We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refurbishment? Oh dear.”
Review of The Swan Tarporley

The Swan Tarporley
Ranked #7 of 47 Restaurants in Tarporley
Price range: $10 - $29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: welcome you to The Swan, a traditional 16th century coaching-inn and guest house set in the heart of the historical village of Tarporley, Cheshire. With 16 en-suite guest rooms, The Swan has been an integral part of the community for over 400 years and its characterful original features, log fires and rustic décor all add to its ‘village pub’ charm. Take a seat and relax in one of the two bar areas as our friendly staff serve you a glass of your favourite tipple, whether a crisp Sauvignon or a cold pint of local ale. Those who find themselves in need of a quick bite can enjoy a tankard of chef’s finest pork crackling or one of our renowned giant scotch eggs. If you prefer a more leisurely experience, take a seat in one of the many nooks and crannies and enjoy a meal from our daily seasonal menu.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Swan is a fantastic and historic old coaching inn at the heart of Tarporley's Georgian High Street. Over recent years it has been somewhat neglected, so I had hoped this would be the opportunity create something really special.

We went there to eat today and what a disappointment! The fit out is what I would call "mid budget corporate chain". All clean and shipshape but with no character whatsoever. It pays no respect to the beautiful old building. The lovely old back room with its stone floor, beams and inglenook range is now stuffed full of over sized modern furniture including some hideous booth seating.

The food and service was entirely in keeping with the fit out. I cannot vouch for the rooms as we were only dining.

There are so many really great and characterful places to eat in the vicinity. Just take a look at the Carden Arms in Tilston as an example of what could have been achieved here.

What a shame....

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Johann24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (443)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 443 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2019

The last time I did a review of the Swan I had nothing but praise for the food and the ambiance and it has become a well-loved and oft-visited meeting place.
Now, after a major refurbishment it will probably not retain that go-to status for us or our friends.
The structural refurbishment has knocked down a few walls, but it retains much of its former layout - it's the furniture and fittings that have, sadly, been "upgraded". The place, and its menu seems to have attempted to become "trendy".
The whole infrastructure has changed, furniture, menu, kitchen staff, waiting staff and bar staff.
Gone are the comfortable armchairs, gone are the two large window tables where large groups could meet and eat, gone are many of the regular tables and their 'dining' chairs.
In their place are high 'bar-tables' which, at most, seat four, and the bar stools that are impossible for many 'older' patrons to access and which for those who do manage to perch, leave legs dangling in mid-air.
Gone to a dark, windowless corner is the only table that will seat more than six - unfortunately it is open to, and right next to, the coffee machine which, with its constant hissing and banging, makes conversation at the table practically impossible.
The menu, of course, has changed as well. Gone are some old favourites (including the best fish-and-chips in the area): also gone is the take-away fish-and-chips offer of yesteryear.
In it's place, some 'nouvelle cuisine' dishes. The new offerings do, however, include a steak-and-kidney suet pudding. Excellent to see steak-and-kidney available (the 'kidney' part seems to have vanished in so many other local restaurants) but this, though the suet was very thick and dry, was packed full of excellent meat. Extra gravy is a 'must', though, to moisten the whole thing up..
A big disappointment was the "Crevettes" - a platter with five very small prawns and a few vegetables. The prawns were so small that the chef came out to say that the plate should have had only four prawns, but because they were so small, he had added a fifth - and all for £19.95!
Another annoyance, was £9.50 for a large glass of wine!
Sadly, after being regular patrons for many years,and despite being served by the polite, friendly, efficient staff, it will be some time before we patronize The Swan again,

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LumberEaton_Cheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2019 via mobile

Wife & I, feeling peckish but not desperate to eat, perused the menu whilst having a drink. Loved the description of many of the dishes and, after some deliberation and a few beers, we decided to to eat. Well, we were not disappointed, on the contrary; the Oxtail casserole was fabulous and the Baked Cod also exceeded expectations.
The ambience of the bar/restaurant is very relaxed; we ate in the bar and it was very comfortable but dining room looks equally welcoming. A great experience, not cheap but worth the extra IMHO

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank johnnG3595LW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theswantarp, General Manager at The Swan Tarporley, responded to this reviewResponded today

Hi John

Many thanks for your kind comments its much appreciated. Hopefully will see you again very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2019 via mobile

Our first visit to the refurbished Swan at Tarporley. A fantastic atmosphere, great service and amazing food. Food from the coal fired Josper grill was delicious. The Josper fired cod with red wine and smoked bacon sauce was especially good. For dessert The Swans Chester Pudding was a light and tangy finish to the evening. Would thoroughly recommend a visit. The Swan also has rooms which I would imagine to be a fantastic place to stay.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank BywatersOnline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2019

Decided to visit Tarporley on the way back from Chester and stop for some lunch. Decided on here as we stayed quite few years ago when visiting the area.
There was a good menu, reasonable priced. The srevice from the lady who looked after the tables etc was excellent. Just the right amount of attention and very friendly.
We liked the fact that there was plenty of room around the tables, that you got real table napkins and so on.
The food when it came was very nice and the portions were quite large. The coffee was also excellent and tasted fresh which was a change.
The place does look a little old (shabby chic?) but that is part of its charm. However we understand it is soon to close for about a month for refurbishment so we look forward to trying it a gain as we were pleased with our visit and if the standards are the same it should be good. I hope it does retain some of its style though and not 'modernised' as some places are.

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank PPGloucester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Swan Tarporley also viewed

Tarporley, Cheshire
 
Tarporley, Cheshire
Tarporley, Cheshire
 

Been to The Swan Tarporley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing