We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Tarporley
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 21, 2013

I stayed here with a number of colleagues on a business trip to Cheshire for two nightsThe rooms were huge with avery comfortable big bed and a huge bathroom with both a bath and a shower. The breakfast was very good with anything you wanted cooked to order and arriving very quickly. The bar staff were also very friendly bringing drinks over and a selection of olives and nuts. Even though I only had a pint the bar staff offered me a second snack tray. The second night had a gold society event and there were a few drunken incidents that my colleagues witnessed in the middle of the night but I slept like a log.The only down side was poor mobile phone reception.To some that could be a bonus !

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Londontraveller1964X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Dear Londontraveller1964X,

Thanks for your great review following your recent business trip to Chester. Delighted to hear we ticked all the boxes for your trip and indeed that the team were attentive, service fast and the quality of the food appreciated.

We hope to be your home from home again in the near future.(for frequent travellers we offer a fantastic frequent travel programme - you can join 'The Club' at any of our 45 hotels UK wide and save up for fantastic rewards!) Ask for more details when next staying at Portal or any of our sister Macdonald Properties across the UK.

With Warm Regards.

S Cauwels-Wigan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,972)
There are newer reviews for Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,566 - 1,572 of 1,973 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013

I had heard good things about this hotel and was quite disappointed with the poor service. We had travelled with 50 other people and the hotel appeared under staffed with service non existent in places. Food was ok if you got it that is, one our our group requested his sweet course 5 times and it never arrived. Service in the bar was slow and prices as usual far to high.
Rooms were quite big and comfortable although the minuscule TV and poor programme reception disappointing. We were here 2 nights and the room cleaning service mirrored the rest of the hotel by producing the bare minimum. Nice location but work to do.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pto571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Dear Pto571,

Thank you for your review. I was sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations when visiting us with a groups of 50. I was sorry to hear that one of the groups 50 dessert was delayed.

The overriding feedback from the event was extremely positive and I am sorry that on this occassion you do not agree.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and have the opportunity to change your mind.

With Warm Regards.

S Cauwels-Wigan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Great meal and beautiful area of Cheshire. Room was very clear and bathroom to a very high standard. Only small comment would be bed was very hard and the mattress could do with replacing. Lots of great pubs and walking nearby. Would stay again. Didn't use the golf course but looked great.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
Thank Airmilesjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Dear AirmilesJim,

Thanks for your review and delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back in the near future, perhaps even get some golf in this time or a treat in the spa. Some fantastic offers have just been launched and are available on our website.

Hope to see you soon.

S Cauwels-Wigan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I went here with a group of 30 other golfers for a long weekend which included 3 rounds of golf 2 on the Premier course and 1 on the Championship course. The weekend included breakfast and evening meal in the hotel restaurant.
Check in was a bit chaotic as you can imagine with 29 other party members and only 1 check in staff on the counter. The poor young lady was trying to check in plus get everyone's choices for the evening meal.
One sorted they gave us a room to put our bags as we were due on the tee on the Premier course in half an hours time. The hotel arranged a lift down to the course but the bus would only hold 6 golfers plus clubs so it was a bit of a shuttle service. It coped though and we all got there on time for a quick pre round drink before teeing off.
The Premier course for me is far superior to the Championship course very enjoyable.
After the round we had time to go to our room and relax before dinner. The dinner menu had a choice of 3 starter,mains and deserts. All was tasty and well prepared but service was dire and slow even though we made our choices the waiters had no idea who had ordered what so they just went around the tables asking who ordered what. Soup arrived with no bread rolls or they turned up after people had eaten their soup. Mains though tasty were small in size with virtually no vegetables. Waiters would take the drinks orders than just disappear for what seemed an age before returning with the drink after numerous reminders but without the change for the person who payed.
All in all the experience at dinner was a bit of a shambles to say the least.
Breakfast was much more pleasant. There was a good selection on offer starting with fruit,cereals, and a full continental offering followed by a very nice full English breakfast with the best black pudding I have ever tasted anywhere. A tea pot or cafetiere of coffee was offered too. Very nice compared to dinner.
Saturday was again golf on the Premier course followed by a full day to ourselves. Drink prices were high as is to be expected from a resort hotel with a pint of beer well over £4.00 soft drinks about the same.
After another chaotic poor dinner the next day we played the Championship course which isn't as good as the Premier with patchy poor greens and it is very sprawling . A buggy is essential for this course in my opinion.
All in all I would say the hotel is lovely, the rooms good but the poor restaurant service at dinner let the whole experience down for not only for me but nearly all of our party. We have been for the last two years but we will go somewhere different next year due to the poor restaurant service.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeedsStriker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

They're selling this well, and its busy but we won't be going back. The "Championship" course is poor on fairways and greens and the "Premiere" is only a bit better. The hotel is pretty standard, with reasonable food and very expensive bar service. Finding fire doors tied open during the day was unusual, but having to shut them in the evening shows that the management was not doing its job.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stella317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Not entirely sure where to begin with this one, such a mixed experience. I'll start with the bad news so we end the review on a positive vibe:

We booked over the phone and the reason we went to Portal was the amazing deal offered on a Signature Suite DB&B. When we got to the room though it was clear it wasn't a suite. I brought this up at reception and was told I had to ring central reservations to sort it out (this is Macdonald's Hotels reservations - their own company!). Long story short: 20 minutes on hold, girl I spoke with not on duty, arrange upgrade with hotel manager... so, tried to find manager, was told "she's outside, having a cig"... nice. Spoke with manager who generously offered to upgrade me if I paid the FULL difference. Naturally, I kicked off, they met me half way, so I paid an additional £36 to get the room I thought I'd paid for. Not the best start to a break.

It was a Monday and we headed for the spa - the swimming pool was full of primary school children, loads of 'em and some running in and out of the sauna and steam room. All the loungers were taken, so we called it a day and went back to our room. The 2nd day was much better but one of the five experience rooms was closed and there was a workman drilling for most of the morning. The rooms that are open are great but the spa could do with a jacuzzi.

The bar! This was an eye opener. £11.60 for a club sandwich, £4.40 for a cup of tea (with shortbread). It's a nice venue so I'm not expecting Yates's prices but this was astronomical. The hilarious thing is, as we were teeing off soon, we decided to bite the bullet and have lunch. The tea came in a filthy pot (no shortbread!) and the meals we ordered (tuna salad and soup) never materialised! We waited 45 minutes then had to leave to tee off. When we tracked down a member of staff we were told they were waiting for the egg to boil... speechless. So we hit the course starving hungry and laughing (it's better than crying).

Other negatives - no aircon in room, no free wi-fi, plenty of spiders (I didn't order them, they were free). Lots of staff stood around chatting. Breakfast was hit and miss, no bowls, no milk, no butter and waited 30 minutes for porridge which never materialised (a theme of the hotel?!).

So, how come it manages to get three stars?

Here's the positives:

The room was lovely.
The evening meals were fantastic, as was the view and the service.
The golf course is top notch, as are the views.

One star for each and I think I'm being generous. I wouldn't rush back to any MacDonald hotel.

Room Tip: Don't book through central reservations - they deny all knowledge of what they tell you! Eat eve...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dukeofbeeston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Having read reviews that said the drinks were expensive and the food portions small I was apprehensive on our recent annual golf weekend. Yes the portions are small but quality, just as you would expect of fine dining. We stayed for two night's and every meal was excellent, freshly and perfectly cooked, breakfast and dinner. We were on a deal so the meals were part of the package so didnt have to worry about the cost, although the a la carte looked expensive. Amstel at £4.35 a pint is not cheap but not shocking and John Smiths was £3.50.
The premiership course was good the championship very good.
Only downside was the service on our arrival when trying to order lunch which took 20 mins queuing at the bar when there was only one party of three in front of us because the only member of staff was taking orders serving and making hot drinks. Then 30 mins wait for it to arrive and we only had cold sandwiches, but only three arrived because they said we hadn't ordered it until 15 mins after the others. Ham sandwich with chips £11. Overall a very good weekend that started badly but got better and better.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Finnmeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Dear Finnmeg,

Fine Dining and Golf that is what it is all about at Portal (and fabulous spa treatments, extensive grounds and a lovely place to stay when exploring the Chester and Cheshire) and we are delighted you have described us just like that.

I was sorry to read about your initial experience and we will review your feedback with the team.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you and your group back to Portal in the near future. (our Early eagle offer is now available to book direct with the hotel with excellent savings for winter golf and trips in 2014 - call Gareth in our reservations team or visit our website for more details)

With Warm Regards.

S Cauwels-Wigan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarporley
8.8 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
3,885 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Swan Tarporley
The Swan Tarporley
#1 of 4 in Tarporley
492 reviews
15.4 mi away
Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
12.6 mi away
Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
2.7 mi away
Willington Hall Hotel
Willington Hall Hotel
#2 of 4 in Tarporley
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa

Address: Cobblers Cross Lane, Tarporley CW6 0DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Tarporley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Tarporley
Price Range: $105 - $469 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within the heart of the Cheshire Countryside yet within easy access from the main motorways and towns, The Macdonald Portal Hotel,Golf and Spa is the perfect base to explore Cheshire and its many attractions and places of interest. Whether you are visiting for a pampering experience in the luxurious Spa, a round of golf on one of the two challenging golf courses or indeed a gourmet break enjoying the finest foods in 2 AA Rosette Ranulf Restaurant, Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf & Spa has something to offer for the entire family. Portal is also the home of the first Lee Westwood Golf School in the UK and offers a combination of three golf courses and an onsite golf academy. The conference and banqueting facilities have hosted many a prestigious event and both the Castle and Waterstone Suites offer the most wonderful venue for the perfect wedding celebration. A venue for all occasions, the hotel offers 85 sumptuous bedrooms, a state of the art Health, Fitness and Beauty Spa which includes an 18 meter swimming pool, advanced Technogym equipment and a thermal suite with rock sauna, aroma steam bath, ice room and salt infusion sauna. Why not dine in our fine restaurant with its 2 AA rosettes and views across the Cheshire plains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf Hotel Tarporley
Macdonald Portal Tarporley
Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf And Spa Tarporley, Cheshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing