We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas at the Castle - Strongly Recommended”
Review of Peckforton Castle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Peckforton Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
“Christmas at the Castle - Strongly Recommended”
Reviewed January 14, 2011

I had to organize the businesses Christmas Party 2010. I thought of all the "normal" venues but wanted this one to stand out so when I heard fantastic things about the castle I approached them to see if such a huge venue could take place, and that it did. Peckforton castle catered for 260 of my colleagues. From start to finish the event could not have gone any better. We had the castle to ourselves with most of my colleagues staying over at the Castle. I stayed in a suite which was absolutely gorgeous with everything to iPod docking station to heated floor tiles in the huge bathroom. I will be staying there again personally!
Taking place that night we had a disco & casino which went down a storm. I would like to thank all the staff that worked that day and evening as they were impeccable and could not do enough to help people, from directions around the amazing building, to the simple service with a smile all evening. I would recommend strongly to anyone who is thinking of such an event that Peckforton would be one worth booking.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LM_Customer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review, March 9, 2011
Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which I have shared with our staff. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,096 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,127
    487
    247
    122
    113
See reviews for
321
1,239
11
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (472)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2011

My husband booked a weekend here as a birthday treat, and what a treat it was to!
The building is amazing, full of character and enchanting in every way.
We had a standard room (as this was all that was available) it was well equiped, clean and spacious,with two double windows overlooking the court yard, which was fabulous as we could watch the Falconery training and the beautiful peacocks that strolled the grounds displaying themselves at every opportunity.
Most of The staff were Very attentive and nothing was to much trouble for them, in fact I would go as far to say, they went the Extra Mile for us every time, special thanks for the balloon with my champagne ice bucket, nice touch, there was only a few members of the bar / breakfast team who failed to even smile yet alone offer customer service, but one was leaving on the Friday, I don't think she will be a loss to what otherwise is a well run team.
The food was very tasty and well presented, but lacked choice, on the package we were on there were 4 items on the menu 1 of which was vegetarian, and the menu was the same both nights!! This I would say let the restaurant down, the manager was very receptive and accomodating, remembering what wine I had ordered the previous night, and that I liked lemon in my water.
Then came the SPA well done Vanessa & Milly!!! these girls are just Fabulous!!!! My husband and I stay at many 5star hotel / spa's and can honestly say they gave the BEST
Facial we have ever had, again the added extra of a hand & head massage whilst your face mask sets is wonderful.
We can say this break was well worth the money and we will return again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ukcouple14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review, March 9, 2011
Thank you for your kind words. We are so glad you enjoyed your time at the Castle and we look forward to seeing you again soon to exceed your expectations even more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
preston
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2011

My husband and I stayed stayed at the castle on 2nd of Jan for 2 nights. Suprisingly the place was busy with lots of couples and some families.
The check in on arrival was great with complimentry drinks brought to the room. We booked through red letter days vouchers.
We were unable to book the restaurant as it was full on the sunday evening, so we ate in the Brasserie.
Unfortunately the bar lady was surly and rude and did not give a good impression of the castle. The food which was available to order (small manue and smaller choice as they did not have any steaks) arrived hot but not very inspiring. I ordered a pasta dish which was tastless and bizarelly was served with cold cherry tomatoe's and baby onions!!!

I redered wine which was nice and husband drank the chech lager on draft which he also enjoyed.

Breakfast was fantastic buffet style. The breakfast dining room was so hot it made you feel sick. One of the breakfast staff on the second morning was really lovely, friendly and helpful. She was the only memeber of staff we encountered who was like this so i though i would give her a mention.
The menue offered continenatal breakfast with hasm and cheese but these were no where to be seen!!

I asked for room service breakfast but was told that i could only have a cold breafast delivede as the food would not remain hot. (have they never heard of food covers)

All in all I would stay again for a special trip we paid £190 for 2 nights b&b, I would also recommended this hotel.

I feel that they have all of the basics to be great but the staff let the hotel down.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chevy0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review, March 9, 2011
Thank you for your kind words. We are so glad you enjoyed your time at the Castle and we look forward to seeing you again soon to exceed your expectations even more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 7, 2011

I booked a night away with my partner on the 27th December as a special treat and we were not disappointed!!We stayed in the newly refurbished part of the castle in an 'Executive bedroom',the room was perfect with plenty of room and fantastic views over Cheshire,it far exceeded our expectations.We chose to dine in the 1851 restaurant which had been recommended by the receptionist on checkinng inn,this was more costly than the new Brasserie but well worth it and after all its not every evening you get to dine in a castle!The standard of food was nothing short of fantastic and the level of service was excellant,our compliments to one and all,especially the chef.We look forward to visiting Peckforton Castle in the future and will highly recommend to all our family and friends.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sk1064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review, March 9, 2011
Thank you for your kind words. We are so glad you enjoyed your time at the Castle and we look forward to seeing you again soon to exceed your expectations even more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 6, 2011

Peckforton Castle has everything you could ever wish for whether its a wedding, a romantic break for two or a weekend family outing. With stunning views of the Cheshire countryside this place has it all. The Castle itself meets new decor very tastefully done with a spoiling air about it. Attention to detail is second to none. The staff are so helpful and very approachable and are eager to help at any given moment. The food here is outstanding in quality and taste and a real experience that is unforgettable. If you get the opportunity to stay here please please do, you wont regret it and its worth every penny.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travis010101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review, March 9, 2011
Thank you for your kind words. We are so glad you enjoyed your time at the Castle and we look forward to seeing you again soon to exceed your expectations even more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 5, 2011

Couldnt fault peckforton castle and all that work there ,, it was amazing and nothing was too much trouble , even on the initial bookin and me emailing there about 10 times in one day to sort things out for our stay each and every email was responded to quickly ,,

Falcon experience , Out of this world ,, totally amazing .best thing ive ever experienced ,
Big thankyou to Mark ,,

Food was outstanding ,,

So glad i chose this place to take my husband for his 50th Birthday,

Clare

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare_2010_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review, March 9, 2011
Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which I have shared with our staff. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2011

My husband and I stayed here in December to celebrate our wedding anniversary and we had a brilliant time. The setting is amazing and looked so pretty with all the snow around. We were in the Kesall suite which had a giant bed and a spacious bathroom complete with a roll top bath that had a glass covered turret above so you could lie back and see the stars! We ate in the restaurant and the food was lovely and the staff were very attentive. The prefect hotel for a romantic break.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chester252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review, March 9, 2011
Thank you for your kind words. We are so glad you enjoyed your time at the Castle and we look forward to seeing you again soon to exceed your expectations even more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarporley
12.7 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#2 of 9 in Crewe
2,155 reviews
8.0 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Swan Tarporley
The Swan Tarporley
#2 of 4 in Tarporley
480 reviews
7.6 mi away
Nunsmere Hall Hotel
Nunsmere Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oakmere
880 reviews
5.4 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
3,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peckforton Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peckforton Castle

Property: Peckforton Castle
Address: Stone House Lane, Tarporley CW6 9TN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Tarporley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Tarporley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Peckforton Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Peckforton Castle - An enchanting Hotel in the heart of Cheshire. Rising majestically above the Cheshire landscape, the castle is both enigmatic and enchanting. Originally the home of Lord Tollemache and built in the early 19th Century, this Grade I listed building is the only intact medieval style Castle in the country. Over the years the castle has been the location for numerous movies including Robin Hood and Dr Who. Now owned by the Naylor family, the stunning exterior has been complemented by a loving and considered restoration programme resulting in a magnificent hotel and venue offering contemporary luxury and impeccable service. Services include 48 stunning individual guest rooms, conference, events, and wedding facilities for up to 180. Tranquility beauty, on site Falconry and team activities all adding up to a rather magical experience. Dining at the Castle truly is a special occasion, welcoming the public as well as hotel guests. The 1851 Restaurant offers a dining experience fit for royalty. Holder of 3 AA Rosettes and a Taste Cheshire Award. Alternatively the more informal and cosmopolitan 2010 Brasserie, located in the former scullery of the castle, features many of the amazing features of the original scullery including two cast iron cooking ranges dating back to the 1840's. Peckforton Castle's enchanting medieval style beauty and stunning location make it a truly impressive and desirable venue for weddings, christenings, birthday parties, or just about anything that's worth celebrating. Everything plays a part; the fabulous setting, stunning location, the attentive service and smiling faces, the bespoke menus and decorations. A magnificent venue for conferencing and meetings. Within the medieval walls, old and new combine seamlessly to offer state of the art multi media and conference facilities. Captivating on arrival, Peckforton Castle's unspoilt, natural beauty will stimulate and motivate, delight the eye, inspire the mind, tantalise the taste buds and leave you enchanted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HRS, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Peckforton Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peckforton Castle Hotel Tarporley
Peckforton Castle Tarporley, Cheshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing