We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyable Food”
Review of The Swan Tarporley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Swan Tarporley
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tarporley
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Really enjoyable Food”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We have eaten at the Swan for the last few months after a walk around Cheshire, it has been really enjoyable; Their menu is interesting and different, I am also happy to have the option of paying for a large or medium sized portion of food,
This restaurant is forward thinking. Tarporley is situated in a traditional part of Cheshire and if you go try and sit in the bar next to the roaring log fire.
Thank you to the Chef and staff from the Fozard family.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linda f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    152
    33
    20
    9
See reviews for
76
210
23
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tarporley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

I often have business meetings in Tarporley and The Swan is the ideal place to meet and share coffee in a quiet alcove. Good coffee, service and price - and their own car park. Other places in town may be more child friendly, or street placed, but this is best for comfortable civilised chat.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

If you have ever wondered what an upper-middle-class small town looks like, then wonder no more. It's Tarporley. In fact, it's so upper-middle that there seems to be a bin collection every morning.

Anyway, if you want to see it for yourself then The Swan is the place to stay. It's an old coaching inn (you can almost hear the clippety-clop of horses' feet) and these days has lots of well-heeled people - probably called Gerard - leaning on the bar trying to buy one another drinks so they don't look poor.

However, that might make it sound stuffy and unfriendly. It isn't. The staff are tip top (though the most lovely by far was the lady doing the cleaning as we went to breakfast each morning)

We stayed in the converted stables out the back. And jolly nice they were too. Perhaps my only grumble would be that the room was so staggeringly hot, courtesy of central heating, that Amazonian tree frogs would have been banging their heads on the door trying to get out for a breather. That said, it's probably my fault as I could probably have turned the radiator down. Anyway, rather them than me paying the oil bill - it must be stratospheric.

Would I stay there again? Yes indeedy. And I'm probably going to have to for reasons far too detailed to go into here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank absenteethoughtlord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

I stayed at the Swan for one night whilst visiting a relative in the local cottage hospital. The Swan is on the main street and convenient for the hospital.. only a five minute walk away.
The room, a single, was comfortable and had everything I needed...though the kettle didn't work and the fault appeared to be in the socket.. I was offered another room, but it wasn't as nice and I decided not to move.
The bathroom was bright and clean with bath and shower.
The only real complaint I have to make is the lack of a reading lamp, or at least some decent light in the room. I had brought some work with me, and though there was a table for my computer, the light was too poor to work there. Apart from the bed there was nowhere I could sit with enough light to read, and even there it wasn't great.

Room Tip: My room was in the front, above the front door and lit from the outside with an orange flood lamp un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tighcasla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed at the Swan for 3 nights over the Christmas holidays 2012. The staff led by Silviu and Bianca, in the height of their busiest season, could not have been more courteous, friendly or efficient.(And we have travelled the World on business and pleasure and visited many hotels). The room (The Daresbury No.5) was comfortable with excellent maid service. Breakfast was well served with good choices and we had dinner in the lovely Hunt Room which was a wonderful experience. The headwaiter(Glyn) tho' informal, was efficient and knowledgeable. The hotel is in a lovely village and does excellent trade and is always well attended over the Christmas period. We were visiting my wife's very elderly parents in a village10 miles away when we found our hire car had a puncture on Christmas morning prior to our departure and whilst waiting for the RAC to come, Phil a temporary undergraduate employee tried to help us inflate the tyre with the kit in the hire car, since there was no spare wheel! The RAC man couldn't find a spare tyre on Christmas Day but drove us to my wife's parents. Another great kindness. After my wife had cooked her parents their Christmas Dinner, we needed to get back to the hotel. Silviu in his rest period drove the 10 miles to pick us up and return us to the hotel and would not accept a tip. Silviu and Bianca run the hotel beautifully and calmly and must be a godsend to the owners!. Thank you both and your team. A&R p.s.we travelled back to London for 7 hours in the RAC tow truck but even this didn't spoil our good memories of our stay'. A&R

Room Tip: We stayed in 5 - large and comfortable. Good TV.Bit noisy but it was Christmas. Could perhaps do wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rose L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

I think Swan is the best hotel in Tarporley, The rooms were very comfortable and warm. The only problem was the amount of light in the room. The room was not well illuminated, infact the bathroom was much brighter than the whole room. Swan is located on the highstreet and thus it makes itself well connected.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sumit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 9, 2012

The staff are so so so fab! They can't do enough for you, they brought our dinner to our room. Brought us an iron when my other half was in need, offered us the room for longer in the morning at no extra charge because I was feeling poorly. They ran around for us at every opportunity I just can't thank them enough. Check in was quick, check out was quick. And the room was stunning!! I didn't want to leave it, I had a beautiful bath whilst listening to some music on the telly, my other half never left the bed because it was just so comfy. We're already planning our next visit!!!

In short, the staff, the food, the room and the hotel is all amazing and leaves a nice lasting memory of our visit! See you soon guys! X

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeeAndDarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarporley
2.5 mi away
Willington Hall Hotel
Willington Hall Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarporley
344 reviews
0.6 mi away
Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa
4.0 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelsall
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
4.5 mi away
Nunsmere Hall Hotel
Nunsmere Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oakmere
871 reviews
6.7 mi away
Rowton Hall Hotel
Rowton Hall Hotel
#5 of 44 in Chester
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan Tarporley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Tarporley

Property: The Swan Tarporley
Address: 50 High Street, Tarporley CW6 0AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Tarporley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tarporley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Swan Tarporley 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Swan Tarporley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan Tarporley Hotel Tarporley
Swan Hotel Tarporley
The Swan Tarporley Cheshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing