We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Peckforton Castle
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,335)
Filter reviews
2,337 results
Traveler rating
1,264
528
280
143
122
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,264
528
280
143
122
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine cellarbirds of preyland rover experiencetranquility spaafternoon tearoll top bathoff roadsecret escapesthe wow factorwedding venuewedding guestsfour postermain restaurantbeautiful venueclassic rooma la carte menuwedding breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,148 - 2,153 of 2,337 reviews
Reviewed February 8, 2011

We recently stayed at Peckforton Castle and were extremely impressed with the overall experience which can only be described as outstanding.
The quality of the finish in our room was exceptional and was omly bettered by the dining experience in the main Restaurant and Brasserie. Peckforton Castle has a reputation for its location and quality of service and we were not disappointed in any way during our stay; particular note has to made for the friendly and professional staff in the restaurant who compliment the high quality of the food.
We would not hesitate in recommending Peckforton Castle and will make a point of returning at the earliest opportunity

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M191594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded March 9, 2011

Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which I have shared with our staff. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2011

We stayed here because we were doing the falconary at the hotel (which is excellent fun). You can't help but be impressed with Peckforton as you drive up to it. It really is stunning. They also valet park your car for you which is a nice touch.
You can't check in at this hotel until 3pm which I think is quite late expecially as check out is at 10.30 am. Once we had checked in and went up to our room were we quite disappointed. The rooms shown on the website looked fantastic, but our room was one of the ones they have not yet refurbed and was a little tired and shabby really. I do think that you need to check when you book exactly what room you are getting beacuse I think £145 per night for the room we got was far too pricey.
The castle is very popular for weddings and I would imagine they have one on most weekends, so it was choc full when we were there. We were also woken up at 3.30 in the morning by departing wedding guests making lots of noise. I wouldn't say that this was a peaceful retreat at all.
The food was OK, again pricey but not outstanding.
The best thing about Peckforton is the staff who were super lovely and a credit to the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bushbabyDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded March 9, 2011

Thank you for your kind words. We are so glad you enjoyed your time at the Castle and we look forward to seeing you again soon to exceed your expectations even more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2011

We booked the Peckforton Castle online on a dinner, bed & breakfast deal which cost £135.00 for the night. We then added an upgrade to an executive room for an additional £30 and had chocolate and strawberries in the room for £10.00.

On arrival at the hotel, we were both blown away by the location. Really great building, with a sweeping forecourt.

Reception staff were pleasant and polite and as we arrived early (you cannot check in before 2pm) we decided to have a drink in the brasserie and then get a taxi to the Pheasant Inn, which is about 4miles from the castle. Initially we were going to walk, but were advised that the route was extremely muddy.

The taxi arrived and off we went, Imagine our utter shock to be told on arrival at the pub, a mere 15minute journey that the cost would be.... £19.00 ONE WAY. Apparently this is because there are no local taxi firms and they have to come in from Nantwich or Crewe.

ON quizzing the bar staff at the Pheasant it would appear this is a common occurence which a lot of guests are caught out by. We spoke to Gemma, one of the nice bar staff who offered to take us back to the castle when her shift ended - THANK YOU GEMMA!

We had a lovely lunch and relaxed in the pub before Gemma took us back.

On getting back to the castle we went and checked in to our room; no 203 Malpas. Massive room, four poster bed and very big bathroom - not the most scenic view outside mind you, but we didn't mind as the room itself was very impressive.

We then went exploring the castle before getting ready for our dinner in the 1851 restaurant.

Dinner at the 1851 was lovely, however, wasn't what we expected. When you book online, there is no mention about which menu you get at the 1851, and when you go on the 1851 site only one menu is available, so we naturally assumed this would be the choice for the night. It's not; there is the all inclusive menu which is part of the package and you can upgrade to the a la carte menu which is on the website. Now, don't get me wrong, both menu's were lovely but we felt it was misleading, it wasn't even stated on the confirmation email.

We rounded off our night away in the brasserie and were served by the lovely Gina.

Breakfast in the morning is buffet style, nice food but i was surprised as i thought a hotel of this calibre wouldn't do buffet breakfasts.

all in all a nice time had by us both.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boedaccia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded March 9, 2011

Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which I have shared with our staff. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2011

We stayed at the Peckforton Castle Hotel for one night, the website shows lovely quality rooms and great surroundings. However this hotel lets itself down with the little things that mean so much. Attention to detail and service. The plasma screen in the bedroom intermitantly worked, droping signal every 5 seconds. The bathroom was disapointing looking like it was done in the eighties on a very tight budget. and whilst we understand that it is a grade 1 building and the plumbing finds it difficult to cope I did at least expect the toilet to work properley and to be fixed firmly to the floor. The biggest disapointment is with the service where you can wait for a long time to be served at the bar and in our case behind a group of people asking for money back for things ordered but not served. throughout our stay there was always a lack of staff at the bar .
Things on the menu were missing from the meal . I got the feeling that staff werre not professionals but people from the village chipping in to help.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevinaustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded March 9, 2011

Thank you for your comments. We welcome all feedback as it helps us improve. We have taken your remarks on board and hope to implement the changes necessary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2011

We stayed overnight and took in a bird of prey experience the following day. The castle is an impressive sight. The staff are friendly, welcoming and very helpful; nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are excellent from every point of view as was the food etc. The bird of prey experience was a good balance between fun and informative and the children enjoyed this very much. This is an impressive hotel with a friendly relaxed atmosphere. I have also arranged a corporate meeting on another occasion and received equally excellent service then. I would definitely return for business and leisure purposes and would not hesitate in recommending the castle.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jill_rudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded March 9, 2011

Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which I have shared with our staff. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews