We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great get-away. Fab food and friendly service.”
Review of Alston House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alston House
Ranked #2 of 14 Alston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 4, 2012

We’ve stayed in many, many different establishments over the decades: from campsites to B&Bs; five-star hotels to hostels and everything in between. They all have their qualities and often their charm is inherent in their quirky nature and unique characteristics. So to find a place with such a mixture of styles is unusual to say the least. The food here is fabulous, prepared personally by owner Michael with 30 years experience. The produce is mostly locally-sourced and/or produced, unpretentious in nature and attractively presented and priced. Michael’s wife Carole is an ever-present friendly smiling face, always eager to help and very hospitable. It truly is a family-run business with a charming, honest approach.

We decided to return to the AHH after an enjoyable one nights stay some time ago. Knowing AHH to be a reputable, decent, dog-friendly hotel in a quiet town with lots of walking opportunities, it seemed the ideal get-away for a short break over New Year. Just the luxury we deserved to recharge the batteries before returning to work and study.

We couldn’t fault the food. Lovely menu, beautifully cooked and seasoned (although perhaps too heavy on the garlic for some palates). The coffee in particular a welcome speciality. Local ales and good selection of wine available at the bar. Breakfast was also a delight with everything cooked to order and very appetising (no kippers offered though – that was a disappointment).

We thought it was strange that the TV didn’t work in the room, but we weren’t there to watch TV anyway and forgot to mention it to Carole. However, upon check-out another guest mentioned this problem too, so I’m not sure whether this was a hotel-wide issue (?) Also worth a mention - the radiators go off during the day and at night. We were fully aware that there were ‘additional heaters available if required’ (according to the guest information folder) and that actually the weather was unseasonably warm outside. However, I think in the depths of an English Lakeland Winter, it is reasonable to expect to have the heating on for most, if not ALL of the day and night (or am I being greedy?). This would also have been useful to dry off some items after the predictable rain, as the drying room was not really warm enough for this, or designed for muddy boots! Fortunately, our bed had the benefit of an electric underblanket, which was a God-send during the night – especially for Dizzy (but don't tell)!!!

We stayed here for 4 nights which included New Years Eve - which was an experience in itself that I have blogged about here: www.ursies.blogspot.com. I wouldn't stay again over NYE, but would definitely return another time. Love the area, love the surrounding pubs, love the peaceful walks. A perfect get away.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wowzap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (281)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

251 - 257 of 281 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2011

Great place to stay. Third time back which must say something. The staff could not do anymore.

Food excellent and good value.

Rooms were comfortable and warm and the public areas clean and comfortable. Michael and Carol take an obvious pride in the welcome that they provide. I don't hesitate to recommend the Alston House hotel

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PuzzleSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Perfect C2C stop. Made to feel very welcome, bikes locked up safely. Decided to have evening meal here too, and no regrets. Delicious, and enjoyed by us and teenage boys. All tastes catered for.
Room very comfy and bath fab. Breakfast super full English....look forward to coming back in half term.

Room Tip: room 1 had the comfiest bath I've ever been in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YorkshireSueg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Although we did not stay in the Hotel, we stopped in Alston as the halfway point for a 2 day C2C ride. We had a guy recce the Hotel, and he waxed lyrical about the food, and we were there for the Pizza & Pasta night.
Well it was amazing, no one was disappointed, Garlic breads was the Best I ever had, and the pasta was cooked perfectly.
It is clear that out in the middle near nowhere on this beautiful ride the Chef loves cooking.
The local real ale was lovely as well, and the service was great, I think a must stop on the C2C

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Greg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

Like many other reviewers I stayed here while tackling the C2C bike ride. Room was very spacious and clean with a large ensuite with shower. My preference after a cycle would always be to have a bath but it was a good shower. I had 3 courses for dinner: Broccoli and Stilton soup, goats cheese lasagne which came with side salad and garlic bread and last but by no means least a delicious sticky toffee pudding. I consider myself a fairly picky eater and I scoffed the lot. There was plenty of choice for breakfast and I had poached eggs on toast. I would happily stay here again and would be more than happy to eat here again if in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loveapud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Day 3 of the C2C ended at Alston House. The bikes were packed away with no problems and the room was lovely and warm. The uneven floor provided some quirkiness and the bed was very comfortable. The shower was hot and roomy.
I had the roast beef dinner followed by profiteroles which was plentiful and very tasty. There was no shortage of veg and a generous portion of meat.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a bath - if on C2C a bath would be welcomed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rose D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Myself and 4 others completed the c2c bike ride on sunday the 12th of sept, we complete this ride once a year and always stop in Alston on the 2nd night as its the perfect distance for those who complete in 3 days. We use Alston house mainley because of the current owners Mike and his Wife both them and their staff always make us very welcme, they make sure our bikes are safe and cook a mean breakfast, They also run a resturant/bar which is very nice. All rooms have en suite and a couple have baths which is always nice for walkers and cyclists.All the rooms i have used are always big (not been in them all though) i have only ever stayed at Alston house for 1 night at a time but have also considered taking the family for a small break well worth a visit
Chris Collins, Newcastle

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris_C0llins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alston
2.6 mi away
Nent Hall Country House Hotel
0.0 mi away
Cumberland Inn
Cumberland Inn
#2 of 2 in Alston
120 reviews
16.6 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lowbyer Manor Country House
2.4 mi away
Lovelady Shield Country House Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Angel Inn
The Angel Inn
#8 of 14 in Alston
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alston House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alston House

Address: Townfoot, Alston CA9 3RN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Alston
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Alston
Price Range: $123 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alston House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Outstanding food at this family run hotel. There is a cafe, restaurant and bar and seven ensuite rooms. The cafe serves homemade cakes and scones with lattes, chill out and meet your friends. The popular evening restaurant has extensive menu catering for all. Most of the rooms are spacious with lovely fell views with comfortable beds. The service is friendly, efficient and unobtrusive. Situated in Alstonwith all its facitities and within an area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Alston House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alston House Hotel Alston
Alston House Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing