We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Sunday roast!”
Review of Alston House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alston House
Ranked #2 of 13 Alston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stockport in Cheshire UK
Level Contributor
204 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Excellent Sunday roast!”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Wet & windy weekend in Nenthead. After enjoying the historical sights we needed a solid, warming hot meal. We went to the Alston Hotel and had an excellent Sunday roast dinner with an assortment of vegetables inclusive & a delicious sticky toffee pudding. A bottle of Chardonnay helped. The service was polite, efficient & smiling. A friendly place with a good chef.Thanks.

Room Tip: Did not stay in this hotel..Just had the meal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TurnipTownsend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    63
    16
    8
    0
See reviews for
36
126
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
West Cumbria
Level Contributor
93 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

I stayed here while doing the C2C. the hotel is lovely, the room I had, a double was very modern and comfortable. food, especially breakfast was fantastic. The only downside i would say is that some rooms (maybe all?) are on the front of the hotel and is noisy with "boy racers" going up and down the high street until the earlyhours - not a problem if your a good sleeper, however if your not then it will keep you awake.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WestCumbriaClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Having cycled into the wind up 500m of ascent onto nearby Hartside Summit, we arrived sodden and very late, in need of warmth and comfort. We got just that. We were first welcomed by a lady who turned out to be our excellent chef, and the landlady followed with similar warmth and excellent service. She had earlier carried my wife's very large case up to our excellent room, despite, as we subsequently discovered, being 14 weeks pregnant ! Good beer, food and whisky, perhaps the wine list could offer more at the top end, but all in all I would recommend the Alston House.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DickSands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

We were staying at a large hotel in Alston and the receptionist recommended Alston House for an evening meal. We booked our table but arrived earlier than expected. Carol welcomed us in the fabulously decorated bar and we sat on one of the many comfy sofas eating olives and sipping our drinks. She then brought out a warm freshly baked loaf and butter to nibble on !!!!!!! Our meals were faultless and asked her to thank the chef Michael who was her husband. Although we only ate here we would thoroughly recommend it and would happily return. Carol & Michael .......keep up the good work.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank HockleyHeath_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Continuing our Pennine Way walk we were lucky to be recommended this accommodation by a previous B n B we had stayed at en route. Unfortunately the weather was not good but on arrival we were made welcome by the staff and two roaring log fires, where, in one, we had a welcome morning coffee. The young female staff could not do enough to make our stay more enjoyable. I do not want to give the false impression I have shares in this property, but our stay was faultless in a property which understates itself as a restaurant with rooms. The large bedrooms were excellently appointed with equally first class en suite toilets. Arriving Monday, the hotel did not, on this evening, provide evening meals but from the views of other residents the evening meals were first class. A gem in this little market town.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howden, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

A wonderful hotel with wonderful, friendly staff. Lovely big rooms with quality furnishings, but best of all.....the food. We didn't eat anywhere else in Alston, there was no need to try because you couldn't have bettered what we had. Even your normal every day Sunday Lunch was special. Good selection of wines and beers in a really relaxing atmosphere, in front of a log fire. A most relaxing and enjoyable weekend, made all the more special by the staff.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a fantastic view of the hills
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alston
2.6 mi away
Nent Hall Country House Hotel
0.0 mi away
Cumberland Inn
Cumberland Inn
#2 of 2 in Alston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
12.4 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
#1 of 2 in Appleby-in-Westmorland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,505 reviews
16.6 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#6 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lowbyer Manor Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alston House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alston House

Property: Alston House
Address: Townfoot, Alston CA9 3RN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Alston
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Alston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Alston House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Outstanding food at this family run hotel. There is a cafe, restaurant and bar and seven ensuite rooms. The cafe serves homemade cakes and scones with lattes, chill out and meet your friends. The popular evening restaurant has extensive menu catering for all. Most of the rooms are spacious with lovely fell views with comfortable beds. The service is friendly, efficient and unobtrusive. Situated in Alstonwith all its facitities and within an area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Alston House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alston House Hotel Alston
Alston House Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing