We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite and elegant but expensive”
Review of Peckforton Castle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Peckforton Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Exquisite and elegant but expensive”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I booked a overnight stay 6 months in advance for a friends wedding, stating I required gluten free, I also phone to confirm this. The morning after the wedding, awaiting toast only to get sorry we have no bread left!! £160 per night and cannot supply 2 pieces of bead!! Travel lodges manage it !!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karen200763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael A, Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Thank you for your review. I am sorry that we had run out of gluten free bread when you visited. This is an item that should and usually is, always in stock and I will be speaking with our kitchen team to ensure we do not have a repeat of this. Thank you again for your comments and we hope to be able to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,141
    491
    250
    125
    113
See reviews for
326
1,251
12
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (476)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Preston
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

stayed her for a corporate event, service was good standards very high and the hotel simply stunning.
Stayed in the Banbury room which was very nice the furnshings and decor suiting the building perfectly .. the bathroom was great to relax in.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael A, Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm glad you enjoyed the corporate event here at the castle and we hope you visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Our stay was great. We stayed in a standard room, which had a massive, comfortable bed. We were warm and had a good night's sleep. There was a large range of good food for breakfast, which was a buffet. Also, there was a complimentary valet service, which was a nice touch and the grounds are stunning.

The only small drawbacks were there wasn't a large range of food on offer at the Brasserie (where we went for dinner), they had run out of what I wanted and service was quite slow.

Room Tip: Be careful if you are allergic to feathers, as the bedding is down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie_Fox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael A, Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Thank you for your review. I was glad to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

This place is on my doorstep so didn't stay but tried to book in the 1851 for a Friday or Saturday night but was fully booked so ended up going for Sunday lunch.
It was £21.95 for 3 courses and was excellent and plenty on food on your plate. (was expecting small portions!)
Will return and look forward to the next time!
Asked for a tour of the castle and this was no trouble at all. Gorgeous setting.

Well done and keep up the good work!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Cheshirelass01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael A, Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thank you for your great reveiw of Sunday Lunch in the 1851 restaurant. See you for lunch again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford cheshire
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Stayed at the Peckforton Castle for 1 night to celebrate our anniversary. We booked an exec room, dinner bed and breakfast.
The room was very good if lacking in towels (not enough for 2 people really) and a bathmat.The food was amazing at dinner and the staff in the evening were very attentive 5 stars go to them. The bed was large and very comfortable, the surroundings are just beautiful.

Shame about the breakfast situation, its a buffet....cold scrambled eggs etc in line with a city centre hotel cant understand why a hotel of this quality and number of rooms does not cook to order. The other thing that really annoyed me though was whilst we were looking to order tea and toast as this was not on the buffet the 3 staff members were too busy chatting around the desk to pay any attention to the guests...very poor! I eventually got their attention and tea and toast only to find they had ommited to give us any cups! Shame to end this way but if the little problems as breakfast is served gets sorted then I would say this hotel was PERFECT!

Room Tip: We stayed in Kelsall- beautiful room with amazing bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael A, Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thank you for your review and for choosing Peckforton Castle to celebrate your anniversary. I'm glad you enjoyed the room and dinner in the 1851 restaurant. I was disappointed to read your comments regarding breakfast. We operate a buffet style service as we feel this gives guests a far superior choice. I will be using your comments to highlight to the breakfast team the importance of consistency in service. Thank you again for your feedback and I hope to be able to wlecome you back to Peckforton Castle soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leek, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

Loved the whole experience. I'm sure there are areas that could be improved, but the magic of the place swooshes it all away! Hubby enjoyed the falconry experience; very knowledgable staff. The murder mystery nights are fun too!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuB64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael A, Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Glad you enjoyed your visit, especially the falconry. Hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Wonderful surroundings, very professional staff and marvellous spa treatments. Rooms amazing, and of a very good size. Will return as soon as possible. Thoroughly recommend for that special occaision.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christine n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael A, Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thank you for your review. I'm so glad you enjoyed all aspects of your vist and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarporley
8.0 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
12.7 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#2 of 9 in Crewe
2,173 reviews
3.6 mi away
Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Swan Tarporley
The Swan Tarporley
#2 of 4 in Tarporley
485 reviews
5.4 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
3,741 reviews
9.9 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peckforton Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peckforton Castle

Property: Peckforton Castle
Address: Stone House Lane, Tarporley CW6 9TN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Tarporley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Tarporley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Peckforton Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Peckforton Castle - An enchanting Hotel in the heart of Cheshire. Rising majestically above the Cheshire landscape, the castle is both enigmatic and enchanting. Originally the home of Lord Tollemache and built in the early 19th Century, this Grade I listed building is the only intact medieval style Castle in the country. Over the years the castle has been the location for numerous movies including Robin Hood and Dr Who. Now owned by the Naylor family, the stunning exterior has been complemented by a loving and considered restoration programme resulting in a magnificent hotel and venue offering contemporary luxury and impeccable service. Services include 48 stunning individual guest rooms, conference, events, and wedding facilities for up to 180. Tranquility beauty, on site Falconry and team activities all adding up to a rather magical experience. Dining at the Castle truly is a special occasion, welcoming the public as well as hotel guests. The 1851 Restaurant offers a dining experience fit for royalty. Holder of 3 AA Rosettes and a Taste Cheshire Award. Alternatively the more informal and cosmopolitan 2010 Brasserie, located in the former scullery of the castle, features many of the amazing features of the original scullery including two cast iron cooking ranges dating back to the 1840's. Peckforton Castle's enchanting medieval style beauty and stunning location make it a truly impressive and desirable venue for weddings, christenings, birthday parties, or just about anything that's worth celebrating. Everything plays a part; the fabulous setting, stunning location, the attentive service and smiling faces, the bespoke menus and decorations. A magnificent venue for conferencing and meetings. Within the medieval walls, old and new combine seamlessly to offer state of the art multi media and conference facilities. Captivating on arrival, Peckforton Castle's unspoilt, natural beauty will stimulate and motivate, delight the eye, inspire the mind, tantalise the taste buds and leave you enchanted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peckforton Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peckforton Castle Hotel Tarporley
Peckforton Castle Tarporley, Cheshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing