered for. Lovely touches of chocolate and marshmallows waiting for us and a lovely warm fire. The hot tub was fantastic on a very cold night!! In the summer it will be spectacular. A hidden gem. Eddie and Louise are lovely people and make sure everything is spot on for you. Couldn't recommend highly enough.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 6, 2017
Wow thank you for your kind review ...your welcome back anytime ..best regards louise and eddie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haley_141
Malton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Christmas 2016! ”
Reviewed December 30, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

This was our second stay at Crofters Cottage and this time we chose to spend Christmas here! Wow! We forgot just how amazing the views were!! We only left the cottage once in the 5 nights we stayed, we had everything we needed right there!

Relaxing in the hot tub on Christmas Day with champagne was just perfect and we made special memories to last a lifetime!

A small suggestion is that the oven needs a grill or a shelf putting in to raise your food off the bottom otherwise it quickly burns. This wasn't a problem for us as we turned an oven tin upside down and sat things on that but it could do with a minor tweak!

Thanks once again to Eddie &I Louise for a great stay and we look forward to returning again soon!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 31, 2016
Thank you Haley your very kind .....great suggestion the shelf in the oven im sorting it now !.....soon as the guests leave thank you both ...your welcome back anytime best regards louise and eddie
Ps thanks for the review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NMcElwee
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Hideaway in heaven”
Reviewed November 6, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

What a fantastic stay myself and my husband had in crofters cottage, a gorgeous little cottage beautifully decorated and very clean. We stayed just before Halloween and there were some cute and touching decorations that added to the homeliness of the cottage. The bottle of wine was also a lively touch! The stove kept the cottage toasty warm and we also used it to cook food and this was something new and enjoyable for us. Plenty of fuel was provided. The views over Alston were superb especially enjoyed sitting in the hottub as the evening approached it was very romantic. There were plenty of candles provided in the cottage and around the hot tub to add to the ambience!
We took a walk into Alston via the farm and visited some of the resident animals such as Bertie the buzzard and Kiki the pig. It was a beautiful day and a splendid walk along the lake to a local pub in the beautiful village.
Eddie was a very friendly welcoming man and when we left something behind he kindly offered to post it out to us.
I have never written a trip advisor review but this little haven was certainly worth it and we will most definitely return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 6, 2016
Thank your Nicola for you review its so rewarding when guests enjoy their stay ....your welcome back anytime !...best regards lou and eddie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 13, 2016
Thank you lee and your good lady .....A lady has gotta have her boots for walking !....all part of the service hope to see you both again best regards louise and eddie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
brucenamt...
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed October 2, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

What can I say... this place is exactly as described, so that's always a bonus! The hot tub was amazing. I was in it first thing in the morning, last thing at night and plenty of times in between!. The cottage was a perfect getaway from the kids, peace and tranquility!. It has a peat/log burner to warm you, which in itself was a rare treat, making a fire and keeping it going is so therapeutic. The bed was so comfortable I didn't wanna get out of it. This is such a quirky place to stay you'll struggle to find anything like it elsewhere. So, phone signal... no 3G!! But.... that's a blessing. A break from the Internet! Yippee. And enough gprs to keep in touch with relatives etc if needed. Eddie the chap who owns the place couldn't have been more pleasant and accommodating. We will defo return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 2, 2016
Thank you steve for you super quick review !...Pleased you both enjoyed the hottie ....hope to see you both in the future ...louise ...her outdoors..... and me eddie .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annie J
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect for relaxtion”
Reviewed September 27, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Made to feel very welcome by Eddie, apparently some people have had issue with the drive, our car is just a regular family estate and it is fairly low at the front, we negotiated the concrete drive perfectly well.

We enjoyed the stove and the fun of cooking on it, we didn't get in the hot tub as much but we did enjoy cosying up watching film by candlelight with a real fire to keep us toasty.

A perfect place to relax and switch off for a few days - we didn't get any mobile reception in the cottage, a little bit outside but there's i plenty of free wi-if in Alston. We liked this as helped us relax and switch off.

We would happily return, lovely area and lovely people, thank you

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 27, 2016
Thank you anne pleased you enjoyed yourself .Thank you for your review hope to see you both again ...and the hound !....soon best regards louise and eddie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julian G
1 review
“Lovely place”
Reviewed August 22, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Just a beautiful place. Ideal for walks, local exploring and relaxation. It's a lovely cosy cottage and expect a warm welcome from Eddie and Louise and amazing scenery. Whether you want a romantic getaway or a base to explore the rugged and majestic landscape the area has to offer, this was just ideal.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 22, 2016
Thank you for your review Julian .....so pleased you and your good lady enjoyed yourselfs ....hope to see you again .....clearly you "navigated" the drive ok !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing