We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for special occasions”

Fox & Barrel at Cotebrook
Ranked #6 of 37 Restaurants in Tarporley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $55 - $55
Cuisines: International, British
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
chester uk
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good for special occasions”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

The meals were very good,the burger had taste and was one of the best burger in the area.We had a sweet between us and it was fantastic.Will definitely go there again.We found a little expensive but it was busy so that says it all.the waitress was very attentive and helpful.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tref
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    286
    130
    50
    37
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Little Disappointing”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Staff at Nunsmere Hall where we were staying highly recommended this restaurant and we noted that it had been awarded 'Pub of The Year' by Cheshire Life. It was relatively busy so is obviously popular. There was a good atmosphere and the staff were helpful and friendly. As we had eaten earlier we opted solely for a main meal. My husband had a chicken with steamed vegetables and a rice risotto and I chose to have salmon and haddock fish cakes with a tomato and onion salad and dill mayonnaise. Perhaps because it had been recommended and was obviously well regards, we expected our meals to be better than they were. The portions were small and, although tasty, disappointing. They were just alright and we expected more. We didn't feel that the quality of the meals justified the prices.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacinta53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culcheth, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Different but expensive”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

3rd visit was a little disappointed.
Restaurant & bars wereFrench rustic decor--a pleasant change.
Unfortunately the wide menu did not give us much individual choice. Surprisingly we were only attracted to 2 main courses. Attractive fish cakes without much fish, and excellent gammon joint.
It will be difficult returning before the menu is changed.
Fairly expensive, but attracts the Cheshire ladies.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Goodvalue26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Pub”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Great food always friendly, good selection of beers and only 10 minutes from the hotel. I use this pub on a regular basis as the hotel restaurant is always slow and overpriced.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarporley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Somewhere you might pass by”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I've eaten at the Fox and Barrel on numerous occasions and, from the outside at least, it looks pretty unprepossessing and you might easily drive by (its on the busy A49), but inside its a warm, cosy and well presented hostelry where the food is, normally, top notch. I say normally, as one time we had the epitome of 'waiter there is a fly in my ...', to be honest they rectified it there and then and took a fair chink off the bill.

Would I recommend it? Probably, and I would go for the more robust meals on the menu.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frank T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fox & Barrel at Cotebrook also viewed

 
Tarporley, Cheshire
 

Been to Fox & Barrel at Cotebrook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing