We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great meal” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Swan Tarporley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Swan Tarporley
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Tarporley
Certificate of Excellence
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Nice meal at The Swan - I had chicken, ham and leek pie and my partner opted for roasted belly pork with smoked bacon mash. Both meals were generous portions - piping hot and served quickly. Very tasty food in a lovely pub in a very nice village.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank moreoatcakesplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    148
    29
    17
    7
See reviews for
70
197
21
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

My wife and I recently cycled from Lands End to John o'Groats, taking in many of the most beautiful parts of our Hallowed Isle. Part of the adventure was carrying all of our little necessities on the bikes and camping on our way. Dear reader, you may take it as read that at some stage one comes to require at least some of the home comforts...
We reached Tarporley fairly late in the day without an idea where we would be laying our weary heads and asked directions in a local shop to a camp-site, to be given a shrug by a young man who neither knew nor cared about whether we found somewhere to stay or not. This was when a delightful lady tapped me on the shoulder and suggested that she might be able to help: the help was the offer of the internet to look up the local "field with a toilet if we were lucky". In a blinding flash of inspiration, I said that: no, we will stay in a hotel for the night. "upper or lower end of the market?" In a mad moment, I said "In for a penny,... the best in the area". Bless her cotton socks, the good lady sent us to the Swan.
Surprisingly, when I walked in, somewhat grubby from a day in the saddle, in my lycra, not an eye was batted. We were invited in and shown a delightful room, our bikes were taken and locked up in the boiler room and we retired for a hot shower, which was followed by a soak in a bath - well, it was quite necessary! When we came down stairs the manager asked a few questions about our trip, followed by the question "How do you handle washing your clothes en-route?" When I told him that this indeed caused us a problem, he sent someone to our room to collect our belongings, which were returned the next morning in far better state than had been in evidence for many days.
We then went into the bar prior to eating and found delightful staff and customers who were immediately welcoming in the best English pub fashion. Our evening meal was first rate, the bed was comfortable, staff without exception were top quality and genuinely friendly.
In order that this report is taken seriously I feel that there should be a 'pity about the ...' but there wasn't.
This visit has left a lasting - and very special - memory in a long and equally memorable trip.
We hope that everyone who follows us to The Swan receives the same treatment.
And I've found their web address: http://www.theswantarporley.co.uk/

Room Tip: The street side of the hotel was quieter, but the best rooms face the street. We had one of these an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShaneR297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

I have stayed overnight at the Swan many times recently due to working in the area. The staff are always really helpful and the rooms particularly those in the Coachhouse are of a high standard. The beds & pillows are extremely comfortable and ensure a good nights rest. Tarporley itself is a lovely village and there is a direct bus into Chester. Breakfast is pleasant with a good choice.

Overall I would definitely recommend a stay at the Swan.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank red_striker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

This is a lovely country inn, with a very warm welcome. We stayed in one of the converted outbuildings, which was really nice, the bathroom was gorgeous in particular, and the beds so comfy.
Food delicious. Try the belly pork, its delish. The breakfast was perfect!

Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank penky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

On arrival the welcome at the Swan was excellent. The staff gave a tremendous service and are a credit to the management. Breakfast in the morning was very good and the speed it was brought out helped a lot. The rooms are comfortable and we will definately use the hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UnluckyLeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed at The Swan for 1 night as we were attending a wedding at nearby Peckforton Castle. The inn itself is lovely with lots of character. The food was high quality- we enjoyed sunday lunch and full english breakfast. There is a good range of beers,wine and champagne for special occasions. The service was excellent. We stayed in a room in the stable block near the carpark. The room was small but very clean and adequately furnished. The shower was good and there were nice big fluffy towels. Our main critisism was that it was very noisy early in the morning and there was an irritatingly bright fire exit light by the bedroom door. I would have expected a bit more for the price and the 4* rating but the ambiance of the inn and the excellent service by the staff more than made up for it.

Room Tip: The rooms in the main bulding may be a better choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

We booked the 4 poster room midweek for 2 nights. I agree with some previous customers that complimentary buscuits and water should be included but aren't. Paying for the room on arrival before even seeing it isn't a good start either. Room was basically clean with comfortable bed, shower was weak and radiator noisy. We ate here both nights, chicken and leek pie excellent, steak dissapointing- very fatty quite tough and pretty tasteless, not good for the £18 and took a long time to arrive . Chicken and chorizo excellent, large chips properly cooked, wine list OK for a gastro pub. Breakfast on Thurs morning (which is served between 7am and 11am) we sat down at 10.15 and waited nearly 20 mins before I had to approach a member of staff behind the bar to ask what we were supposed to do to order, when it did arrive the full english was very good despite the 1 small rasher of bacon, 2 sausages and 2 eggs etc with mushrooms beans and toast. Kippers were fesh and very good, tea and coffee very good. For a mid week in April the place was very busy pretty much all of the time, the size of the rooms and number of rooms is good as there was always somewhere to sit, overall a good experience I would give 4 stars,just.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lennonized
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarporley
2.6 mi away
Willington Hall Hotel
Willington Hall Hotel
#2 of 5 in Tarporley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
2.2 mi away
Wild Boar Hotel
Wild Boar Hotel
#3 of 5 in Tarporley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
0.6 mi away
Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelsall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
7.8 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
4.5 mi away
Nunsmere Hall Hotel
Nunsmere Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oakmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan Tarporley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Tarporley

Property: The Swan Tarporley
Address: 50 High Street, Tarporley CW6 0AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Tarporley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Tarporley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Swan Tarporley 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Swan Tarporley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan Tarporley Hotel Tarporley
Swan Hotel Tarporley
The Swan Tarporley Cheshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing