We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money in a nice environment”
Review of Church View

Church View
Ranked #31 of 108 Restaurants in Widnes
Price range: $1 - $16
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Church View Inn is a Great Locals Pub we provide the best Hospitality to make sure your Visit is most pleasurable. We have a Fabulous selection of Food & Drinks/Real Ales Check out our Daily Offers on Food Live Entertainment & Weekly Events We show All Live Sports in our New Sports Area
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Value for money in a nice environment”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We visited this week whilst the sun was beating down! Although it was very busy we found a table to our liking indoors (there are many types and sizes to choose from) and went to the bar. I was served very quickly and promptly signed up for a loyalty card to start earning bonus points! We ordered the breaded mushrooms to share for starters and we chose from the Lunch Club menu for our mains. I had the Fajita Spiced Chicken, Fried Onions and Red Pepper Wrap and my o/h had the Steak, Onions and Mushrooms ciabatta. Both came with a choice of drink and either curly fries or chips, all for £4.99 each - complete bargain. Although it was busy the food arrived quickly and was very nicely presented.

The drinks look a bit pricey but the food menu more than makes up for that as they also have an extensive range of 2 for £10 deals too. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AJCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    64
    72
    39
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“church view family birthday meal”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

very poor service we booked for 6 people meals came out at different times had to go and ask for 4 meals 10 min wait in between first two meals. then ordered a coffee and a tea when it was not that busy and had to wait 20 mins while 4 staff stood behind the bar chatting and using there phones had to go and ask for the drink really poor will not be going again

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jackie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Family Meal”
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Visit the church view quite often for meals. great for value for the food although the drink prices are slightly higher than other places. The service is always good although you an be waiting at the bar sometimes without being acknowledged. We ordered 3 steaks and a rack of ribs off the 2 for £10 menu everyone's meals were cooked perfectly but my steak was over cooked after asking for a medium.
Overall a nice meal with the family.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jules-B-92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Is it a pub or is it a restaurant - Discuss”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Come and visit any Saturday evening and witness people eager to spend their hard earned cash only to walk around the pub, look at all the empty tables and walk out. Why ? Because all these tables are reserved, sometimes sitting empty for over an hour. Not clever really. Another thing, not enough bar staff. The staff are great and constantly on the go, but two at 1700-1830 is not enough. Another thing, too many buggies. Other than all of the above, it's an OK place, food looks and smells good, just don't expect a table if you haven't booked. Enjoy.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CheshirePugwash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“good value for money”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

its got a great atmosphere for young and not so young -- i belong to the not so young group , my partner meets up with friends on a regular basis and uses her diamond card to get a nice meal and a sweet =she recommends the fish and chips and ANY sweet == last time the staff was a bit bad tempered the one that brought us our meal but it didnt spoil a nice evening out

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank laundrymancheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Church View also viewed

 

Been to Church View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing