We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (595)
Filter reviews
595 results
Traveler rating
326
176
48
29
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
326
176
48
29
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hunt room high street bath salts stable block old coaching inn lovely village church bells coach house fish and chips sunday lunch yorkshire pudding roast beef oulton park beer garden one night stay four poster road noise
Filter
Updating list...
589 - 594 of 595 reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2009

My husband was racing at Oulton Park so we stayed here with our 10 month old son. I cannot praise the staff and the place enough and would definitely stay here again. We stayed for 2 nights but could only have the bigger suite room (for the travel cot) on the first night as they were fully booked. Sue, who booked the room was brilliant and made sure that all of our stuff was moved into the standard room for us whilst we were out. The standard room was lovely but a bit of a squeeze for 3 of us. The only downside was that this room was at the back of the pub so we were a bit disturbed with people getting into their cars in the car park at the end of the night.
Breakfast was included and it was gorgeous with really attentive staff and plenty of newspapers. We also ate in the restaurant in the evening and all I can say is WOW - the food was fantastic. I had to send my steak back as it was still a bit pink for me but instead of getting back my original reheated meal I was given a brand new meal with a now perfect steak. Now that's what I call service.
All of the staff, without fail, were amazing - really chatty and friendly and they quite simply couldn't do enough for us...
We had a fantastic stay and I wouldn't stay anywhere else if I was in the area

Date of stay: July 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QueenBeeLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2009

We called in at the Swan at around 4p.m. on a Sunday afternoon and were pleasently surprised at how many people were having an al freco meal in the pleasent beer garden; we just wanted a quick drink and were served with courtesy and speed..when we are next in the area we might just stay a night or two......... Paul & Jaki

Date of stay: April 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yorkshiremouse_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2009

We used the hotel as a one night base to visit Chester and the surorundings while en route from Cambridge to the Lakes. We were very pleasantly surprised by the hotel and the village. The rooms was very comfortable and attractive. In the evening, the hotel and its pub were bustling with local diners.

The hotel is situated on the main street of an attractive and lively village. It is about 20 minutes from Chester and is surrounded by prettty countryside and great rural pubs.

We understood from the General Manager that there is a new owner/manager team at the hotel. These guys deserve to succeed.

Date of stay: March 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tonyCambridge_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2009

We stayed at The Swan en-route to The Lakes after speaking to some friends in the area.

Service (including check-in) was all through the bar but we were welcomed straight away and offered a drink before being shown to our room. Rooms are clean and simple but cozy with en-suite bathrooms and wifi if you need that sort of thing. Dinner was well executed high-end traditional pub food. My husband had a scotch egg on recommendation, which he said was great (much better than it sounds and according to him definitely the best bit his stay) and a fish pie, all washed down with a pint with a handle on (seventh heaven for him). I went for an open sandwich as a vegetarian option, which was very good too.

I wouldn't normally write a review but I believe that the place is under new management as of a couple of weeks ago. Good luck to them and congratulations on a simple but very good offering. It goes to show that you can't believe everything in the press as it looks like they will make a goer of this place despite all the doom and gloom.

Date of stay: February 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tess32London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2018
Google Translation

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews