We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great base for cycling around Alston.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lowbyer Manor Country House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lowbyer Manor Country House
Ranked #1 of 13 Alston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great base for cycling around Alston.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

Stopped here for two nights in a single room as a base for some cycling in the area. I was very impressed with pretty much everything, great friendly hosts, lockable bicycle storage, location relative to centre of Alston as well as a nice comfortable room with facilities for tea making etc. The bathroom was finished to a high standard, albeit a little small, as was the rest of my room. I even purchased a couple of pots of home made jam to take home.

Room Tip: I was able to book a single, not a double or twin with single occupancy at a correspondingly higher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoffsmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    39
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
77
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dorset
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

Just returned from a fabulous 3nt stay at Lowbyer Manor. Laura and her husband really go the extra mile in every respect here. Comfy beds, beautiful linen and top quality oils etc, in the bathroom. This is a gracious and homely guest house, and Laura and her husband are always on hand to chat about the town, where to visit, places to eat etc., The cooked breakfasts here were fabulous. A plus here is an elegant sitting room with comfy chairs and sofa's to relax in as well. It has a beautiful position just a short walk from historic Alston, and the journey there from every direction is awesome over the moors. For me the visit was particularly interesting as three generations of my ancestors lived here at Lowbyer in the early 19th century.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet - check with owner but I think the first floor rooms are maybe the largest. We w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DorsetAngiec18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancaster
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

Stayed here due to a mix up at another B&B, very clean, comfy, great breakfast and very very quiet! which is good when you need a good nights sleep!! I am guessing the "football pub" we were meant to stay in would not have been so quiet!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rowan5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

Lowbyer was the perfect start to our final week on the Pennine Way, walked over 3 years. Lovely welcome from Laura after our long taxi, train and bus journey from the South West. Clean and airy rooms and a comfy guest lounge available. Everything you could possible want was thought of, even our filled water bottles chilled in the fridge. Great breakfast, just right for our first days walking. Would love to return for a longer break. Would definitely stay there if we decide to do the cycling C to C next year.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Woody131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

We were cycling the C2C and stayed here for one night. We arrived soaking wet and very tired. After putting our bikes in safe storage and checking in, we were offered a coffee in the main lounge - I've never been offered a coffee in a B&B, so was pleasantly surprised. The twin room we stayed in wasn't huge, but perfectly ample. The beds were super comfy and we had no problem sleeping as it is located in such a quiet place. It's only a couple of minutes walk to the local pubs for something to eat, so I would say it has the perfect location. The breakfast was superb! We knew we would be doing some miles, so a full English breakfast was very welcome. Home made marmalade and chutneys were lovely. The other guests were very nice people and seemed to be impressed by this place too. Our soaking wet clothes were dried for us and even put on hangers. In all honestly I couldn't fault a single thing.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank mari0500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

Two of us spent four nights at Lowbyer at the beginning of June. Alston is will placed for exploring the beautiful and dramatic North Pennines. The hotel is well situated on the edge of the town, walking distance from a good selection of evening eating places. It was spotlessly clean, the hosts were very pleasant and breakfasts enjoyable. I particularly enjoyed sitting reading in the quiet living room. The bed was very comfortable and the bedroom very quiet. My only criticism is that the shower was little more than a drizzle.

Room Tip: Ask if any of the rooms has a reasonable shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boothroydjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

Laura was a professional and welcoming host. The bar downstairs is particularly snug and attractive, our bedroom was spacious and attractive and Richard made the best scrambled eggs we encountered on the Pennine Way.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alston
3.4 mi away
Nent Hall Country House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Cumberland Inn
Cumberland Inn
#2 of 2 in Alston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
12.1 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor
2.5 mi away
Lovelady Shield Country House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Alston House
Alston House
#2 of 13 in Alston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lowbyer Manor Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lowbyer Manor Country House

Property: Lowbyer Manor Country House
Address: Hexham Road, Alston CA9 3JX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Alston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Alston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lowbyer Manor Country House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lowbyer Manor Country House is a Grade II listed property situated on the edge of Alston. All our rooms are well appointed with en suite facilities. Guests have use of a comfortable lounge over looking Cross Fell and the North Pennines an Area of Natural Beauty (ANOB. Guests can also enjoy a drink in our cosy well stocked bar before sampling some of our delicious home cooked food in our dining room. We do welcome dogs in some of our bedrooms by prior arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Lowbyer Manor Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lowbyer Manor Country House Alston, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing