We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit let down”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Peckforton Castle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Peckforton Castle
Lancashire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A bit let down”
Reviewed March 18, 2011

The drive up to the imposing sight at the top is awesome and the birds of prey that greet you on arrival are again awesome but the rest of our night away just didn't live up to how it started.
I found the rooms to be very small and the bathroom sorry shower room, as there wasn't a bath, tiny. The rooms were also in need of a good dusting. No hangers in the wardrobes, which were full of dust - not nice. Double bed - small. The room was a good hike away from the "main areas", Bar, Restaraunt, Brasserie up an endless amount of stone stairs. I have some mobility problems and it was a real struggle to get around, especially up and down those stairs/steps.
We had booked DBB and we cannot fault the Table de Hote menu. The A La Carte carried a £5-00 supplement for one course and £12-00 for two. The food and service for dinner was exceptional. Breakfast was served buffet style and the hot foods were limited to Bacon, Sausage, Eggs etc. there were plenty of fruits and cereals to choosed from as well as fruit juices. The sausages were great btw!
This could have been soooo much better but little things let it down. It didn't distract from it being in a wonderful quiet peaceful location and I can imagine in Spring and Summer for it to be spectacular. A little more and it would be awesome.
Strangely a 4x4 adventure takes up what could be a useful and closer car park inside the walls of the castle, but guests' cars are kept outside of the walls, and although there is valet parking it seems a bit poor not to allow guests to park there.
We got a great deal for my wife and I as a treat after me being away working for 3 weeks.
I may drive the 40 odd miles to eat at the restaraunt again but not to stay, sadly.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marko1878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review, March 21, 2011
Thank you for your comments. We welcome all feedback as it helps us improve. Unfortunately due to being a Grade 1 Listed building there are not many alterations we can do to the stairs and layout of bedrooms. We have taken all your remarks on board, however, and hope to implement the changes necessary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,028 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,091
    465
    241
    119
    112
See reviews for
309
1,200
10
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (457)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2011

My bf and I stayed at Peckforton Castle from 13th to 15th March 2011, and had a thoroughly enjoyable stay. The hotel itself is magical, and the owners have clearly tried their best to combine modern luxury and comfort with an authentic castle experience.

I called a couple of days before arrival to confirm our stay and was offered a complimentary upgrade to an executive room. The room was stunning with a huge, and very comfy bed plus a gorgeous roll top bath (with sky light above!).

The staff generally couldnt do enough for us during the stay, they even sourced a couple of mountain bikes so that we could enjoy the surrounding area. Every staff member appeared happy to help, and nothing seemed too much trouble. In particular Heather on reception, and the Irish lady working in the 1851 restaurant were really pleasant.

We ate in both the 1851 restaurant and the brasserie, and felt that the portion sizes were a little on the small size in the brasserie (we expected small in the restaurant... it being fine dining!). The bar food was really tasty but I could probably have eaten double the amount.

I felt the a la carte menu in 1851 was a bit of a let-down, I had pork from the grill which sounded amazing on the menu - marinated in cider etc etc - but tasted like something I could have cooked myself. I also didnt get the amuse bouche as stated on the menu, whilst everyone else in at the same time did. I wondered if this was because my bf had order from the cheaper menu?! Our side order of buttered carrots and beans came without the beans, and the carrots didnt appear very buttery!! The liquid chocolate cake made up for the above, and since I eat out at a lot of good places it could be that I had set the bar too high given the stunning location...

Partner ate from the the cheaper menu, and his slow cooked chicken was really tasty, I ended up with food envy. I forget what he had for dessert, but it was pretty good too.

Breakfast on both days was fab. On our 1st day we went in pretty late, but fresh food was brought out. All the ingredients were good quality.

In all i would say there's room for improvement in the 1851 but I would highly recommend the castle as a romantic getaway, particularly during the week as we enjoyed the quiet and peaceful feel.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelRoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review, March 21, 2011
Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which I have shared with our staff. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2011

Booked this as an anniversary trip for me and my partner as seemed really romantic and unusual hotel. Asked for the Chester Zoo package as it said it included two tickets and after being initially quote £100, my confirmation letter then came through and said £80. The check in sheet also quoted £80, concurring with the confirmation sheet, so this is the price I then expected,on checkout however, it was £80 for the room and an extra £20 for the Chester Zoo tickets which I felt was a little underhand that this hadn't been put on the confirmation letter or even on the check in sheet.

On arrival, it really is a beautiful place and very striking, the hotel is nicely presented and the staff very friendly. The Birds of Prey are outside to see and there are lots of peacocks in the grounds which look fantastic.

I'm not a "carrot gel" or "frothy beef" kind of girl so decided not to eat in the 1851 restaurant, we ate in the brasserie which was really nice overall, although the caesar salad was more just lettuce in thick garlic mayonnaise which was a little disappointing. Comparable prices to any restaurant/pub though which was good.

The bedroom was not that impressive unfortunately, and as someone mentioned previously every floor board in and out the room creaks so you know when anyone is moving outside or inside the room! Granted though it is a very old place so this kind of thing should be expected. The toilet has one of those macerators which just ended up being worryingly noisy as if you run any water or drain the bath it continually sets it off! Not a relaxing bath in the end! The bed was really small, although this might be just of the perspective of two people around the 6 ft mark! Bed wasn't comfy and the linen was so bobbly it gave an indication to exactly how long it had been around.

Breakfast also was not what I expected, juice had run out, as had the glasses and some of the fruit, although it wasn't the greatest selection I had ever seen. The flowers on the table were also severely wilting which just gives a real uncared for appearance.

Overall, it is an interesting place to see, and very different, but as a hotel I felt it was sadly lacking in care and the small details that make these hotel experiences just that bit more special.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunny_Tigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review, March 16, 2011
Thank you for your comments. We welcome all feedback as it helps us improve. We have taken your remarks on board regarding your bedroom, linen and breakfast and hope to implement the changes necessary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2011

This is a review of one of the hotel's Medieval Banquet evenings, which I attended last night.

Maybe I was wrong in expeccting / hoping for an 'authentic' medieval experience - but rightly or wrongly I went anticipating serving wenches, madrigal musicians, meat carved from huge joints of meat over crackling fires, maybe some men in suits of armour, perhaps a little jousting.......... but to save others from confusion this is what you get:

1) pre dinner drinks in the wine cellar with one guy behind the bar resulting in lengthy waits to get served.
2) Cramped dormitory tables for the meal
3) Medieval background music on CD
4) Very very poor meal, served by waiting staff in normal modern dress, comprising pre plated vegetable soup followed by roast chicken & veg (Medieval pureed carrots?) and bread and butter pudding - no choice or medieval theming - amounting to a meal that could be bettered by any local carvery.
5) One single jester in a very tired jester outfit who was, to be honest, rubbish - examples of his act including catching grapes thrown by diners in his mouth and balancing long peacock feathers on his hand (wow). Unicycling was promised but I can't comment on that due to giving up and leaving before the end.

All in all a hugely disappointing evening and nowhere near worth the £40 per head charged.

AVOID

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mfokinth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review, March 18, 2011
Thank you for your feedback. We welcome all constructive criticism but am sorry to hear your visit wasn’t entirely satisfactory. Please contact the Hotel Manager on 01829 260930 to ensure your feedback is reviewed thoroughly with all concerned and we can learn from our mistakes. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Castle soon when we can demonstrate how we have improved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2011

We stayed for two nights in this fantastic castle 23rd-25th February, and we had the most fantastic time. We were after a relaxing break, and were accompanied by our 6 month old baby, and the hotel and restaurant could not be more accomodating.

The hotel is a beautiful castle, but with a modern feel, and certainly far warmer than you would expect for a stone building.

Service was excellent, we were thrilled when arriving at the hotel, they offered to pick our car up from the car park and drive it to reception, help unload and transport all the bags etc to our room, and then drive the car back to the car park. The only downside was that the room was located in the rear of the hotel, and up several flights of stairs, so not buggy friendly (although they were happy to look after the buggy at reception).

The restaurant (called 1851) is the jewel in the Hotel's crown, the two menu's are extremely good value (fixed price - £20/two course and £25/three course), and their A la carte menu/fine dining a snip at £30/two course and £37/three course. Wine was also very competitive, and we were ably assisted by the Restaurant manager who knew the wines and menu well, and offered informed suggestions as to the best wine. We tried both menu's, and thoroughly enjoyed them both, the fixed price featured tasty meals and good portions (especially the pork cutlet), and the a la carte featured smaller but ultimately tastier fayre.

We had a good look round the castle, and were very impressed as a wedding venue, the great hall hosting weddings on both days, and each had an individual look and feel.

Rooms were large, with very high ceilings, and great views. Bathroom was clean and functional. Bed was comfortable, but was made from two individual halves, so you could feel where they were joined together. The rooms were also very warm, with the main heat coming from a wall mounted electric heater, as the main stone fireplace was only for decoration. Tea and coffee (and importantly a decent kettle for bottle making) were supplied. What more could you want?

Breakfast was excellent, but they do warn of quiet/busy times with a traffic light system (in reception), where we sat down immediately at 8.30am, but the next day at 9.30, we had to wait for 10 minutes to be seated.

As a venue, this would suit a romantic getaway, or as a family getaway (all the kids looked thrilled to be in a castle, some had their own swords). Truly magical. Thoroughly recommended.

One final note, this venue is currently listed on Red Letter Days as a two night boutique stay in Peckforton Castle for £290, and is currently on sale at 30% off, we paid £192 for two nights, which is fantastic value.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel_Munns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review, March 9, 2011
Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which I have shared with our staff. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 27, 2011

The setting was great the staff were very helpful and accomodating with two very busy young boys. The room was comfortable we were located on the ground floor so location for access to the rest of the hotel was very good.
we stopped two nights and ate in the 1851 restaurant first night food, was good and a good choice kids menu. Only one small niggle was service was a little slow and forgetfull at times.
second night we ate in the Brassier again food and choice was good, service was excellent.

There was a wedding on the second night but you wouldn't have known, we experienced no noise and only new it was going on when we saw some guests poising for pictures.

We will go back it is great location for Cheter zoo and other attractions

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carl58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review, March 9, 2011
Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which I have shared with our staff. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wrexham, north wales
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2011

We went to a wedding reception in december 2010 at the castle. I was very excited to go as i'd heard fantastic reviews from friends and work colleagues.
The drive up to the castle was impressive with wonderful views. The downstairs interior didn't let us down either, it was beautiful.
After checking in we went up to our room to unpack. The room was such a let down and the pokey bathroom was very basic i'd say the room and bathroom would be more of a 3 star standard than 5 star. I stay in a lot of hotels as i work as cabin crew so i know what to expect and i felt let down.
The wedding breakfast was lovely, we found the service friendly and the quality of the food to be of a high standard considering they were catering on a large scale.
We went back to our room to freshen up, we had left the storage heater on in our room since we'd left but the room still had a chill, now i understand it would be hard heating a castle but our room was quite small. The worse part was having a shower, the water would go from scolding hot to freezing cold and it was a case of jumping in and out of the shower, again not what you would expect for the price we paid for the room.
Breakfast the following morning was lovely, with excellent quality ingredients and again the service was good. Check out was easy enough too and the concierge brought our car to outside the reception.
It really depends on what you think is important to how you rate this hotel, the setting, public areas, food and service were fantastic, but i enjoy spending time in my room, which sadly didn't live up to my expectations, thank god we had got a wedding to keep us busy and out of our room for our stay. Reading the reviews it does sound like its pot luck on what sort of room you get and i would stay again as long as we had one of the updated rooms.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jolovesholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review, March 9, 2011
Thank you for your comments. We welcome all feedback as it helps us improve. We have taken your remarks on board and hope to implement the changes necessary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarporley
8.0 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa
12.7 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#2 of 9 in Crewe
2,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Nunsmere Hall Hotel
Nunsmere Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oakmere
840 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Swan Tarporley
The Swan Tarporley
#2 of 4 in Tarporley
462 reviews
8.9 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peckforton Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peckforton Castle

Property: Peckforton Castle
Address: Stone House Lane, Tarporley CW6 9TN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Tarporley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Tarporley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Peckforton Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Peckforton Castle - An enchanting Hotel in the heart of Cheshire. Rising majestically above the Cheshire landscape, the castle is both enigmatic and enchanting. Originally the home of Lord Tollemache and built in the early 19th Century, this Grade I listed building is the only intact medieval style Castle in the country. Over the years the castle has been the location for numerous movies including Robin Hood and Dr Who. Now owned by the Naylor family, the stunning exterior has been complemented by a loving and considered restoration programme resulting in a magnificent hotel and venue offering contemporary luxury and impeccable service. Services include 48 stunning individual guest rooms, conference, events, and wedding facilities for up to 180. Tranquility beauty, on site Falconry and team activities all adding up to a rather magical experience. Dining at the Castle truly is a special occasion, welcoming the public as well as hotel guests. The 1851 Restaurant offers a dining experience fit for royalty. Holder of 3 AA Rosettes and a Taste Cheshire Award. Alternatively the more informal and cosmopolitan 2010 Brasserie, located in the former scullery of the castle, features many of the amazing features of the original scullery including two cast iron cooking ranges dating back to the 1840's. Peckforton Castle's enchanting medieval style beauty and stunning location make it a truly impressive and desirable venue for weddings, christenings, birthday parties, or just about anything that's worth celebrating. Everything plays a part; the fabulous setting, stunning location, the attentive service and smiling faces, the bespoke menus and decorations. A magnificent venue for conferencing and meetings. Within the medieval walls, old and new combine seamlessly to offer state of the art multi media and conference facilities. Captivating on arrival, Peckforton Castle's unspoilt, natural beauty will stimulate and motivate, delight the eye, inspire the mind, tantalise the taste buds and leave you enchanted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Cheap Tickets, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peckforton Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peckforton Castle Hotel Tarporley
Peckforton Castle Tarporley, Cheshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing