We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great day, Peckforton made it special.”
Review of Peckforton Castle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Peckforton Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A great day, Peckforton made it special.”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Went to a wedding here in September 2010 and June 2012. both times the service was great and we had a wonderful night. I would recommend to any one looking for a hotel with a twist. You really do feel like the king of the castle.

Room Tip: Get a room high up. the views are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danielarthur83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael A, Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay on both previous occasions and hope to see you again soon for the hat-trick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,096 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,127
    487
    247
    122
    113
See reviews for
321
1,239
11
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (472)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Our children bought my husband and I a one night spa break as a present, and as you drive under the arch in to the grounds it is a wonderful sight.
The food in the 1851 restaurant was some of the best we have ever had, and the restaurant staff very friendly and helpful.
The bedroom was very comfortable all the usual conveniences, except, for some reason, they do not provide drinking glasses, not even the plastic kind.
The down side to the stay was we had been charged for two bottles of wine and two bottles of water with our evening meal, we had only had one of each, and also, at check in, when they had taken a swipe of my credit card the receptionist said she would be putting a £30 charge on in lieu of any spending we did during our stay. Not come across this before but agreed to it.
When we came to check out, I had to point out this £30 pre-payment as the receptionist failed to credit our account with it. So, please, do check your bill is correct.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sulwath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael A, Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for your review. Great to read that you enjoyed the bedroom and that the food was some of the best you had ever tasted. We always take a pre-authorisation on arrival to cover room charge and extras, which is then completed on check out. My apologies for the oversight with the wine & water charge. Hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleetwood, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 29, 2013

i have recently got married here in feb and what can i say PERFECT! The intire time we was there the peckforton castle staff couldnt of done enough they was amazing, everyhing we asked for we got. The food was outstanding and the afternoon tea devine! The Wedding itself couldnt of gone anybetter the staff really know what they are doing and desever an award they really made all my guest feel welcome. i would recommed the beauty salon all the girls are wounderful and made everyone look stunning. i do suggest that guest that are not staying at the castle do book taxis as they will be waiting along time. the Bedrooms are stunning and you really get what you pay for, myself and my husband cant wait to return and even my guest have re booked.

Mr and Mrs Robinson
23/02/2013

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jrobinson0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael A, Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. So good to read that you had a magical wedding day with us and that the team made it special. Huge congratulations again from all at the Castle and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, UK
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Spent two nights in room 301 with my wife for a short break. VERY comfortable room, lovely bathroom. Got lost getting to,the room as the signage is a bit hit and miss. Breakfast on our first morning was very disappointing. Enjoyed it more the second morning when we knew what food to avoid! An evening meal at the brasserie was fabulous. REALLY enjoyed our stay but one thing that REALLY needs sorting is the smell from the toilets on the main corridor down the back of reception - the only way you can get to the rooms. Not nice.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank drbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael A, Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for your review. I'm glad to read that you enjoyed your stay. We were not aware of any bad odour but we shall be sure to monitor this area closely. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

My husband and I (how regal), booked a 2 night stay at this venue to celebrate his birthday and my belated birthday. As you drive up the drive through the woodland you start to wonder where it is but as we drove under the gatehouse arch way my first word was WOW. The most beautiful castle set in the most lovely, quiet, tranquil surroundings. I was wearing an air cast boot due to a broken foot and as soon as the receptionist saw me she started reorganising rooms so that we had a room near to the lifts. Being near lifts bothers me but she had upgraded us to the lovley Huxley executive room and the lift is only accessible by use of your door key and so there are not lots of people walking past your room at all hours of the day and night. Our car was taken away and parked for us so that we did not have to walk to and fro the car park - I could not have walked the distance. The castle is simply beautiful, the rooms well decorated, clean, warm and spacious. The birds of prey are out doing their thing and you can also do a Land Rover experience - difficult in an air cast boot! and they do spa treatments etc. I have been lucky enough to stay in some top hotels but 'never' have I stayed anywhere where the staff have permanent grins on their faces and are so happy to be at work. I genuinely did not want to come home! Having read some of the other reviews I would only be repeating what they are saying but I agree 100% with them. What did impress me most was when you leave after breakfast to check out someone 'might' say good bye have a nice day and not really care, but as we left the lady at breakfast said hope to see you again have a safe journey home! We will be going back. We have another celebration in October so I feel a weekend trip coming on despite a 3.5hour drive. Just go, stay, have a great time. You will enjoy it - trust me!!

Room Tip: We had the HUXLEY room. The suite is called the Tollemarche.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Munkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael A, Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for your fantastic review. It's really great to read how the team made you feel and added to your experience; they genuinely do want to please each and every guest that visits! Best wishes for a speedy recovery and we look forward to seeing you again in October.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenbury Wells, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

As the title says, this is what came out of my mouth as we drove into the courtyard. The WOW didn't stop there either, from the moment we arrived everything was just right, friendly smiley staff at every turn, fantastic room and brilliant food. We were given an upgrade on check in to the room called Huxley, the room was clean very nicely decorated and very well appointed. The bathroom was also clean and has a slipper bath and a separate shower and toasty warm heated floor. We stayed two nights, the first night meal was in the 1851 restaurant. The food was excellent in every aspect. There are two tiny niggles in the restaurant, it was way too warm and too dimly lit for my liking, but these are miniscule issues. The second evening we dined in the brasserie which was also on the warm side but had very good food served here as well. Breakfast was the usual fare, presented nicely and there was plenty of choice from cooked to pasties etc. Every member of staff, without fail, had a smile on their faces which became infectious and made for an extra pleasing stay. Well done to the Peckforton Castle owners, keep doing what you do so well !

Room Tip: Huxley was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marquisofraspberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael A, Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. We always encourage our team to 'wow' our guests at every available opportunity; I'm glad this came across on your visit. The Castle team is one of our best assets and they will be over the moon to receive your glowing feedback. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We attended a wedding here recently and stayed the night. Our room was an executive suite and absolutely huge...real nice touches in there too. Dressing gowns , slippers , quality beverages and biscuits a cut above. Huge bathroom with stand alone bath and walk in shower all very tastefully planned out. The massive high ceilings and enormous oak doors were amazing. The falconry display ( yes falconry display !! ) in the afternoon was a delight. The Castle is unbelievable all set in beautiful grounds impeccably cared for and surrounded by woodland.
The main hall , bar areas and chapel are all amazing settings for a wedding and the after hours cellar room ( if you are up to it after a full day drinking ! ) ..Is worth enduring until the wee small hours. A final note for the staff who were all exceptional.My one small gripe was that the plates at breakfast time were cold...minor point but worth mentioning.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrlamGary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael A, Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for your excellent review. So good to read that my team were exceptional and that you thoroughly enjoyed your visit to the castle. Thank you for the pointer re the breakfast plates, we will ensure this is addressed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarporley
12.7 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#2 of 9 in Crewe
2,155 reviews
8.0 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Swan Tarporley
The Swan Tarporley
#2 of 4 in Tarporley
480 reviews
7.6 mi away
Nunsmere Hall Hotel
Nunsmere Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oakmere
880 reviews
5.4 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
3,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peckforton Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peckforton Castle

Property: Peckforton Castle
Address: Stone House Lane, Tarporley CW6 9TN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Tarporley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Tarporley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Peckforton Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Peckforton Castle - An enchanting Hotel in the heart of Cheshire. Rising majestically above the Cheshire landscape, the castle is both enigmatic and enchanting. Originally the home of Lord Tollemache and built in the early 19th Century, this Grade I listed building is the only intact medieval style Castle in the country. Over the years the castle has been the location for numerous movies including Robin Hood and Dr Who. Now owned by the Naylor family, the stunning exterior has been complemented by a loving and considered restoration programme resulting in a magnificent hotel and venue offering contemporary luxury and impeccable service. Services include 48 stunning individual guest rooms, conference, events, and wedding facilities for up to 180. Tranquility beauty, on site Falconry and team activities all adding up to a rather magical experience. Dining at the Castle truly is a special occasion, welcoming the public as well as hotel guests. The 1851 Restaurant offers a dining experience fit for royalty. Holder of 3 AA Rosettes and a Taste Cheshire Award. Alternatively the more informal and cosmopolitan 2010 Brasserie, located in the former scullery of the castle, features many of the amazing features of the original scullery including two cast iron cooking ranges dating back to the 1840's. Peckforton Castle's enchanting medieval style beauty and stunning location make it a truly impressive and desirable venue for weddings, christenings, birthday parties, or just about anything that's worth celebrating. Everything plays a part; the fabulous setting, stunning location, the attentive service and smiling faces, the bespoke menus and decorations. A magnificent venue for conferencing and meetings. Within the medieval walls, old and new combine seamlessly to offer state of the art multi media and conference facilities. Captivating on arrival, Peckforton Castle's unspoilt, natural beauty will stimulate and motivate, delight the eye, inspire the mind, tantalise the taste buds and leave you enchanted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HRS, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Peckforton Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peckforton Castle Hotel Tarporley
Peckforton Castle Tarporley, Cheshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing