We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”
Review of Peckforton Castle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Peckforton Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Westhoughton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed April 14, 2011

My husband and I went for lunch on Mothers Day as originally booked with my mum but she was unable to go due to an injury. We also went for Mother's Day in 2010. I enjoyed the mussels for starters and the desert. Disappointed with the main meal. I had lamb last year and it was gorgeous and I thought I would have that again I did but it didn't melt in your mouth like last year plus the vegetables were almost raw. I like my vegetables to be well cooked especially carrots. The glass of bubbly we had was really nice. It is a very nice place and worth visiting.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kennethhopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review, April 15, 2011
Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which I have shared with our staff. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed most of your meal, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,130
    487
    249
    122
    113
See reviews for
321
1,242
11
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2011

We booked this dream castle for our Silver Wedding anniversary, and the experience was way beyond our wildest dreams. The grade 1 listed building has 21st century accomodation, very polite friendly and helpful staff. The food is of exceptional quality and standard, we would have no hesistation in recommending this castle, and we will definitley be returning in the near future.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Beeston room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abbeymoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review, April 8, 2011
Thank you for your kind words. We are so glad you enjoyed your time at the Castle and we look forward to seeing you again soon to exceed your expectations even more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2011

We enjoyed our break and the meals though the staff in the bar were not very welcoming and lacking in training. The meals in the evening were better than we anticipated and the Irish girl particularly helpful. The room was reasonable but noisy as the kitchen was above it. It was however good value for money .

Room Tip: It was near Chester
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julie5454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review, April 6, 2011
Thank you for your kind words. We are so glad you enjoyed your time at the Castle and we look forward to seeing you again soon to exceed your expectations even more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 30, 2011

Three of us stayed for a birthday treat in March 2011. We had an executive room - it was the nicest hotel room I have ever stayed in. The staff were helpful and nothing was too much trouble. I had booked for us all to have two beauty treatments in the Therapy Site, and the facials were to die for - very relaxing. The evning meal was absolutely perfect - the chef had made an extra special effort for me as i had requested a vegetarian option with no goats cheese, so he conjured up a delicious wild truffle linguine. The head of the restaurant was most helpful - an Irish girl - can't remember her name. She even remembered I needed vegetarian sausages for breakfast so had pre-ordered them for me.
I would recommend this hotel. The newly decorated executive rooms are the nicest, though.

Room Tip: Red letter days have some discount offers
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajlovett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review, April 6, 2011
Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which I have shared with our staff. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2011

My partner and I stayed one night for our anniversary, my first impression was that if you didn't have a suit on then you won't be treated the same. The room was basic and very noisy,we treated ourselves to dinner that night and had to wait for our dinner because as one of the waiters told us they had a larger party to cater for! I spoke with the head waiter who wasnt at all apologetic. We waited for nearly an hour for our main meal and as my partner was 5 months pregnant I wasn't very happy at all and went to see the duty manager. He didn't seem to know how to handle a complaint and his customer service skills left alot to be desired. My partners meal was delivered to the room but at this point she was in tears. I have sent an email of complaint but I dont think I will get a reply

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neely692000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review, March 30, 2011
Thank you for your feedback. We welcome all constructive criticism but am sorry to hear your visit wasn’t entirely satisfactory. Our Hotel Manager contacts all unhappy customers direct and will be in touch shortly. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Castle soon when we can demonstrate how we have improved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2011

Spent a night at the castle. Lovely location but shame about the room. Very noisy during the night - don't expect much sleep - and NO HOT WATER mid shower the next moring which meant breakfast was ruined and left with a chill and shampoo still in my hair. Receptionist seemed to think this was completely normal.Called about this afterwards when feeling better after the chill. Hotel manager could not be bothered to call me back about it despite the fact I had been told he would call then next day. When I finally tracked him down weeks later, he seemed to think that it was all OK as only certain rooms had this problem and they were gradually dealing with it. He had a very off hand attitude bordering on the rude. Also had the impression that staff on the Saturday eveing we were there were very young and inexperienced. For an expensive hotel felt they were economising on the staff which gave it quite a slipshod air.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kassioun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review, March 30, 2011
Thank you for your feedback. We welcome all constructive criticism but am sorry to hear your visit wasn’t entirely satisfactory. We ensure our Hotel Manager contacts all unhappy customers directly, the delay was due to a period of well earned annual leave. If you feel your complaints have still not been resolved please contact the Hotel Manager on 01829 260930 to ensure your feedback is reviewed thoroughly with all concerned and we can learn from our mistakes. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Castle soon when we can demonstrate how we have improved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2011

Stayed on the dinner,bed and breakfast offer of £135, first impressions of the hotel are stunning! The room was ok, however it didnt look like those on the website! The bathroom was old fasioned, but it was clean and so was the rest of the room. Just think the room/furnishings could be updated a bit. The dinner in the restaurant was gorgeous, just the right portion sizes and great service. The Brasserie was also very nice.

The room was quite noisy at night, think someone was emptying bottles into a bin!

Breakfast was lovely, however the yoghuts were passed their use by date. But these were changed quickly when brought to staffs attention.

I would definately return again!!!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dooney87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review, March 24, 2011
Thank you for your kind words. We are so glad you enjoyed your time at the Castle and we look forward to seeing you again soon to exceed your expectations even more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarporley
8.0 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
12.7 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#2 of 9 in Crewe
2,157 reviews
3.6 mi away
Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Swan Tarporley
The Swan Tarporley
#2 of 4 in Tarporley
481 reviews
5.4 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
3,613 reviews
7.6 mi away
Nunsmere Hall Hotel
Nunsmere Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oakmere
883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peckforton Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peckforton Castle

Property: Peckforton Castle
Address: Stone House Lane, Tarporley CW6 9TN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Tarporley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Tarporley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Peckforton Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Peckforton Castle - An enchanting Hotel in the heart of Cheshire. Rising majestically above the Cheshire landscape, the castle is both enigmatic and enchanting. Originally the home of Lord Tollemache and built in the early 19th Century, this Grade I listed building is the only intact medieval style Castle in the country. Over the years the castle has been the location for numerous movies including Robin Hood and Dr Who. Now owned by the Naylor family, the stunning exterior has been complemented by a loving and considered restoration programme resulting in a magnificent hotel and venue offering contemporary luxury and impeccable service. Services include 48 stunning individual guest rooms, conference, events, and wedding facilities for up to 180. Tranquility beauty, on site Falconry and team activities all adding up to a rather magical experience. Dining at the Castle truly is a special occasion, welcoming the public as well as hotel guests. The 1851 Restaurant offers a dining experience fit for royalty. Holder of 3 AA Rosettes and a Taste Cheshire Award. Alternatively the more informal and cosmopolitan 2010 Brasserie, located in the former scullery of the castle, features many of the amazing features of the original scullery including two cast iron cooking ranges dating back to the 1840's. Peckforton Castle's enchanting medieval style beauty and stunning location make it a truly impressive and desirable venue for weddings, christenings, birthday parties, or just about anything that's worth celebrating. Everything plays a part; the fabulous setting, stunning location, the attentive service and smiling faces, the bespoke menus and decorations. A magnificent venue for conferencing and meetings. Within the medieval walls, old and new combine seamlessly to offer state of the art multi media and conference facilities. Captivating on arrival, Peckforton Castle's unspoilt, natural beauty will stimulate and motivate, delight the eye, inspire the mind, tantalise the taste buds and leave you enchanted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, LateRooms, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Peckforton Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peckforton Castle Hotel Tarporley
Peckforton Castle Tarporley, Cheshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing