We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tarporley Vacation”
Review of The Swan Tarporley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Swan Tarporley
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tarporley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 29, 2013

My daughter and son-in-law had their wedding reception there. The staff were very attentive and accommodating. The food for the Wedding and in their Pubs is excellent. The staff goes
above to make their guests feel at home.
Love the Swan; will stay there again my next trip to England.

Room Tip: Had a Triple Room overlooking High Street - huge room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (498)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

332 - 338 of 498 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

Had a fantastic Sunday night at the swan ... Fantastic , food , service and hospitality ... And log fires .. What more could you want ! From the moment we arrived to the time we left the staff were most helpfull . As we had travelled a long way when we had arrived we had a drink and the pork pie bar snack .. Excellent , for our evening meal we had the turkey roast this again was superb . After a good nights sleep it was time for breakfast and what a breakfast it was.. Again excellent !! All in all a fantastic stay . Will come again !!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Gazzagolfball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I recently visited The Swan with a couple of clients for dinner. The atmosphere was relaxed and the waitress extremely pleasant without being too fussy. A good balance.

The food was great value, good sized portions and very we'll presented.

Overall a great please to eat with friendly staff and good food.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jester124566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We had a lovely overnight stay at the Swan. Room was lovely and the welcome by the staff was great. As a CAMRA member for many years it was great to see a good range of cask ales, all served perfectly.

There was a lovely, friendly atmosphere in the pub and your staff clearly make a great effort to make everyone welcome and feel at home. We ate at the Swan and it was getting towards the end of service and my wife's meal was excellent with a prawn cocktail starter and the fish for her main which was very tasty. My only gripe, and from a personal taste point of view, was the belly pork that I ordered, I felt was a little overcooked for my taste and could have done with a bit more jus. The garlic bread as a starter was very tasty.

This, however, should not detract from what was a lovely break for us and offered great customer service and excellent value for money. We will be returning to the Swan and recommending it to our friends.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonyMcKinnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

Went to the swan for the first time yesterday for lunch. Both my friend and I had the burger which was very juicy and flavoursome. The chefs own sauce that come with it was different but not bad. My little boy had the cheese and bacon linguini which he seemed to love and ate it all. It's a quite a worn looking pub with all mixed up chair and tables but I think that adds to the experience. Overall will probably go again if in the area

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank birdsong978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Just had one night there but we really enjoyed it.
The rooms have got there own doors from outside, so noone stroling past your door. The bed was really compfy and i didnt want to get up in the morning. Really nice cosy rooms. Only the light is not really that good if you want to put make up on, but it somehow worked.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julie9383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Visited the Restaurant for Sunday Lunch with my Wife and two of my grown up Children on the recommendation of one of them who had previously dined here. Two of us ordered the Beef which according to the Menu was served pink unless otherwise requested, and we made no additional request, what arrived was 3 slices of dried and curled up at the edges meat that had obviously been kept under the heat for hours before, and the vegetables weren't much better.. My
Wife who had ordered Pork was given 4 slices of meat one of which was essentially White Fat and the remaining pieces so tough as to render them uneatable....suffice to say the Dogs enjoyed the meat on our return home. The puddings were expensive when one considered the size offered, the Lemon Tart was accompanied with the smallest portion of clotted cream I have ever been served.
Does the Swan run-out of eatable food mid afternoon ?

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank abadair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarporley
0.6 mi away
Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa
2.5 mi away
Willington Hall Hotel
Willington Hall Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarporley
356 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelsall
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
4.5 mi away
Nunsmere Hall Hotel
Nunsmere Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oakmere
897 reviews
8.2 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
4,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan Tarporley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Tarporley

Address: 50 High Street, Tarporley CW6 0AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Tarporley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tarporley
Price Range: $80 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Swan Tarporley 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 16th century Swan has been welcoming guests through its doors for over 400 years, and was once a convenient resting place for those travelling the 200 miles from London to Chester. Today, our comfortable rooms and welcoming bar and dining areas mean that The Swan continues to be a haven for visitors from far and wide. A regular winner of the Best Kept Village award, Tarporley appears in the Domesday Book of 1086. Back then, Tarporley was home to just eight households, but today is one of the largest villages in the heart of the Cheshire countryside, with antique, curio, craft and fashion shops lining its streets. Some of The Swan’s most historic features are located in its Hunt Room, home to the Tarporley Hunt Club. Founded in 1762, it is the oldest in England. The club historically met twice annually at The Swan, with each meeting lasting seven days and the hunting taking place largely within the nearby Delamere Forest. In the founding set of rules, members were required to drink “three collar bumpers” after both dinner and supper, and, in the event of marriage, to present each club member with a pair of buckskin breeches. The Tarporley Hunt Club still meet once a year today, a quarter of a millennium after Obidiah Lane went hare coarsing with his chums and decided, after much merriment at the Swan, this should happen every year; “We shall meet for the purposes of general conviviality” he declared! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Swan Tarporley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan Tarporley Hotel Tarporley
Swan Hotel Tarporley
The Swan Tarporley Cheshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing