We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“End of the Road”
Review of Cumberland Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cumberland Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Alston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 13, 2013

This is the second time that we have stayed here, and although the outside is looking a little bit worse for wear, the welcome, the accommodation and the food are still of a high standard.

We booked a table for dinner, and then sat at a table near the window to enjoy the views. As we were about to head up to our room to change, the lovely lady behind the bar offered to reserve that particular table for us so that we could "keep our seats" for the evening.

The food is really really good and the Cheese and Onion Bread and Butter pudding was just as fabulous as I remembered.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 121 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here during our C2C. The pub food was fine, lovely views from the terrace at the back, and breakfast was excellent. But the rooms were shabby and could have been cleaner. There was a strange smell in one room which we couldn't place. Disappointing.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo2102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

This was our last nights stay of a week walking the Pennine Way with friends. Having looked at previous comments I think we were unlucky. The breakfast was excellent with lots of lovely extras to have with your cereals but the evening meal was a little disappointing. They had a good choice on the specials board but several times the poor waitress had to come back and say sorry that's not available and we did struggle in the end for us all to have something we fancied. It was only a Wednesday so I didn't think they could have had a huge rush during lunch. What we had was ok. We had a room at the back with a lovely view but also near the extractor fan for the kitchen. The girl who showed us the room assured us immediately that the noise would stop when the kitchen stopped serving. It did indeed stop, but it seemed to stop and start all through the night and we didn't get much sleep. Second most expensive place we stayed in over our weeks walk and unfortunately didn't live up to our expectations

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Woody131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Hotel is basic, but clean and comfy. The pub has a great atmosphere and the food was excellent. I can't speak highly enough of the staff, they were all really friendly, welcoming and couldn't do enough for us. We will definitely be going back. Recommended.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

This place has a stunning view of the countryside, we had drinks here a couple times, prices are reasonable. Haven't eaten there bit it's a good place to stop in for a drink and sit out in the beer garden

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meredith24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

When we first arrived my initial impressions weren't great as the building looks very tired. However, the owner and his family were very welcoming, and the rooms are of an acceptable standard.

The food in the restaurant was well cooked and of good quality.

I'd certainly stay here again if out with friends cycling, but not for a romantic break with my wife.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NigelHLeics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

What a delightful place, what friendly folk. 4 dedraggled cycling idiots turn up after 75 miles in the saddle and Ruth took our damp clobber and tumble dried it. More than this they took our shoes, took the linings out, stuffed them with newspaper and put them by the fire. The food was quality pub food, the beer was fantastic. The ambience of the whole place was unfussy friendliness. What a tonic for a jaded Londoner! The accomodation isn't the four seasons but it is clean. What do people expect for the money?

Can't recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alston
2.6 mi away
Nent Hall Country House Hotel
12.4 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,193 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Angel Inn
The Angel Inn
#5 of 14 in Alston
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Alston House
Alston House
#3 of 14 in Alston
288 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lowbyer Manor Country House
2.5 mi away
Lovelady Shield Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cumberland Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumberland Inn

Address: Townfoot, Alston CA9 3HX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Alston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Alston
Price Range: $80 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cumberland Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cumberland Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumberland Hotel Alston
Cumberland Inn Alston, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing