We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but too expensive”

Maplewood Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 109 Restaurants in Widnes
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Rainhill, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good but too expensive”
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

Went to the Maplewood last night with my wife brother and sister-law. We had the banquet A which is the cheapest and we all had drinks, a few each to be fair. The food was good was, it's always consistent.

The only problem was the bill, I think at £180 it was expensive. Just too expensive. I would have been happy to pay £120 and would probably go back sooner than I will now. It was just too much. Can't fault the food or service though

Helpful?
Thank Nick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    68
    36
    31
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Ridiculously over priced for bog standard food”
Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

The food is nice but no better than any other Chinese yet is genuinely at least twice the price of anywhere else.

Prepare yourself for open wallet surgery when you go for what is just standard Chinese food and ambience.

Very expensive.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank UrbanSports21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Love this place!!!”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Ate here on 25th January for my partner's 30th. As usual, the service was amazing and the food. I got Banquet A which included chicken & sweetcorn soup, a platter - ribs, won ton parcel, crispy seaweed, etc, crispy duck and our two mains all washed down with red wine. Will be coming back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank starmix19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
320 reviews
223 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Prices up = Far too expensive”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

This venue always produces good food and good service you cannot take that away from them, but now the line in the sand has been drawn -- prices have increased making this one of the most expensive places to eat - drinks top prices to be paid and the food is now as stated at extremely high levels. Parking is ample and good links from the M62 for surrounding areas.
We will not go again, well not as often - six of us would average once a month, now we have no idea of our next visit.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1jeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Refused a guide dog”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We tried to book a table for 10 people for next weekend for a family birthday and when we told them that 2 of the party where blind and would be bringing guide dogs they refused our booking stating that it was against 'health and safety' laws. Refusing a Guide Dog is against the Disability Discrimination Act law, which states that Guide Dogs are exempted from the usual rules governing the presence of dogs in areas where food is prepared. This is as a result of the extensive and high quality training they receive, as well as the high standards of grooming, and the exemption has been granted by the Institute of Environmental Health Officers.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
9 Thank Sally G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maplewood Restaurant also viewed

 
Widnes, Cheshire
Widnes, Cheshire
 

Been to Maplewood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing