We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value break!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Nent Hall Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alston
Certificate of Excellence
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good value break!”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Had a lovely three night stay at Nent Hall in February and will definately visit again. We upgraded to a four poster room and it was well worth the money. Staff were really friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Meals in the coach house were of good quality, plenty of choice and value for money, the sticky toffee pudding was devine! We were served by the lovely Helen, who after three days felt like a member of the family! Despite the snow and cold temperatures outside, the hotel was very homely and comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaG986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    196
    43
    19
    14
See reviews for
46
390
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 2, 2013

My husband and i have just returned from a one night stay at Nent Hall, the welcome was very warm and friendly, the service brilliant, bedroom very comfortable, lovely breakfast and evening meal, can`t wait to return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dcejan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We broke our journey home at Nent Hall after a week on the Isle of Skye, and what a haven it was, especially as we were in the middle of some of the worst weather we've had in the UK for many years. The welcome was very warm and friendly, the service brilliant and nothing was too much trouble. Our room was excellent: spotless, comfortable and warm, complete with four-poster bed and a huge bathroom. We had everything we needed, including free wi-fi. Dinner and drinks in the bar made for a very enjoyable evening, while breakfast was freshly cooked and just what we needed to set us up for the trek home. This was our second visit and we weren't disappointed - looking forward to our third.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johng-mannin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

My wife and i have just returned from our four day stay at Nent Hall and i have to say what a spot the place is brilliant, everybody was absolutely wonderful however the people we had the most dealings with were, Adele who was usually on the main desk however wasn't adverse to getting you pretty much anything you need to make your stay perfect from drinks to maps, Laura who again was every where at once and Romana who never seemed to go home.
In short we were made to feel as if we owned the hall, nothing was too much trouble a thoroughly excellent stay
Thanks guys from Steve and Debbie

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hola-papy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Stayed here on 4th/5th March on a 2 night bed and breakfast KGB Deal. The breakfast was out of this world and we had an evening meal on both nights, again absolutely scrumptious. The hotel is situated a bit out in the country but this doesn't deter from the friendly greeting you get from ALL the staff. The greeting and guided tour from Helen was exceptional which made you feel like a long lost friend. Will definitely be looking out for another deal so we can return here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willie64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Literally just got back from a two night break at this wonderful place. Like a previous reviewer we also arranged the break via the daily newspaper but we didn't expect, and nor did we get, a crappy room. We had room 12 which is also above the bar area but we didn't find it too noisy. The room had a squeaky floor but again that didn't bother us. All the staff are extremely friendly and very, very helpful. Adelle showed us to our room after explaining everything we needed to know about the hotel, lounge and dining areas etc. Food, from lunch time snacks to evening dinner and breakfast were all really great. We went with the view of having a relaxing two days and we spent a lot of time lazing around the longe which had an open log/coal fire which you could "feed" with fuel when we felt it was necessary. Naomi, ensured we had coffee or drinks when we needed them. All staff served you with a pleasant smile which you know was not forced and they really seemed to enjoy helping you. This really is a great place to stay, lots of country walks if that's your stuff or, if like us, just to relax. Wifi is free, worked in room which doesn't always happen in some hotels, also worked in bar and lounge area. There is a small lounge area on the other side of the dining room which is very cosy, quiet but the Wifi doesn't reach there. All in all a great place, great value with the deal we had and would be more than happy to return again at their normal rates. Will be going there with some of our biker friends when weather turns better. Naomi, this is from the "travelling bikers".

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank strakerbp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

We had two nights bed and breakfast here. Our double room was lovely, compact but had a 4 poster bed which we weren't expecting, so that was a bonus. Very clean but could have done with being a little warmer.
It's rated a 4 star , some of the decore is looking a little tired but the hotel is very cosy and relaxing. The hospitality was just wonderful. Enthusiastic staff who couldn't do enough for you. We dined one night in the restaurant and one in the hotel bar and the food was outstanding. I thought it was good value and quality food.
The setting is also beautiful with many interesting places to visit but you do need a car. Good walks if you're not into driving too far out. I would definitely go again. We did have a grouping voucher so didn't pay full price for the accommodation, so you would need to check it out. If its your second visit they do negotiate on price too.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheilataylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alston
11.4 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,126 reviews
16.2 mi away
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
#1 of 2 in Appleby-in-Westmorland
1,591 reviews
15.8 mi away
Best Western Beaumont Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Lovelady Shield Country House Hotel
2.6 mi away
Lowbyer Manor Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nent Hall Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nent Hall Country House Hotel

Property: Nent Hall Country House Hotel
Address: New Nenthall Farm A689 | A689, Alston CA9 3LQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Alston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Nent Hall Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nent Hall Hotel is one of the finest hotels in Cumbria. Nent hall is located one of the highest points in Cumbria two and a half miles from Alston, England's highest market town. Situated in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty and only a short drive from the Lake District, Hadrian's Wall and many other English Heritage sites. Nent Hall provides the perfect base from which to explore Cumbria, described as England's last wilderness. Built in 1858 the building has real Character and wonderful grounds, don't forget we also have a pub on site, no need to go outside as it's attached to the main hotel. From wholesome pub grub to fine dining. Self catering Rustic to on-suite rooms. Nent Hall has it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Nent Hall Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nent Hall Country Hotel
Nent Hall Country Alston
Nent Hall Country House Hotel Alston, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing