We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected more from a franchise!”
Review of Griffin Inn

Griffin Inn
Ranked #40 of 109 Restaurants in Widnes
Price range: $9 - $26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: An 18th century inn on the old Warrington to Prescot turnpike road at Bold Heath, once part of the distinguished Bold family estate. Close to the townships of Warrington, Widnes and St Helens, The Griffin Inn serves delicious pub meals and seasonal specials with fine wines and cask ales.
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Expected more from a franchise!”
Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

We visited this pub expecting to have a nice meal, as we have previously had several nice meals here in the past.

We were very disappointed that despite being told they served food all day, as well as advertising this online, when we arrived we were told by a very unhelpful member off staff that they were no longer serving food due to a so called 'problem in the kitchen', she then contradicted herself and went to see if there was any food leftover, returning moments later to tell us the same thing. She came across very rude and had a take it or leave it type attitude.

She then proceeded to tell us that it was the managers choice and decision as to when they serve their food. Clearly they pick and choose when to serve food despite their opening and serving times stating otherwise.

We could understand if we visited at a later time, but at 8:30pm, this isn't acceptable.

We then walked to the exit, to have a waiter/serving man who had been stood nearby and heard our conversation say to us in a very sarcastic manner 'alright, see you later'. He came across extremely obnoxious.

We then went to another local pub, where we had a lovely meal, we only wish we had gone elsewhere in the first place!

Never again will we visit the fayre and square franchise's after this experience, despite being regular customers as we have never experienced service like this before.

We have also mentioned this to our family and friends who were also regular customers here, and they have also been appalled by this and I'm certain The Griffin has lost their custom also.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank OwnedByPugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Griffin Inn, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Eastenders-Addict,

Thank for taking the time to provide us with your review.

I would like to apologise that we failed to meet your expectations at the Griffin Inn in regards to the service you received. I can confirm that I have passed on your concerns to the management team who would like to investigate your feedback. We have sent you a direct message to discuss this further.

Kind regards

Fayre & Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    89
    53
    42
    90
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Widnes, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good for kids”
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Great place for kids when the weather's good. There's a playground in the beer garden that's fenced off so it's easy to keep a close eye on your kids.

There's a good kids menu with plenty to choose from.

For adults there's a good menu, big portions. Good choice of ales too.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely pub roast”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

After visiting the Dream statue we came across this lovely pub. We have been disappointed in the Rocking Horse in Aintree both with the food and poor service so was not expecting much here but how wrong. The king prawn cocktail was fresh and one of the best we have had but at a fraction of the price. We had proper roast beef not the rubbish that is sometimes dished up in other pubs. After our starter , main and coffee we could not manage a dessert even though we seen some other customers with lovely cakes and ice creams. The staff were friendly especially our waitress Rachel who was really lovely and is a credit to this pub.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ctina21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a very pleasant Sunday lunch here in a very nice setting. We were extremely pleased that we were seated in the older part of the Inn, away from the families with children. As this was a very busy Bank Holiday Sunday, we were seated in a lovely quiet little "Snug" with only 3 other couples. The meal itself, was typical "Pub Grub", but was cooked beautifully, and the desert was "to die for!", and the fact that we had downloaded a £5 discount voucher made this a very reasonably priced meal - £15 for 2 mains, 2 deserts and 2 Pints was great value. Cant ask more than that can you?

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Slither456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely food. Good price.”
Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

Seated promptly. The staff were friendly and helpful. Once ordered, came promptly and accommodated special requests. The size of the meal was amazing and of excellent quality. I ordered the 16oz gammon and wanted a jacket potato instead of chips. It was massive and ended up costing £7-8 as part of a meal deal. Atmosphere was lovely. Mostly family parties.

For quality, price, atmosphere and customer service I can highly recommend this establishment.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachelgrogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Griffin Inn also viewed

Swinton, Salford
Widnes, Cheshire
 

Been to Griffin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing