We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best fish and chips that I have had for a long time.”
Review of Marie's Chippy

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Marie's Chippy
Ranked #6 of 108 Restaurants in Widnes
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best fish and chips that I have had for a long time.”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

The fish and chips at this chippy are gorgeous. I have been hearing about it for a long time but have only just got around to going. They remind me of the chips I used to get when I was a kid. Try it and you will enjoy. It is not open all the time, only Mon to Fri lunch and Thursday and Friday teatime. I have been twice in a week!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    10
    4
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Earlestown
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“The best fish & chips.”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Visited this chippy today - wow! Fish & chips served the way they used to be, sensible sized portions that leave you feeling content, not bloated. A choice of large fish or small fish depending on your appetite. I had small fish & chips and a can of pop for well under £3, I challenge anyone to beat that price.

The staff were genuinely friendly and were not afraid to discuss and praise the opposition. I had to go out of my way to visit this chippy, and i'll be going out of my way a lot more often in the future. If you're a fish & chip aficionado do not let this chippy pass you by. 10/10

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Glynn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Th ultimate end of week treat!”
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Every visit, the queue is our the door, but you're always served quickly. Amazing chippy food and always leave with change. Staff are lovely, easily the best chippy I've ever been to.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nicola89166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best chips”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Best fish and chips around by far. You can choose a small size meal if you are not very hungry. Fast service by happy staff.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Roxy990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Best chippy in Widnes”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I have frequented Marie's since I was a child and it has and always will be the best chippy in Widnes. It serves good food and is always reasonably priced; the staff are very friendly and the service is quick.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Martiewidnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marie's Chippy also viewed

Widnes, Cheshire
Widnes, Cheshire
 

Been to Marie's Chippy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing