We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A super hotel with a difference!”
Review of Peckforton Castle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Peckforton Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A super hotel with a difference!”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

I have just returned from Peckforton Castle after my friends and I enjoyed their Girls' Night Out experience. We all had a fabulous weekend and would recommend the hotel to others, especially the above experience. The hotel is set in wonderful grounds and on arrival its spectacular presence, amidst the surrounding woodland, is immediately felt. The staff are very welcoming and always professional. The waiter serving our cocktails was very friendly. We enjoyed a delicious lunch, with a varied choice. The food was very fresh and the service efficient. There are rooms in the castle to enjoy drinks or refreshments, despite the fact there was a wedding on both of the days of our stay. Our rooms were luxuriously furnished and immaculate. The furnishings reflected the overall theme of the castle but were modern, and we had bath robes, slippers and strawberries in chocolate to enhance our experience! During our stay, we dined in the restaurant. Again the food was first class but we would all say that if you are hungry, then the fine dining experience may not be for you! We all agreed the quality of the food was exceptional but the quantity left us hungry. Next time, as we are already planning our return, we would transfer to the a la carte menu and pay the supplement. Our waitress was very helpful and extremely knowledgeable about the menu we were served. The breakfast was delicious and again there was a wide choice to suit all tastes. Our experience included two spa treatments, which added to our chilled experience. However a note to the spa: buy each beautician a uv nail machine!!! The staff again were very friendly. The experience included transport to and from Chester, but due to personal circumstances we couldn't make this trip. The staff were only too happy to negotiate an alternative treat. So overall a great package if you're after something a bit different. Thank you for a great weekend!

Room Tip: Some rooms more spacious than others and some are lighter, ask for lighter room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael A, General Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
So glad you and the girls enjoyed your getaway! Thanks for the fab review, we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,096 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,127
    487
    247
    122
    113
See reviews for
321
1,239
11
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (472)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We attended a wedding with my partner as best man. He had the privilege of catching the ring bearing owl during the ceremony! We both felt Sophie was very friendly and professional during rehearsals and during the ceremony. Without doubt one of the most welcoming, pleasant members of staff I have ever come across.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.. however climbing up several sets of stairs to room 601 wasn't as enjoyable!!!

Room Tip: Would have loved a bigger bed, however our shower in room 601 was wonderful. Despite being up severa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emilyrutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael A, General Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Thanks for the write up. Sophie is a real asset to our team and so knowledgeable and passionate about the birds. I will be sure to pass your praise to her.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014

We were looking for somewhere special to celebrate our 25th Wedding anniversary.
We booked a three night stay at Peckforton Castle through Secret Escapes. We were not dissapointed and had a wonderfull stay.
The castle is in a stunning location and will take your breath away. All the staff were very attentive and professional. We ate in the Brasserie two nights and the 1851 Restaurant on the night of our Anniversary, both were very good and we recieved excellent service.
The castle has an impressive collection of birds and owls and we thoroughly enjoyed a falconry session which the birds came to our hands to take food. We also enjoyed a massage in the spa.
Peckforton Castle is the perfect location to spoil and indulge yourself.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shiralee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael A, General Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
A great review, thank you! Congratulations from the team on your wedding anniversary. Hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

I should say from the outset that I got a really good room rate for early Spring and therefore it represented outstanding value. Twice before I have said that a restaurant should have a Michelin Star and now they both have (Bon Amb, Javea, Spain and the Pipe and Glass, South Dalton, Yorkshire). I say that Restaurant 1851 at Peckforton Castle should have one as well. ( it does have 3 rosettes however). Service throughout is impeccable and the rooms very comfortable ( you even have a teddy bear on the bed!) the breakfast is expansive and totally delicious. One of the best hotel experiences in the UK and would be totally perfect for a lovers night out..........

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andygranada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael A, General Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Thanks for the excellent review. I'm glad we made such an impression on you and I hope the judges at Michelin are listening to your recommendation! Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night with our 4 children. As regular users of 'chain' hotels it was fantastic to stay in such a unique place.
The children were blown away with the outside of the castle and the rooms and helpful staff were great too. Fantastic!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank KenandLesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael A, General Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Glad you and the kids enjoyed the visit, do come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

I purchased one night with dinner, bed and breakfast for my parents as a birthday treat. They have completely raved about htis hotel since returning. They upgraded to the Beeston room when they arrived (views over Beeston Castle) which has a fantastic four poster bed and roll top bath. They had been nervous it would be cold but under floor heating certainly made sure they were never cold. They loved the food and said the staff were all helpful and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. They have certainly made me want to go and visit this hotel.
Thank you to Peckforton Castle to making their stay so thoroughly enjoyable.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael A, General Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
I'm glad we could give your parents such a fantastic experience, many thanks for the kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We got married here a year ago so for our anniversary we came back for the night to have a more relaxed evening! As a birthday treat my other half had a two hour 4x4experience too which was brilliant and he loved it! The team we met were great-really helpful and friendly! We had a meal in the brassierie and stayed for the night and enjoyed every minute. Ive read reviews that have been negative and felt I needed to respond! Yes its a bit pricey-its a castle in Cheshire! Food and drink are a bit dear too but its amazing quality and as a treat its was great. Ive found all the staff here to be really helpful, incredibly professional and friendly and we've stayed in some places that are far more pretentious where you don't feel welcome at all. Not here. We loved every minute and it deserves to be more well known. Id recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael A, General Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Thanks for the great review! My team just love pleasing our guests and I'm glad this came across to you. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarporley
12.7 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#2 of 9 in Crewe
2,155 reviews
8.0 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Swan Tarporley
The Swan Tarporley
#2 of 4 in Tarporley
480 reviews
7.6 mi away
Nunsmere Hall Hotel
Nunsmere Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oakmere
880 reviews
5.4 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
3,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peckforton Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peckforton Castle

Property: Peckforton Castle
Address: Stone House Lane, Tarporley CW6 9TN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Tarporley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Tarporley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Peckforton Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Peckforton Castle - An enchanting Hotel in the heart of Cheshire. Rising majestically above the Cheshire landscape, the castle is both enigmatic and enchanting. Originally the home of Lord Tollemache and built in the early 19th Century, this Grade I listed building is the only intact medieval style Castle in the country. Over the years the castle has been the location for numerous movies including Robin Hood and Dr Who. Now owned by the Naylor family, the stunning exterior has been complemented by a loving and considered restoration programme resulting in a magnificent hotel and venue offering contemporary luxury and impeccable service. Services include 48 stunning individual guest rooms, conference, events, and wedding facilities for up to 180. Tranquility beauty, on site Falconry and team activities all adding up to a rather magical experience. Dining at the Castle truly is a special occasion, welcoming the public as well as hotel guests. The 1851 Restaurant offers a dining experience fit for royalty. Holder of 3 AA Rosettes and a Taste Cheshire Award. Alternatively the more informal and cosmopolitan 2010 Brasserie, located in the former scullery of the castle, features many of the amazing features of the original scullery including two cast iron cooking ranges dating back to the 1840's. Peckforton Castle's enchanting medieval style beauty and stunning location make it a truly impressive and desirable venue for weddings, christenings, birthday parties, or just about anything that's worth celebrating. Everything plays a part; the fabulous setting, stunning location, the attentive service and smiling faces, the bespoke menus and decorations. A magnificent venue for conferencing and meetings. Within the medieval walls, old and new combine seamlessly to offer state of the art multi media and conference facilities. Captivating on arrival, Peckforton Castle's unspoilt, natural beauty will stimulate and motivate, delight the eye, inspire the mind, tantalise the taste buds and leave you enchanted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HRS, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Peckforton Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peckforton Castle Hotel Tarporley
Peckforton Castle Tarporley, Cheshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing