We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutley Perfect!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Peckforton Castle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Peckforton Castle
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Absolutley Perfect!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

On the 8th August 2012 we had our big day at Peckforton Castle! It was so Perfect, all of the staff were fantastic, so caring and did everything they could for our day to run smoothley. We arrived the day before and was able to set up that day as there wasnt any functions on in the same rooms, which we are very grateful for. The hotel porters were extremley helpful, as well as the reception staff. They sorted out a new room for the mother of the bride as she was quite ill and didnt want the bride to catch it, it was no trouble for them at all. which we really appreciated. The atmosphere was so relaxed and made it stress free for us all. The wedding co-ordinaters were always there to answer any questions and put our dreams to reality beforehand and on the day the duty manager was there making sure everything was how it should be. The guests all had a great time and the food was brilliant, we had a buffet instead of sit down meal and a cake made of cheese instead of a normal cake, there was plently of food to go around. At the drinks reception we had lovely chocolate strawberries which the castle provided. We couldnt think of anywhere else that we would prefer to have our wedding, it was truely magical! I cant put into words how amazing it was and how thankful we are to everyone at Peckforton! Abby and Dave Robins

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abby r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael A, Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear Mr & Mrs Robins,

Thank you for your wonderful review. I'm so glad you had the most amazing wedding day here at the castle. The team work very hard to ensure we make everything perfect for such a special occasion and they will be thrilled to hear the feedback. We hope to see you back again for the first anniversary celebrations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,997 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,067
    461
    239
    118
    112
See reviews for
303
1,183
10
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (453)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

Excellent just doesn't seem praise enough for Peckforton Castle. I had attended a conference at the castle a year or so ago, so after I proposed there was only one place I was thinking about for the wedding venue. I took my then fiancé to look around the castle and she was instantly impressed.

I do a fair amount of traveling with my job and have had the pleasure of stopping in some very nice places. Now it's one thing to have to have an impressive building and top notch facilities, and let's not kid ourselves Peckforton puts a big tick in that box, but it means absolutely nothing without the right people. This is where Peckforton goes from 5 out of 5 to 6 out of 5! Nothing was too much trouble. It seemed like everyone was going out of their way to make our day truly unforgettable. The Duty Manager, the chef, the bar staff, the receptionists, the porters everybody was making it their personal responsibility to ensure that everything ran like clockwork. I've never experienced anything like it.

I have to say that being this gushing isn't something that fits with normal bluff Yorkshire tendencies, but praise where praise is due, it was simply perfect.

Thank you everybody at Peckforton Castle.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank MrSmith77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael A, Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review. I'm glad everything ran like clockwork for you and that the team really stood out as going the extra mile. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

We booked a last minute one night stay at peckforton including 3 course dinner! From the moment we got there we started to relax, the lovely receptionist upgraded our room for a start : ) the room was beautiful, staff very helpful and friendly, food amazing,would definatly love to stay again! And to top it all off, my parter proposed in the stunning grounds, so thank you all for my perfect night away, I left a very happy women! Oh we also left our iPhone charger in the room on ck out, and they posted it straight out to us!! Enjoy.........

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katyb1543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael A, Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Firstly congratulations on your engagement! Thank you for your review, I'm glad our team looked after you so well. If you would like to book an appointment for a wedding show round, please do not hesitate to contact our weddings office on 01829 260930. Hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littleborough
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

We went to a Silver Wedding week end here. Everything was excellent.The staff were all very friendly & helpful & nothing was too much trouble. We had a lovely room called "Bickerton"
very clean & luxurious & easy access to a lift.
It is a warren of corridors but their is always a staff member to show you the way.The food was very good too.Outside there are Birds of Prey & very interesting talks by their keepers.
The breakfast was excellent, the selection of food was extremely varied.
We would recommend Peckforton to anyone.

Room Tip: Bickerton room & similar look down on courtyard so smokers are below if you have the windows ope...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smithybridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael A, Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you for your review. I'm glad you found everything to be excellent! Bickerton is a lovely room and one of my favourites. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

This hotel specialises in weddings. My wife and I stayed for two nights for the wedding of a close relation and have to say the arrangements were very well handled and everyone had a great time. The hotel/castle is obviously very popular with the Cheshire County Set as a member of staff told me that they had four weddings that week alone.

The castle is not medieval as it was only built in Victorian times but is remarkably authentic in that corridors are hewn from blocks of natural stone and the public rooms have a distinctly medieval feel, but there are one or two things anyone wishing to book as a hotel needs to know.

The biggest point is that it is vital to agree with the hotel at the time of booking which room will be allocated and if there will be a wedding or any other event with a disco or music being held in the Great Hall.

Our room was in the tower. We climbed in excess of 100 steep stone steps to reach the room and there is no lift in this part of the building. An older guest or someone with,say asthma, would probably have not made it. We are reasonably fit but found it a real slog. In fairness a short section does have a stair lift but not the last part which is a steep spiral section.

Because of the stone interior noise travels throughout the building and a friend said that their room was the noisiest they have ever encountered. Until the disco ended at about 12.30 sleep would be impossible. Even normal speech from people in corridors became magnified and could cllearly be heard in bedrooms.

If you are part of a wedding party you make allowances but I would have been livid if I had simply been a hotel guest.

Rooms themselves are not standard. Some are bigger than others (due probably to the uneven layout of the place). Our room was small with a 4ft 6in bed and a very small shower room, Others in the same category of room had baths and 6ft beds. Our wrardrobe was big enough for a couple of nights - but only just.

Catering for the wedding breakfast was very well handled and the breakfast buffet was very good. Staff were generally helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael A, Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed the wedding and our facilities. When allocating rooms for the wedding party, we always ensure they are situated in the same wing as the wedding itself, to ensure minimum disruption for any other guests staying on a leisure basis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Me and my friend stayed here for a short girly get away on a deal from Spa Breaks.com which included a one nights stay, 3 course dinner, breakfast and one spa treatment. I've found with other hotels that when you've booked as part of a special offer, you tend to be put in the lower standard rooms, and was expecting the same here- we were in a lovely secluded room on it's own at the top of a spiral staircase in one of the turrets! It had a lovely view and the room was flawless.

Dinner in the 1851 restaurant was amazing, as was the breakfast- lots of choice and top quality. The massages we got as part of the deal were great. The staff were all really helpful and friendly. The castle was immaculate and decorated to perfection.

In short, I can't wait to return here, probably next time as a romantic break with my boyfriend as it's such a lovely location.

Room Tip: If possible, ask for a room on higher floors- you may have to walk further to get to it, but the vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyTraveller24_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael A, Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write about your visit. Good to read that you and your friend enjoyed your time with us and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Our daughter was married here at the end of July and we all had a most memorable day which was perfect in every way.
We visited most quality venues in Cheshire before deciding on the Castle.It's original,different,and certainly not corporate,which some venues tend to feel like. Booking 18 months ahead is necessary,but the wedding team, expertly led by JoAnne in our case,organise and deliver everything you would want for a wedding.Nearly 100 guests really enjoyed the whole event.Tranquillity spa was fantastic from make up to opening early on the wedding day to accommodate all the bookings [thanks Vanessa,but all the team too].The Toastmaster was superb,the Duty Manager for the day [the DM ensures the day runs smoothly] was excellent in meeting all our requirements.The rooms for the wedding breakfast and evening entertainment were perfect and having a large bar area in a big bonus for those who may want to escape the music.The bedrooms were mainly a good size and comfortable.
Overall I would highly recommend this venue for a wedding or large private event.Well done to the Naylor family who own the Castle and ensure it meets customers requirements,especially given the huge problems following last year's fire [which means everything is new for us!].Visit the Castle and see for yourselves-I doubt you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank walker12000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael A, Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thank you for your fantastic review. It is great to read what a wonderful day was had by all and how the team contributed to making it so special. Jo-Anne is a reall asset to the team and I will be sure to share your review with her.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarporley
8.0 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa
12.6 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#2 of 9 in Crewe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Nunsmere Hall Hotel
Nunsmere Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oakmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
1.7 mi away
Wild Boar Hotel
Wild Boar Hotel
#3 of 5 in Tarporley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
8.9 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peckforton Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peckforton Castle

Property: Peckforton Castle
Address: Stone House Lane, Tarporley CW6 9TN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Tarporley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Tarporley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Peckforton Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Peckforton Castle - An enchanting Hotel in the heart of Cheshire. Rising majestically above the Cheshire landscape, the castle is both enigmatic and enchanting. Originally the home of Lord Tollemache and built in the early 19th Century, this Grade I listed building is the only intact medieval style Castle in the country. Over the years the castle has been the location for numerous movies including Robin Hood and Dr Who. Now owned by the Naylor family, the stunning exterior has been complemented by a loving and considered restoration programme resulting in a magnificent hotel and venue offering contemporary luxury and impeccable service. Services include 48 stunning individual guest rooms, conference, events, and wedding facilities for up to 180. Tranquility beauty, on site Falconry and team activities all adding up to a rather magical experience. Dining at the Castle truly is a special occasion, welcoming the public as well as hotel guests. The 1851 Restaurant offers a dining experience fit for royalty. Holder of 3 AA Rosettes and a Taste Cheshire Award. Alternatively the more informal and cosmopolitan 2010 Brasserie, located in the former scullery of the castle, features many of the amazing features of the original scullery including two cast iron cooking ranges dating back to the 1840's. Peckforton Castle's enchanting medieval style beauty and stunning location make it a truly impressive and desirable venue for weddings, christenings, birthday parties, or just about anything that's worth celebrating. Everything plays a part; the fabulous setting, stunning location, the attentive service and smiling faces, the bespoke menus and decorations. A magnificent venue for conferencing and meetings. Within the medieval walls, old and new combine seamlessly to offer state of the art multi media and conference facilities. Captivating on arrival, Peckforton Castle's unspoilt, natural beauty will stimulate and motivate, delight the eye, inspire the mind, tantalise the taste buds and leave you enchanted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Travelocity, HRS and LateRooms so you can book your Peckforton Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peckforton Castle Hotel Tarporley
Peckforton Castle Tarporley, Cheshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing