We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa
Nearby Hotels
The Swan Tarporley(Tarporley)(Great Value!)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$177
$147
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$81
$74
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$82
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$62
Mercure
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$147
$141
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oaklands Hotel(Weaverham)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,097)
Filter reviews
2,097 results
Traveler rating
752
658
353
200
134
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
752
658
353
200
134
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf courseice roomgolf breakrelaxation roomcream tealovely hotelgreat golfplay golfpro shopround of golflounge barset menubar pricescheshire countrysiderestaurant staffrelaxing breakcourse meal
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,689 - 1,694 of 2,097 reviews
Reviewed September 21, 2013

I stayed here with a number of colleagues on a business trip to Cheshire for two nightsThe rooms were huge with avery comfortable big bed and a huge bathroom with both a bath and a shower. The breakfast was very good with anything you wanted cooked to order and arriving very quickly. The bar staff were also very friendly bringing drinks over and a selection of olives and nuts. Even though I only had a pint the bar staff offered me a second snack tray. The second night had a gold society event and there were a few drunken incidents that my colleagues witnessed in the middle of the night but I slept like a log.The only down side was poor mobile phone reception.To some that could be a bonus !

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Londontraveller1964X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Dear Londontraveller1964X,

Thanks for your great review following your recent business trip to Chester. Delighted to hear we ticked all the boxes for your trip and indeed that the team were attentive, service fast and the quality of the food appreciated.

We hope to be your home from home again in the near future.(for frequent travellers we offer a fantastic frequent travel programme - you can join 'The Club' at any of our 45 hotels UK wide and save up for fantastic rewards!) Ask for more details when next staying at Portal or any of our sister Macdonald Properties across the UK.

With Warm Regards.

S Cauwels-Wigan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I had heard good things about this hotel and was quite disappointed with the poor service. We had travelled with 50 other people and the hotel appeared under staffed with service non existent in places. Food was ok if you got it that is, one our our group requested his sweet course 5 times and it never arrived. Service in the bar was slow and prices as usual far to high.
Rooms were quite big and comfortable although the minuscule TV and poor programme reception disappointing. We were here 2 nights and the room cleaning service mirrored the rest of the hotel by producing the bare minimum. Nice location but work to do.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pto571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Dear Pto571,

Thank you for your review. I was sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations when visiting us with a groups of 50. I was sorry to hear that one of the groups 50 dessert was delayed.

The overriding feedback from the event was extremely positive and I am sorry that on this occassion you do not agree.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and have the opportunity to change your mind.

With Warm Regards.

S Cauwels-Wigan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Great meal and beautiful area of Cheshire. Room was very clear and bathroom to a very high standard. Only small comment would be bed was very hard and the mattress could do with replacing. Lots of great pubs and walking nearby. Would stay again. Didn't use the golf course but looked great.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
Thank Airmilesjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Dear AirmilesJim,

Thanks for your review and delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back in the near future, perhaps even get some golf in this time or a treat in the spa. Some fantastic offers have just been launched and are available on our website.

Hope to see you soon.

S Cauwels-Wigan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I went here with a group of 30 other golfers for a long weekend which included 3 rounds of golf 2 on the Premier course and 1 on the Championship course. The weekend included breakfast and evening meal in the hotel restaurant.
Check in was a bit chaotic as you can imagine with 29 other party members and only 1 check in staff on the counter. The poor young lady was trying to check in plus get everyone's choices for the evening meal.
One sorted they gave us a room to put our bags as we were due on the tee on the Premier course in half an hours time. The hotel arranged a lift down to the course but the bus would only hold 6 golfers plus clubs so it was a bit of a shuttle service. It coped though and we all got there on time for a quick pre round drink before teeing off.
The Premier course for me is far superior to the Championship course very enjoyable.
After the round we had time to go to our room and relax before dinner. The dinner menu had a choice of 3 starter,mains and deserts. All was tasty and well prepared but service was dire and slow even though we made our choices the waiters had no idea who had ordered what so they just went around the tables asking who ordered what. Soup arrived with no bread rolls or they turned up after people had eaten their soup. Mains though tasty were small in size with virtually no vegetables. Waiters would take the drinks orders than just disappear for what seemed an age before returning with the drink after numerous reminders but without the change for the person who payed.
All in all the experience at dinner was a bit of a shambles to say the least.
Breakfast was much more pleasant. There was a good selection on offer starting with fruit,cereals, and a full continental offering followed by a very nice full English breakfast with the best black pudding I have ever tasted anywhere. A tea pot or cafetiere of coffee was offered too. Very nice compared to dinner.
Saturday was again golf on the Premier course followed by a full day to ourselves. Drink prices were high as is to be expected from a resort hotel with a pint of beer well over £4.00 soft drinks about the same.
After another chaotic poor dinner the next day we played the Championship course which isn't as good as the Premier with patchy poor greens and it is very sprawling . A buggy is essential for this course in my opinion.
All in all I would say the hotel is lovely, the rooms good but the poor restaurant service at dinner let the whole experience down for not only for me but nearly all of our party. We have been for the last two years but we will go somewhere different next year due to the poor restaurant service.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeedsStriker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

They're selling this well, and its busy but we won't be going back. The "Championship" course is poor on fairways and greens and the "Premiere" is only a bit better. The hotel is pretty standard, with reasonable food and very expensive bar service. Finding fire doors tied open during the day was unusual, but having to shut them in the evening shows that the management was not doing its job.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stella317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews