We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of an experience”
Review of The Mersey Hotel

The Mersey Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Mersey Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Widnes B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Stop over on end to end cycle ride. Had trouble finding a place in this location, our route took us passed the doorstep hence our reason to stay. Looked ok in the pictures when booking but looks can be decieving and this one certainly did us. Not going to list the issues as there are too many, just dont stay here unless you want a "rustic" experience with local Mersey folk which we found interesting shall we say. We had a nice view of the Mersey and the Widnes Bridge from our bedroom window, however our friends next door did not because their window was all misted up inside the double glazzing. No food being served that evening so had to go down the road to a local pub.

Room Tip: Ask for the one without the misted up windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Martyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (28)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 28 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2012

We booked this hotel online, looking at the pictures we thought, hey a nice hotel on the river just the ticket!! oh no!! we turned up with police on every corner, (should of been an omen)! On entry to the PUB, which from the road side looks nothing like its picture!!! we were given our keys, we couldnt check in at that time as the manager was dealing with a customer complaining (we should of took off then!), the road outside didnt look very safe to park our cars so the staff told us to park in the carpark at the front of the hotel, this infact was a water logged lawn!! Anyway we had booked two rooms for each couple, both rooms were, unclean, unkept, musty, damp, no wardrobes just a random pole on the wall! Our room had a small mattress with a large base that stuck out at one side, it wasnt covered and the wood was split everywhere, not very health and safety!! The second room, omg! had damp all over the walls, cobwebs coboot!! We took our complaints to the manager and are still waiting to see if they will reimburse our booking fee back. I would rate this any stars !!! x

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michelle w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

If you want exciting experiences, definetivebly you should go to this hotel. A lot of drunk people, dodgy area, not clean, rooms without tv.. but price is nice and airport is only 10 minutes from here

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fenomenopucela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

very disappointed . booked online and thought looked ok from website but in reality probably one me the worst accomodation i.ve ever stayed in. arrived enroute on the trans pennine trail and location for route 62 very good but only positive to say. the room was tatty , curtains hanging off rails , carpet dirty and paint peeling off walls. for the price of £60 plus extra for cooked breakfast all amounts to a total rip off. there is a nice premier inn in widnes . . . go there !

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbarathecyclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

we had been walking along the river and came upon this pub by chance, May i say the young girl behind the bar ( kathrine) could not do enough for us.......we told her we felt like a bite to eat, the kitchen was closed .....however she opened it and made us a lovely burger.....we sat outside in the beer garden......must say its not a modern pub, its old and dated......but hey ho.....we dont want every place to be the same......julia and ivor.

Room Tip: i think this place would be good for people interested in the mersey and old bridges..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
2  Thank julia d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

The website is completely misleading. I stayed at this hotel for one night having booked over the phone. I chose the hotel as it was close to the venue of my meeting early the next morning. The rooms were clean enough but there was no washing facilities in the bathroom, soap etc. the bedroom light did not work, there was no cupboard / wardrobe to hang clothes, the curtain was falling off it's rail on both sides, there was a holder for a glass in the bathroom but, surprise, surprise there was no glass. the staff seemed friendly but the customers in the garden left a lot to be desired, litter, swearing etc. Area very run down. I couldn't face dinner or breakfast next morning, just wanted to be out of there as quickly as possible. I will not be returning. I dread to think what the " sister hotel " is like.

Room Tip: I can't imagine there are any good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hazelverity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

this has got to be the worst hotel on merseyside, i turned up with my husband its rooms above a pub as you are going upstairs everyones eyes are on you, i felt uneasy and very uncomfortable, we took one look at the room and although we had paid for the room we left with the excuse we had to park the car, we didnt return and went straight back home

Room Tip: do not stay in this so called hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank carol h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Widnes
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Widnes
Travelodge Widnes
#2 of 4 in Widnes
172 reviews
0.8 mi away
Campanile Runcorn
Campanile Runcorn
#3 of 3 in Runcorn
227 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Best Western Everglades Park Hotel
1.7 mi away
No photo provided
Mersey View Hotel
#1 of 2 in Widnes
6 reviews
1.5 mi away
Blundell Arms
Blundell Arms
#4 of 5 in Widnes
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mersey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mersey Hotel

Address: 146 Mersey Road, Widnes WA8 0DT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Widnes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Widnes
Price Range: $65 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — The Mersey Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Mersey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mersey Hotel Widnes, UK - Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing