We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“you know what to expect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Widnes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Widnes Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Widnes
Certificate of Excellence
Loughborough, Leicestershire
Level Contributor
90 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“you know what to expect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

As always a spotlessly clean hotel, with exceptionally caring and friendly staff. I like the fact that room decor is standardised so coming to a new hotel, is just like coming home. They seem to take extra care of the safety of lone travellers.

Thoughtful layout e.g. good reading light by the bed, lighting around the mirror, bin just under where you will have used tea bags. Low noise and efficient aircon. Windows don't open, but you probably don't need that where there is aircon. Little sound from neighbouring rooms. I enjoyed the 30 minutes free wifi and found it really easy to get onto.

The hotel must be quite new. And I like the fact that there is the usual neighbouring restaurant but also Nandos, Frankie and Bennys, Toby Carvery.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose2009_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    81
    24
    10
    8
See reviews for
135
81
10
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

nightmare to find as the postcode is wrong. location is only good if you have clients nearby but nice to have a good nights sleep. serivce ws fine. no surprises which is good. a few restaurants near by.

Room Tip: avoid the noisy road
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wondering_Haggis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

I stayed here a few times through November and December 2012, and probably will in the future.

This is a pretty normal Premier Inn - quiet, clean, modern rooms, no frills but no corners cut, and you know exactly what you're going to get.

Location-wise, it is difficult to find the first time - Google Maps doesn't understand the postcode properly, and if you miss the turn off the large, complex junction the hotel is situated on, you could find yourself with a lengthy detour over the bridge before you can turn round. I set google maps to Nandos in Widnes and it guided me there OK though.

Which brings me on to the thing I particularly like about this premier inn - location. Once you find your way there, as well as the obligatory attached pub (specialising in all-you-can-eat buffets in this case - I've not taken the plunge and eaten there!) there's also a Nando's and a Frankie & Bennies in the same location, as well as a theatre and bowling alley (plus an ice rink about to open), a short walk away is a huge Tesco and some other food choices.

This means that you can have a decent variety of places to eat, or buy food to eat in your room, rather than just the attached pub. A great bonus if staying there repeatedly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochdale
Level Contributor
87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Booked 3 nights over Christmas. Staff were friendly and welcoming. Room service even on christmas day, which we didnt expect. Towels changed every day, even though didnt leave them for changing!

Even though next to a dual carriageway, and at the end of a leisure complex, very quiet. Most noise we heard was the sound of doors shutting, and the fan for the bathroom.

Hot and powerful shower. Comfy bed, as I expected.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kacraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here as we were attending a 21st in Runcorn. It was ideally located as its about 10 minute (£9) ish in a taxi to get there. This hotel is very clean and modern as it is quite new. Next to the hotel is a great restaurant called 'the buffet place' which is nice for breakfast. Also we found this hotel a nightmare to find as it hasn't been there long, mainly because we hadn't updated our satnav so it wasn't understanding the postcode. So if you are travelling down using your satnav, bare this in mind.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jemgardner27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

Really easy to get to and a great standard hotel, room great size stayed with kids. Lots to do near by which means you could leave the car. Evening food there is lots to choose from. I usually stay in the Runcorn premier inn, would use this one moving forward. Staff are friendly,chatty and helpful.. Would certainly recommend and stay again.

Room Tip: 101 room is a little noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo2905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypridd
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

Stayed here on Dec 12th for 2 nights visitting family in liverpool. Staff here are very helpful especially reception, nothing is a problem for them. Room was a good size with plenty of hanging space and storage. Tea and coffee in the room. The bathroom was large with clean towels daily. there is also shower and hand gel provided. There's a brewers fayre almost attached to the hotel where the food is good and not expensive. All in all agood place to stay and i would return

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pete12Pontypridd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Widnes
2.1 mi away
The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Everglades Park Hotel
4.0 mi away
Premier Inn Runcorn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Runcorn
Holiday Inn Runcorn
#2 of 3 in Runcorn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
1.6 mi away
Campanile Runcorn
Campanile Runcorn
#3 of 3 in Runcorn
3.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Liverpool/John Lennon Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Widnes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Widnes Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Widnes Hotel
Address: Venture Fields Earle Road | The Hive Leisure Park, Widnes WA8 0GY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Widnes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Widnes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Widnes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll find entertainment right on your doorstep at Hive Leisure Park and the Select Security Stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn and Agoda so you can book your Premier Inn Widnes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Widnes Hotel UK - Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing