We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not as good as the Manchester branch” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Panama Hatty`s

Panama Hatty`s
Ranked #4 of 36 Restaurants in Tarporley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: ...when you arrive at Panama Hatty's restaurant in Spurstow for the first time and feel the cosy welcoming charm of this extraordinary restaurant it will lift your spirits and warm your heart. Discover that tasty quality home-made food is not exclusive to the big city operators, you will find it all in the heart of the beautiful Cheshire countryside. We have a great selection of delicious cocktails, international beers and good value wines delivered by attentive, friendly staff.
Manchester
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Not as good as the Manchester branch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

First of all let me say that the decor is terrific and we may have turned up at a time which is not best suited to a lot of restaurants ( though that's no excuse ). Its standard stuff here but quite good and the sharing platter we had for the four of us was cooked well. There was then two steak dishes a chicken dish and a salmon risotto all good but not exceptionally so. The staff are very pleasant and I could not fault the service.My overall thoughts are that this is a good family restaurant but not somewhere you would go for exceptional food.We have eaten in the Manchester Panama and found the standard much better.A nice meal slightly overpriced.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank IrlamGary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    320
    184
    76
    29
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Service a little disappointing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

We have been to this restaurant a few times over the years but found on our last visit the service had declined somewhat. The ambiance of the bar and restaurant areas are superb and the selection of cocktails will bring a tear to your eyes as there are so many to choose from and the presentation of them is wonderful. The food is is not of a quality that demands the prices they offer but the overall experience is worth every penny. Unfortunately no-one came to us in the bar area to take our meal order or to ask if we were ready to order or even sit in the restaurant area. At our table we ordered our meal together with a cocktail (which never arrived) however when we pointed this out it was there within minutes. About two thirds into our meal another cocktail arrived, obviously the first one we had order which somehow had just appeared on our order in the bar!! I had to ask the staff to service the ladies toilet as it was extremely messy with toilet paper everywhere - not the fault of children as I saw none entering! Despite all this we will be going again as it offers the wow factor when entertaining visitors.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LynMWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“3.5 tops”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Like many places that are over-rated IMHO, the setting and ambience of this restaurant are superb. I believe that this has the effect of fooling the diner into thinking that they're getting food of a higher quality than they really are. Don't get me wrong, you can't fault it a great deal, it just doesn't warrant the substantial price tag being asked for. For anyone to say that the food was very good or superb, I would question how many truly first-class restaurants they had been to, but in the gastro-pub infested world in which we now live, you can't complain too much.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SamWheelock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not to be missed !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Excellent, from the moment we walked in until the end !! Excellent staff, fabulous food, quick service, definitely going back !

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lerky72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Superb”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Have been there on a few occasions and can honestly say its good! The food itself is superb and it seems you are never rushed. The staff are very polite and friendly and nothing seems to be a problem to them. The steak and rib platter is a absolute gem...and the puds are ace too!. Give it a try...I would say its one of the best if not the best in Cheshire!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Panama Hatty`s also viewed

Tarporley, Cheshire
Tarporley, Cheshire
 

Been to Panama Hatty`s? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing