We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible - was frightened by all the noise going on in the rooms near us.”
Review of The Kingsway Hotel

The Kingsway Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Widnes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Kingsway Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Widnes B&B and Inns
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Terrible - was frightened by all the noise going on in the rooms near us.”
Reviewed March 6, 2011

Room was very basic, the tv did not work, the hotel has no where to park only on street and I was worried about the safety of my car as there seems to be a noisy pub/club nearby, could hear music thumping till about 2am and people shouting/fighting aswell - also people shouting in the rooms along from us which made it quite scary, was laid in my room at 1am quite frightened. Only saw one member of staff who was nice and she also cooked our breakfast which was nice, but all in all was glad to get away.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie186346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    5
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
1
2
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fuengirola, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2010

......but not much else to commend this.

It is the sister hotel to the Mersey Hotel, Widnes. They booked me in as they were full and I was happy to be away from the area if not the pub. The Kingsway is in a better location but is not really a hotel. More a pub with rooms

It's fine and the receptionist was quite charming but it's not a venue I'd write home about. Room was very small and basic but there is little choice in Widnes so if you want a room for a night and are not prepared to pay the rates at the only "real" hotel in town, this is what you get.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thisisspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Widnes hotels

london
1 review
Reviewed June 17, 2010

Clean basic hotel very friendly pub attatched, i was made to feel welcome,rooms basic but fresh clean bedding, breakfast was a bonus as i was offered a choice of cereal or toast, or the option of a bacon, egg, or sausage sandwich to eat in or take away with me,

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biggjoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 6, 2010

im still scratching the flee bites on my ankles,the bed had collapsed, and when i looked under the mattres to see if i could mend it, the dirty sheets were still on the bed under thenew ones.the carpet was stained and dirty, and the toilet didnt flush properly. the only good thing was it was cheap, it cost me nothing, because i left without paying, i didnt have a ten pence peice in my pocket, thats all it was worth.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cozzyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
widnes
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2009

Be WARNED stay away from this place its scruffy, dirty and full of homeles chav's put there by the council, its in a rough part of town with a dodgy pub across the road

  • Liked — leaving
  • Disliked — every thing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank laugar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Widnes
2.1 mi away
The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Widnes Hotel
1.9 mi away
Best Western Everglades Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Widnes
Travelodge Widnes
#2 of 4 in Widnes
161 reviews
1.5 mi away
Campanile Runcorn
Campanile Runcorn
#3 of 3 in Runcorn
214 reviews
1.2 mi away
Blundell Arms
Blundell Arms
#4 of 5 in Widnes
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kingsway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kingsway Hotel

Property: The Kingsway Hotel
Address: 66 Victoria Road, Widnes WA8 7RA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Widnes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Widnes
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kingsway Hotel is a small family run business that offers basic clean accommodation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Kingsway Hotel Widnes, UK - Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing