We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food, great value!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eight Towers

Eight Towers
Ranked #15 of 101 Restaurants in Widnes
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $15
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Bar scene, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Visited with three friends, initially for a meal and to take part in the pub quiz. We ordered our food which was very cheap! And we received great service, large portions even though the food wasn't dear. Great quality pub food. Only downside is that there was no pub quiz, as advertised on the website. We were told that the pub quiz had been stopped a few months ago. Will definitely visit for a meal again! Would recommend.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    47
    23
    14
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Still very good value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

We visited this week and ordered from the main menu. I had a burger with cheese and BBQ sauce and my o/h had the plaice and chips. We ordered a side order of onion rings and the whole meal came to just under £14 including drinks. Very good value for money and the service is very good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AJCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great pub - wish it was my local!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

This pub is not our local - but choose this pub over the one that is near to us (and in the same chain!) as we prefer the atmosphere, and the fact you can just have a drink, or have a full sit down meal if you want. (other pub is just meals).
The food is excellent and its great value for money. Plenty of offers on and variety on the menu - I always try to order something different - but I have my favourites too! The menu has changed a few times too - so new dishes are added to keep me ummm-ing and aahh-ing over what to have.
The staff are friendly when serving you at the bar - nothing worse than a bored staff member serving you - but not at the Eight Towers.

Well done!! :o)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rjones1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

called in after a trip out, very nice food, very cheap staff very helpful did'nt mind getting water for the baby's bottle

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank joe l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I love this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

This is my local and it never fails me! After a bad experience at another pub, the staff just made our day a lot better. The food is always enjoyable and we are guaranteed a good experience at this pub.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RachelElizabethHanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eight Towers also viewed

Widnes, Cheshire
Widnes, Cheshire
 

Been to Eight Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing