We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely spa break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tarporley
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We had 10 ladies booked for the mad hatter spa break. Hotel facilities and staff were very good. Both evening meal and breakfast were delicious. Therapist in the spa was very friendly and the massage was amazing! I would have liked the use of a jacuzzi and unfortunately it was a bit noisy by the pool due to children using the facilities. Overall very good value for money - I would return!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,058)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,698 - 1,704 of 2,058 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Visited here in June as a group of 32 golfers.
Play 2 courses, room, dinner bed and breakfast for £105....great value deal.
But you don't get something for nothing and the sting came when you went to the bar.
Now hotel bar prices, you expect them to be more expensive than the norm. I'd paid £3.70 in the golfers bar for a pint of lager.
In the hotel I bought a friend a drink, a glass of red wine ( nothing special ) and a pint of Amstel for me and waited with my tenner in hand......... £12.60 please.....how much is the lager I asked.....£4.10 sir.......so the red wine is over £8 a glass.....didn't do that again.
When it came to the evening meal, it soon became apparent that we would be leaving the room hungry. Haddock fish cakes were very tasty but very small. Pork belly for main course was small and almost devoid of any meat, nice mash and a spoonful of red cabbage. For dessert I had chosen the British cheese board £3 supplement sir, when it arrived 3 crackers 4 grapes and 3 very small pieces of cheese. Very disappointing and sent back to whence it had come from.
Breakfast was better, but still portion control was in evidence as the smallest piece of butter was supposed to suffice for a table of 6.
Obviously we had a fantastic deal on the room, golf and food which is why I can give 4 stars rating, but if your here paying full whack you're going to be very dissapointed.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HarryPottersDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Stayed here 2nd & 3rd June...........2 people playing golf.......

The good..
Great courses x 3 but expensive if you dont get a package. (I would suggest just walking onto the courses later in the day as no one seems to bother about checking, although this is immoral!!)
Good rooms & bathrooms, cleaned regularly, Helpful staff, ask for a free cable to connect into hotels free cabled internet, £5 deposit but free internet 24 hours / day)
Good pool, saunas / steam rooms etc..........watch out for the kids swimming lessons 4-6pm !!!!
Good gym.
Very good lounge & terrace + golfing bars upstairs.
The Championship & Arderne courses are on site & the Premier GC is 5 min drive away, all superb.

The bad..
If you go DBB you get a special menu, which is ok but if you choose to eat off ALCarte then they give you £25 per person contribution. This can work out expensive but reasonable choices. The wine is stupidly dear for what it is...........£25 for a wine that you can buy in JS for £6.99!!!
Restaurant service is slow & the servers are not very attentive.............if there was a big golf party in you might be waiting a long time for your courses.Breakfast is not buffet but order & you dont get a lot but its edible...........just.

Room Tip: Ask for a golf view room but all are ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I stayed here for a spa weekend with four of my closest friends for a girly catch up. We stayed on the mad hatter deal which was superb value - afternoon tea, overnight stay, dinner, breakfast, champagne and a spa treatment all for £114.

The hotel is in gorgeous grounds and the bar area has a lovely terrace. The rooms were big, modern and comfortable - and the staff kindly let us have two rooms for five people putting up a camp bed for one of us to save us the extra money for an extra room at a single supplement.

Afternoon tea was wonderful - warm scones and friendly service - and the spa treatments were fab - the women giving us the massages took time to chat to us and make us feel special and pampered.

I was however very disappointed to see children splashing around in the swimming pool - playing with inflatable toys and being rather noisy. As a result - my friends stayed away from the pool and didn't use any of the sauna or steam rooms. I rather wish I'd done the same as while swimming in the pool I noticed what a thought was human faeces on the bottom of the pool. I thought "Surely not at a four star hotel - maybe someone has dropped their goggles" On check out the following day we saw the pool was closed - because a child had defecated in the water. The hotel do restrict the times that children are allowed in the pool - but I feel very strongly that there should be NO children allowed in the pool on a weekend in particular at a four star golf and spa resort when there are groups of adults paying good money to relax in peace and quiet. I wouldn't go back until this was the case.

The food at the evening meal was very nice - but the service was slow and there were lots and lots of tables left dirty for a long time - including our own inbetween courses ...plus the manager of the restaurant didn't know what one of the meals contained - not impressive.

All in all - I enjoyed my stay but a few changes could go a long way to making this a great hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy_Lea_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Visited on the weekend of Saturday 25th May for 1 night spa break for my birthday.
We arrived just before lunch time - the weather was glorious. This hotel has a superb location and you really could be in the middle of nowhere.
Despite arriving early our room was ready so we checked in, and took some lunch on the terrace in the gorgeous sunshine. Views superb - surrounded by rolling hills!
After lunch, we went to the spa, ordered our afternoon tea (inc in our package) and headed to the pool area. Superb spa facilities - very very clean......was lacking a jacuzzi bath but truth be told, we didnt miss it. Lovely pool (very warm and with the weather outside and the glass windows surrounding you really could have been abroad). Sauna and steam rooms (2 different ones) were lovely. Treatment included in package was lovely (Decleor facial).
We retreated to our spacious, modern and spotless twin room to relax and get ready for dinner (also included in our spa package).
Dinner was lovely - service was a little slow. One thing I would say is that drinks are pricey here - given the plush surrounds and quality of the offering we had anticipated this.
Had a fab nights sleep (11 hours straight) - unheard of! Great breakfast and great selection.
Couldnt have asked for a better time! Very good service and totally relaxed!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helenclark78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Just come back from 2nd spa break at this hotel in 6 months . I have to say once again everything was as good as the previous occasion. Arrived early but our room was ready , no queue to check in. The room was spotless and very nice. The pool and spa were great , out treatments were very nice.

Dinner was pre booked for 7.30 pm , again everything was just so. No delays in service at all. The food was as good as last time.

The drinks are expensive in the bar , but the bar was not busy at all maybe that is the reason.

Slept very well no noise in the corridors very peaceful.

Breakfast was very busy when we got there. However the buffet part had lots of choices on it. Our order for the hot food was taken and arrived within a reasonable time.

There have been lots of negative reviews about service before, maybe we are just lucky when we go who knows.

We are returning in August hope we are as lucky again as this hotel is in a lovely setting and we really hope to enjoy them again

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Lovely rooms, fantastic location, let down by the horrible cooked breakfast, for just over £14 you get half a mushroom, half a tomato, the smallest piece of fried bread, and the bacon looked like it had been boiled, and everyone in our party had tin foil stuck to their bacon, can't fault the buffet selection, but avoid the full English!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natbtring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarporley
0.6 mi away
The Swan Tarporley
The Swan Tarporley
#3 of 4 in Tarporley
525 reviews
15.4 mi away
Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa
12.6 mi away
Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
16.9 mi away
The Lymm Hotel
The Lymm Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lymm
930 reviews
2.7 mi away
Willington Hall Hotel
Willington Hall Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarporley
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa

Address: Cobblers Cross Lane, Tarporley CW6 0DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Tarporley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tarporley
Price Range: $125 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within the heart of the Cheshire Countryside yet within easy access from the main motorways and towns, The Macdonald Portal Hotel,Golf and Spa is the perfect base to explore Cheshire and its many attractions and places of interest. Whether you are visiting for a pampering experience in the luxurious Spa, a round of golf on one of the two challenging golf courses or indeed a gourmet break enjoying the finest foods in 2 AA Rosette Ranulf Restaurant, Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf & Spa has something to offer for the entire family. Portal is also the home of the first Lee Westwood Golf School in the UK and offers a combination of three golf courses and an onsite golf academy. The conference and banqueting facilities have hosted many a prestigious event and both the Castle and Waterstone Suites offer the most wonderful venue for the perfect wedding celebration. A venue for all occasions, the hotel offers 85 sumptuous bedrooms, a state of the art Health, Fitness and Beauty Spa which includes an 18 meter swimming pool, advanced Technogym equipment and a thermal suite with rock sauna, aroma steam bath, ice room and salt infusion sauna. Why not dine in our fine restaurant with its 2 AA rosettes and views across the Cheshire plains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf Hotel Tarporley
Macdonald Portal Tarporley
Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf And Spa Tarporley, Cheshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing