We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kids enjoy the carvery”

Toby Carvery Resturant
Ranked #32 of 109 Restaurants in Widnes
Price range: $5 - $13
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Cheshire
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Kids enjoy the carvery”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Average kind of pub carvery meal here, the meat sometimes isn't great but there's a great choice of veg and condiments, the kids love coming here and piling their plates high!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank fuzzywuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    78
    35
    34
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Herts
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Had an evening carvery, not a lot of meat but large choice of well cooked veg, went for the large plate (£1.50 extra) but I didn't fill it and still struggled to eat it all.... and I'm a big eater.
Breakfast however was a bit of a rip-off, all you can eat for £3.99 but the orange juice was a whopping £2.60 extra. Generally good but why do these places think people like cremated fried eggs?

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisandHeatherHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Avoid if you are a Vegetarian!!”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Went last night as a party of 4.
My daughter ordered a Vegetarian option and was told it would be brought to the table in around 5 minutes.
20 minutes later - still no main and when we checked with the waitress, we were told it had not been ordered! Received no apology but they did bring another one eventually.
There is apparently a choice of vegetarian gravy, however the jugs were not labelled and when we asked which on it was, we were told 'Oh , I think it's that one' (not too reassuring for a strict vege - she gave it a miss!)
We were also told that we could not use our 2 for Ten pounds vouchers on the vegetarian option which seemed bizarre as it was exactly the same price as the Meat carvery.
Overall, the service was slow and the waitresses disinterested.
Don't think we'll be going back :(

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CheshireClanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boxmoor
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good value but room to improve”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Friendly, reasonably-priced, good selection.

Staff had little awareness of needs of customers with disability though. We were offered a centre table a long walk from the entrance and toilet even though there were nearer empty tables against the walls or windows.. My wife uses two crutches and parking them against a chair, passers-by kept knocking them over.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank BoxmoorBarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
302 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Great meal”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Great food, and great service, the restaurant was kept clean and was very welcoming,
The food was cooked to perfection and it was great value for money enjoyed this meal very much

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rabbit55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toby Carvery Resturant also viewed

 
Widnes, Cheshire
Widnes, Cheshire
 

Been to Toby Carvery Resturant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing