We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing wedding reception But poor quality rooms!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Everglades Park Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Widnes
Cheshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Amazing wedding reception But poor quality rooms!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a wedding. The wedding ceremony , reception and nighttime were excellent. The food served to 100 guests was beautiful and everyone was commenting on the standard . The only thing was my husband and I did not get any champagne for the toasts. The young waiter knew but never came back out with any. This slight did not in anyway take away the joy of a wedding of two special people. Our room was adequate. The shower was powerful although others said theirs wasn't. The bed was very comfortable and clean. We slept soundly. The shower stand was loose and coming off the wall. The lighting was poor and almost impossible to apply make up. Breakfast the next morning was very disorganised. There did not seem to be any one person in charge and this is all it lacked. The restaurant staff all seemed young and very inexperienced. We sat at a table that hadn't been tidied away so we had to do it ourselves. There was a continental breakfast and a hot breakfast. You could have as much as you wanted of either. There were plenty of pastries but no bread rolls or muffins. The staff hadn't noticed they had run out and when they did there was a great panic over the eggs. This was reminiscent of a scene in faulty towers with the poor girl asking everyone to sit down and wait!!! Overall the wedding was wonderful, food superb and staff attentive apart from the waiter with the champagne. Shame about breakfast but it only needs a bit of organisation. They offer a special discount for wedding guests but my husband found out there was another offer on that would have been cheaper. Great for a night away from home for a wedding but that's about it!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CheshireMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanQuinton, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Everglades Park Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the wedding with us. Unfortunately, with regards to the room we cannot attempt to fix problems such as the shower, that weren't mentionned at the time of your stay, however I am pleased that you had a good night's sleep and the shower was powerful. I apologise for the unusual service you received at breakfast and will take up your points with the team to ensure this does not happen again. We hope to see you here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    114
    79
    43
    31
See reviews for
73
92
21
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

A good hotel, nice evening meal with a good "Cheshire breakfast" in the morning. Comfortable surroundings with a relaxed bar and restaurant area.

If I have business close by in the future I would stay again without question....

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Timhud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanQuinton, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Everglades Park Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you for your review of the hotel. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

I stayed in room 301 on the 5th February I arrived at 22:30pm and a warm welcome was received and the night manager graham couldn't do enough for me and my father his help was much appreciated, the breakfast was very nice and the staff who served us I would recommend this hotel to anyone there was no noise it was peaceful and the hotel as a whole was very clean the bar is 24 hours to guests and is a welcoming place to be nothing is too much trouble and it was certainly worth every penny I would visit again if I was in the area. Thanks again guys

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank George E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanQuinton, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Everglades Park Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thank you for your review, it is always a pleasure to hear such positive feedback. I am pleased that you found our staff helpful and we look forward to seeing you again in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel a few times and found it to be clean, comfortable and on the whole very pleaseant to stay at. This time it was tarnished by the cups and spoons in the room being dirty! Had to wash one cup and spoon up before using it, took the other to the reception. Receptionist said she was sorry, offered to replace the cups, (I said not to bother), and that was the end of the matter as far as the hotel were concerned!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
1 Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanQuinton, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Everglades Park Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you for your comments and continued custom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

This year was our fourth visit for Christmas dinner and yet again it was outstanding!!!!!!! Food is to die for and the service is too class!!! No mess, no mither, cracking price for Xmas dinner and loved that the kids got a selection box this year that was a lovely gesture!!! Can't wait for next year!!!! Thank you

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanQuinton, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Everglades Park Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you for your review. It is always a pleasure to hear such positive feedback. We hope you had a lovely Christmas and New Year and look forward to seeing you again this Christmas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke on trent
Level Contributor
208 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

Its been a long time since ive visited this hotel. The check in was fast but a key problem was quickly sorted. Room clean, nice decor, comfy bed, clean bathroom.

Bar small but enough room on the day i was there. no bar snacks but could order food.

Breakfast expensive, and not terribly good value. should have started at 8 and i arrived at 8.20 and still setting up and the beans were still only luke warm. needs more variety for the money. Wouldnt be bothering next time.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hmonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanQuinton, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Everglades Park Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and will take on board your comments with regards to breakfast. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here Christmas day and boxing day 2013 as myself and partner were visiting family nearby. We chose this hotel as they gladly allow you to take pets with you during our stay (unlike other hotels in the area) this was great for us too as it meant the dog didn't have to stay in kennels! The female member of staff who checked us in was great too very helpful. The room was lovely and very big unlike sum budget hotels we have stayed in. Room was clean too. Only down fall was the hot water, as it seemed to be a bit of hit and miss when you got hot water as it didn't always run hot but I didn't complain as it was early hours in the morning and for £29 a night for Xmas/boxing day I wasn't going to complain about this . I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is thinking of staying here and it's great they allow you to take dogs for a small fee of £5 per night.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank skyrme21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanQuinton, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Everglades Park Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Thank you for reviewing the hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again in the new year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Widnes
1.3 mi away
The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Widnes Hotel
6.8 mi away
Best Western Forest Hills Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Liverpool Rainhill Hotel
3.3 mi away
Campanile Runcorn
Campanile Runcorn
#3 of 3 in Runcorn
3.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
8.2 mi away
Premier Inn Warrington (M6/J21) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Everglades Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Everglades Park Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Everglades Park Hotel
Address: Everglades Park Hotel Derby Road, Widnes WA8 3UJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Widnes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Widnes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Everglades Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Everglades Park Hotel in Widnes offers convenience as well as comfort. In a semi-rural location, you'll be in the heart of the North West's commerce, industry and leisure venues. Although you'll enjoy all the trappings of being close to the city centre, you'll also benefit from relaxed suburban surroundings. At less than 5 minutes form the M62 and 10 minutes from the M56, you'll literally be able to come and go as you please. The hotel boasts state-of-the-art conference facilities and first-class cuisine, so if you're working out of office, you'll have everything you need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Everglades Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN Everglades Park Hotel Widnes, UK - Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing