We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful cosy country house!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Nent Hall Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alston
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful cosy country house!”
Reviewed March 1, 2012

My partner and I stayed at Nent Hall together with our 2 year old son after purchasing a groupon deal last year. As soon as we arrived I was impressed by the hotel and it's beautiful rural location. So peaceful and quiet in the middle of nowhere! The road up to the hotel A686 has been voted one of the top ten beautiful roads in the world and it's east to see why! Upon entering the hotel we were greeted with the biggest smile from adele who was bubbly friendly and made us feel instantly welcome. We were told to kick back, relax and to treat the place as though it were our own home. We were upgraded free of charge to an amazing suite with the most beautiful four poster bed and our toddler was made up with his own little room! The food was lovely in the restaurant and even better in the bar! Reasonably priced, hearty and very tasty. The lady on reception the 2nd day of our visit (name unknown but she had dark long hair and wore anastacia type glasses) was just as friendly as adele and could not do enough for us. Nothing was too much trouble, she made food for us 2 hrs before the kitchen was due to open for our son, propped him up on a cushion for his chair and even offered to cut up his food! Hotel is extremely homely with open log fires and furnished with beautiful pieces of furniture. You literally feel like you are walking through somebody's private house it is that homely! Would recommend to anyone looking for a peaceful country retreat with lovely personable helpful staff :-)

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinky4134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    190
    43
    18
    14
See reviews for
44
384
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Bought on a groupon deal, this small hotel is very good value for the price. It is a little tired but generally clean. The food was good home cooked fare. Will return.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GezandJune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Helens, Merseyside
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We have just returned from a fantastic weekend at Nent Hall, it was my wife's birthday, and the staff made it very special, decorating the table with baloons etc and bringing in her desert with a candle and singing 'happy birthday', nothing is too much trouble for the any of the staff they are just, as is the hotel 'first class' the bedrooms a nice, the lounge had a roaring fire and sofa's you can just curl up on with your coffee, or in our case a bottle of wine, which we must say was very reasonably priced,the food was delicous (the onion rings are to die for), the location is very good, lots to do even though we are not 'walkers' Adele and her staff are the nicest hotel staff we have ever met, and we would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a great relaxing time

Room Tip: we stayed in room 19 and would recommend it
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 18, 2012

My Wife bought this short break away for us as a Christmas present (Groupon) and it has been one of the best trips away in britain so far.
The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful, with nothing too much trouble.
Hotel was clean,comfortable and the friends we met were exceptional, all from around the Manchester area.
Countryside was stunning and local attractions within easy driving distance.(Rheged Centre,25mins. Keswick another 25mins(Thursday market day)
Would recommend to anyone who likes peace and quiet, great food,good company and very good service.

Top Place for our first time here.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 17, 2012

Stayed here on Monday and Tuesday night in early February 2012. This was the week of really cold weather and snowfall. However the weather stayed fine and the roads clear.
The hotel was very warm and comfortable with open fires in the pleasant public rooms.
Food was good, pub prices in the bar and friendly staff. It was a place I would have been happy to have been snowed in for a few days.
terry@tesco.net

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blueknightterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2012

Have just returned from a wonderful two night stay at this lovely hotel and we would like to say a big thank you to Naomi and all the staff for making our stay so memorable. My husband was celebrating his birthday and they couldn't do enough for us even dressing the dinner table with balloons and bunting and singing Happy Birthday to him which was a lovely surprise!
The rooms are nice and cosy especially on what was probably the coldest weekend of the year and the log fire in the lounge was most appreciated, we were given a lesson in how to stoke the fire, thanks Adele! Compliments must also go to the chef as the food was absolutely delicious both in the main restaurant and in the coach house next door. Breakfast was very hearty with lots to eat, fruit, yoghurt, porridge etc as well as the usual full English.
The hotel is situated in a particularly beautiful part of the UK with lots of dramatic scenery especially when covered in snow and is not far from Hadrians wall and Vindolanda (which was closed for the winter unfortunately) so there is plenty to see and do. This is a great hotel with lovely friendly staff and we would definitely recommended it!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gill m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Having stayed at the hotel just over 2 years ago as we were in the area we made a particular effort to make another stay, as previously we had been impressed. As before, we asked for the large spacious family room which we had had before, because we had felt it was really good value.
The day we arrived was a very cold day and as we entered our room it felt very cold. We were told that the heating would now be put on but after an hour the small radiator was still not very hot, unlike the one in the bathroom. Going in the bathroom we used the hot water tap and were taken aback by a 'horrendous' very loud banging, unacceptable noise from the pipes. It was clear that we would not be happy staying in this room so went to bring this to the hotel's attention.
Despite the very loud noise they began by saying they knew about it and that there was nothing at this time that could be done. The heating was to be solved by the use of a small fan heater, which if the plumbing had been okay would have been acceptable.

We insisted that the noise was not acceptable to us and asked to be changed to another room; after much conversation, the person involved said she would see what she could do.. Over an hour later we were shown to another room which we accepted. However, this room along with the general appearance of the hotel was 'very tired', e.g. the curtains could not be fully drawn because of a lack of curtain hooks, the bedspread was stained, the bathroom had holes in the wall where, presumably, there had once been a fitting of some kind, the towel rail consisted only of its brackets - no bar, the brass bed lights on the four poster bed were not working and hanging off the bed etc. etc. .

In the lounge the sofas are looking well worn and when taking breakfast we noted that the red cloth was badly stained from a previous user.

We went expected a four star hotel, our room was certainly not one that you would expect to meet this rating.

On leaving when we, again, expressed our disappointment, our comments received no response, other than silence.

We chose this hotel to have a relaxing time but unfortunately it turned out to be quite the opposite. After our first visit I recommended friends to stay; following this experience, I would suggest friends stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alston
11.4 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,092 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cumberland Inn
Cumberland Inn
#2 of 2 in Alston
113 reviews
20.4 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
#1 of 2 in Appleby-in-Westmorland
1,526 reviews
14.7 mi away
Farlam Hall Country House Hotel
15.8 mi away
Best Western Beaumont Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nent Hall Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nent Hall Country House Hotel

Property: Nent Hall Country House Hotel
Address: New Nenthall Farm A689 | A689, Alston CA9 3LQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Alston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Nent Hall Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nent Hall Hotel is one of the finest hotels in Cumbria. Nent hall is located one of the highest points in Cumbria two and a half miles from Alston, England's highest market town. Situated in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty and only a short drive from the Lake District, Hadrian's Wall and many other English Heritage sites. Nent Hall provides the perfect base from which to explore Cumbria, described as England's last wilderness. Built in 1858 the building has real Character and wonderful grounds, don't forget we also have a pub on site, no need to go outside as it's attached to the main hotel. From wholesome pub grub to fine dining. Self catering Rustic to on-suite rooms. Nent Hall has it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Nent Hall Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nent Hall Country Hotel
Nent Hall Country Alston
Nent Hall Country House Hotel Alston, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing