We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The end result !”

South Tynedale Railway
Ranked #1 of 8 things to do in Alston
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
West Kirby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The end result !”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Hi , the whole train experience was lovely .. We are not train buffs ( or buffers ) but we travelled through the most beautiful countryside at a pace that helped our stress levels and you could not miss a photograph . The ticket itself was so reminiscent of my youth and the guard was a star . The weather was very stark ,cold and just after the worst spring weather in 50years. What a great way to restore your faith in nature ,and the ability of good people to make you smile . We went to the station at Lintley and followed the instructions from the brochure to visit the best pub around .worth the walk
thank you very much Stephen and Lyn meadows . Please look at my review of The Kirkstyle inn .

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank stephen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    65
    12
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Worth going back for the new bit to Lintley”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

The STRPS bill themselves as "the friendliest narrow-gauge railway in England". That's a pretty big claim, and I haven't been on all the others to check, but I can say that over the years I have consistently found everyone at Alston to be extremely friendly. So it might well be true.

I visited again on 1st April, curious to try the new extension to Lintley. It's amazing, and well worth a return trip if you have only tried the previous terminus to Kirkhaugh. That bit of the line is pleasant enough, but really nothing special as there are no views to speak of. Just beyond Kirkhaugh, though, the line emerges onto moorland and the whole character of the trip changes. Amazing view, spectacular scenery and, although the road is quite nearby, it's completely hidden, so it feels like the middle of nowhere. That last bit to Lintley is only a mile, but it's by far the best bit of the trip.

I see other comments about bad track quality. I didn't notice anything untoward, but they were a few sections of noticeably increased track noise, so perhaps some maintenance has been happening? Timekeeping at Alston always seems to be ... relaxed, but trains were leaving within 15 minutes of timetabled departures, which wasn't too bad.

The only downside was the presence of a diesel on the north end of the train which was very smoky and so loud at idle that the excellent storyteller they had brought in for Easter Monday was literally having to shout to be heard. I presume that something was wrong with Helen Kathryn's braking system, as the diesel had no driver, so I won't mark them down on this, but if it happens again I shall be disappointed.

Finally, the café in the station, formerly run by Hazel (RIP) is now in STR hands, and was doing a limited selection of sandwiches and cakes. I gather that they haven't been open long and are awaiting more catering equipment to be able to offer a full range of food.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ubergeekian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice trip out”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Lovely little trip out and a smashing little cafe which was very well run. The train ride was nice and all the staff were very helpful. A nice little shop with souvenirs.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Ok”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Train journey was ok, walk back would have been nice (but it was raining) but nothing at the other end (including toilets)

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank hibbieknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Step back in Time for a brief trip”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Charming but short rail trip with dogs allowed on train. Staff on platform very friendly and carriages immaculately maintained and very comfortable.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South Tynedale Railway also viewed

 
Alston, Cumbria
 

Been to South Tynedale Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing