We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Tarporley Vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Swan Tarporley

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Swan Tarporley
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Tarporley
Certificate of Excellence
florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tarporley Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

My daughter and son-in-law had their wedding reception there. The staff were very attentive and accommodating. The food for the Wedding and in their Pubs is excellent. The staff goes
above to make their guests feel at home.
Love the Swan; will stay there again my next trip to England.

Room Tip: Had a Triple Room overlooking High Street - huge room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    136
    21
    15
    6
See reviews for
61
172
18
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

Had a fantastic Sunday night at the swan ... Fantastic , food , service and hospitality ... And log fires .. What more could you want ! From the moment we arrived to the time we left the staff were most helpfull . As we had travelled a long way when we had arrived we had a drink and the pork pie bar snack .. Excellent , for our evening meal we had the turkey roast this again was superb . After a good nights sleep it was time for breakfast and what a breakfast it was.. Again excellent !! All in all a fantastic stay . Will come again !!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gazzagolfball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I recently visited The Swan with a couple of clients for dinner. The atmosphere was relaxed and the waitress extremely pleasant without being too fussy. A good balance.

The food was great value, good sized portions and very we'll presented.

Overall a great please to eat with friendly staff and good food.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jester124566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We had a lovely overnight stay at the Swan. Room was lovely and the welcome by the staff was great. As a CAMRA member for many years it was great to see a good range of cask ales, all served perfectly.

There was a lovely, friendly atmosphere in the pub and your staff clearly make a great effort to make everyone welcome and feel at home. We ate at the Swan and it was getting towards the end of service and my wife's meal was excellent with a prawn cocktail starter and the fish for her main which was very tasty. My only gripe, and from a personal taste point of view, was the belly pork that I ordered, I felt was a little overcooked for my taste and could have done with a bit more jus. The garlic bread as a starter was very tasty.

This, however, should not detract from what was a lovely break for us and offered great customer service and excellent value for money. We will be returning to the Swan and recommending it to our friends.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyMcKinnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

Went to the swan for the first time yesterday for lunch. Both my friend and I had the burger which was very juicy and flavoursome. The chefs own sauce that come with it was different but not bad. My little boy had the cheese and bacon linguini which he seemed to love and ate it all. It's a quite a worn looking pub with all mixed up chair and tables but I think that adds to the experience. Overall will probably go again if in the area

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank birdsong978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herford, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Just had one night there but we really enjoyed it.
The rooms have got there own doors from outside, so noone stroling past your door. The bed was really compfy and i didnt want to get up in the morning. Really nice cosy rooms. Only the light is not really that good if you want to put make up on, but it somehow worked.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julie9383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarporley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Visited the Restaurant for Sunday Lunch with my Wife and two of my grown up Children on the recommendation of one of them who had previously dined here. Two of us ordered the Beef which according to the Menu was served pink unless otherwise requested, and we made no additional request, what arrived was 3 slices of dried and curled up at the edges meat that had obviously been kept under the heat for hours before, and the vegetables weren't much better.. My
Wife who had ordered Pork was given 4 slices of meat one of which was essentially White Fat and the remaining pieces so tough as to render them uneatable....suffice to say the Dogs enjoyed the meat on our return home. The puddings were expensive when one considered the size offered, the Lemon Tart was accompanied with the smallest portion of clotted cream I have ever been served.
Does the Swan run-out of eatable food mid afternoon ?

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank abadair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarporley
2.6 mi away
Willington Hall Hotel
Willington Hall Hotel
#2 of 5 in Tarporley
4.5 of 5 stars 285 reviews
0.6 mi away
Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa
2.2 mi away
Wild Boar Hotel
Wild Boar Hotel
#3 of 5 in Tarporley
4.0 of 5 stars 1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelsall
4.5 of 5 stars 265 reviews
4.6 mi away
Nunsmere Hall Hotel
Nunsmere Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oakmere
4.5 of 5 stars 709 reviews
7.8 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan Tarporley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Tarporley

Property: The Swan Tarporley
Address: 50 High Street, Tarporley CW6 0AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Tarporley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Tarporley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Swan Tarporley 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Swan Tarporley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan Tarporley Hotel Tarporley
Swan Hotel Tarporley
The Swan Tarporley Cheshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing