We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Child unfriendly”
Review of The Swan Tarporley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Swan Tarporley
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tarporley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 31, 2009

We were really unpleasantly surprised by our visit to the Swan. Having read the good reviews we travelled there looking forward to a nice lunch. On arrival we were a bit put off by the number of flies in the first room, so went to the small room behind the bar. Whilst being served our drinks and looking at the menus we were asked to move from the bar area to the room with numerous flies because we had children with us. The bar staff had not mentioned this when taking our drinks order, the request was made by the owner in a rude and abrupt way. Our children are beautifully behaved and were sitting quietly at the table looking at menus when the owner came over. We have eaten meals with them in numerous (and far, far better!) restuarants. So we drank our drinks and left to eat elsewhere where our children would be welcome. We'd suggest that the Swan make it clear that they don't welcome children at any time (no children's menu) and sort out the fly problem! Hardly the "heart of Tarporley"!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SurreyFamily22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaltonandbarlow, Owner at The Swan Tarporley, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2009

Thank-you for your review and comments , i am one of the owners and was on holiday during your visit.

I am deeply distressed at your comments and following an investigation can only apologize for the way the situation was handled.

We welcome children of all ages, we have a children's policy that for their safety and security keeps them away from the bars and entrances - this has the children's best interests at heart. We have no children's menu because the staff are trained to offer all kids ' Whatever they would like - made fresh to order' . With young children ourself we are passionate about giving kids free choice and healthy fresh food.

The August humidity and open windows may have created a fly problem the day you visited - for this i also apologize.

Please email - info@theswantarporley.co.uk FAO SK and i will do my best to remedy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (492)
There are newer reviews for The Swan Tarporley
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

488 - 492 of 492 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2009

My husband was racing at Oulton Park so we stayed here with our 10 month old son. I cannot praise the staff and the place enough and would definitely stay here again. We stayed for 2 nights but could only have the bigger suite room (for the travel cot) on the first night as they were fully booked. Sue, who booked the room was brilliant and made sure that all of our stuff was moved into the standard room for us whilst we were out. The standard room was lovely but a bit of a squeeze for 3 of us. The only downside was that this room was at the back of the pub so we were a bit disturbed with people getting into their cars in the car park at the end of the night.
Breakfast was included and it was gorgeous with really attentive staff and plenty of newspapers. We also ate in the restaurant in the evening and all I can say is WOW - the food was fantastic. I had to send my steak back as it was still a bit pink for me but instead of getting back my original reheated meal I was given a brand new meal with a now perfect steak. Now that's what I call service.
All of the staff, without fail, were amazing - really chatty and friendly and they quite simply couldn't do enough for us...
We had a fantastic stay and I wouldn't stay anywhere else if I was in the area

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QueenBeeLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2009

We called in at the Swan at around 4p.m. on a Sunday afternoon and were pleasently surprised at how many people were having an al freco meal in the pleasent beer garden; we just wanted a quick drink and were served with courtesy and speed..when we are next in the area we might just stay a night or two......... Paul & Jaki

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yorkshiremouse_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2009

We used the hotel as a one night base to visit Chester and the surorundings while en route from Cambridge to the Lakes. We were very pleasantly surprised by the hotel and the village. The rooms was very comfortable and attractive. In the evening, the hotel and its pub were bustling with local diners.

The hotel is situated on the main street of an attractive and lively village. It is about 20 minutes from Chester and is surrounded by prettty countryside and great rural pubs.

We understood from the General Manager that there is a new owner/manager team at the hotel. These guys deserve to succeed.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tonyCambridge_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2009

We stayed at The Swan en-route to The Lakes after speaking to some friends in the area.

Service (including check-in) was all through the bar but we were welcomed straight away and offered a drink before being shown to our room. Rooms are clean and simple but cozy with en-suite bathrooms and wifi if you need that sort of thing. Dinner was well executed high-end traditional pub food. My husband had a scotch egg on recommendation, which he said was great (much better than it sounds and according to him definitely the best bit his stay) and a fish pie, all washed down with a pint with a handle on (seventh heaven for him). I went for an open sandwich as a vegetarian option, which was very good too.

I wouldn't normally write a review but I believe that the place is under new management as of a couple of weeks ago. Good luck to them and congratulations on a simple but very good offering. It goes to show that you can't believe everything in the press as it looks like they will make a goer of this place despite all the doom and gloom.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tess32London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarporley
0.6 mi away
Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa
2.5 mi away
Willington Hall Hotel
Willington Hall Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarporley
353 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelsall
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
3,899 reviews
7.8 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
4.5 mi away
Nunsmere Hall Hotel
Nunsmere Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oakmere
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan Tarporley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Tarporley

Address: 50 High Street, Tarporley CW6 0AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Tarporley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tarporley
Price Range: $84 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Swan Tarporley 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 16th century Swan has been welcoming guests through its doors for over 400 years, and was once a convenient resting place for those travelling the 200 miles from London to Chester. Today, our comfortable rooms and welcoming bar and dining areas mean that The Swan continues to be a haven for visitors from far and wide. A regular winner of the Best Kept Village award, Tarporley appears in the Domesday Book of 1086. Back then, Tarporley was home to just eight households, but today is one of the largest villages in the heart of the Cheshire countryside, with antique, curio, craft and fashion shops lining its streets. Some of The Swan’s most historic features are located in its Hunt Room, home to the Tarporley Hunt Club. Founded in 1762, it is the oldest in England. The club historically met twice annually at The Swan, with each meeting lasting seven days and the hunting taking place largely within the nearby Delamere Forest. In the founding set of rules, members were required to drink “three collar bumpers” after both dinner and supper, and, in the event of marriage, to present each club member with a pair of buckskin breeches. The Tarporley Hunt Club still meet once a year today, a quarter of a millennium after Obidiah Lane went hare coarsing with his chums and decided, after much merriment at the Swan, this should happen every year; “We shall meet for the purposes of general conviviality” he declared! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Swan Tarporley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan Tarporley Hotel Tarporley
Swan Hotel Tarporley
The Swan Tarporley Cheshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing