We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peacefull Break”
Review of The Swan Tarporley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Swan Tarporley
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Tarporley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed at The Swan Friday and Saturday night at the end of June aiming for a well deserved quiet peaceful break.
To be honest we had no idea what to expect.
We arrived about lunch time on the Friday and parked our car in the private car park situated at the rear of the hotel. Upon checking in we were very impressed with the friendly helpful staff who showed us up to our room and even offered to carry our baggage (we declined that offer, because to be honest...we are still both young and able enough to carry our own cases).
Our room was sittuated on the top floor....only three floors. The room was beautiful and clean, very olde world and very comfortable.
We had dinner in one of the dining rooms in the evening and the food was faultless, it was very well presented and very very tasty and not at all expensive. After our meal we took a walk around the lovely village pubs, although they too were very nice we did'nt stay away from The Swan for too long, as they were nowhere as near as nice or as popular as The Swan.
We spent most of the rest of the evening sat outdoors under the outdoor heating in the patio area at the rear of the hotel.
Breakfast was amazing, almost anything you could ask for.....personaly I'm not a breakfast person, but I had to make an exeption while at the hotel and I'm glad that I did.
The staff at the hotel were about the best we've ever come across, nothing was too much trouble for them and there was always plenty of staff on duty.
To be honest, we have visited and stayed at many hotels across the country, some very nice and not very expensive, but some not very nice and very expensive......to us The Swan was very nice and not very expensive, and if it was for me to give marks out of ten, then The Swan and all the very hard working and very pleasant staff would most definatally receive.....TEN OUT OF TEN.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil9244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (498)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

405 - 411 of 498 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2012

My husband and I and a couple of friends stayed here on our way to The Open, we had heard good reports of The Swan and it certainly lived up to them. Worth a particular mention are the delightful staff, nothing was too much trouble and it was smiles all the way which makes such a difference to us customers. The food was delicious the beds were comfy and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HolmanDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This characterful georgian hotel is ideally located in the centre of the posh little town of Tarporley.
We've been a couple of times, once being New Years Eve 2011 when we enjoyed five course party food entertainment and dancing..and the fireworks later. Breakfasts are great and so is the choice of food throughout the day. Evening dinners show care and attention to detail from the superb chef.
Rooms are well appointed with comfortable bed. Staff are very friendly and give great service.
good value for money.

Room Tip: a room at the front with the bow windows to view the character of Tarporley Hight Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steco1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Had a fanastic weekend they really look after me as i was the groom they ever allowed me to stay in my room till 2 30 on the day of my checkout (married at 3)
The service was great and the staff bend over backwards to accomadate my needs full.marks thanks to the swan

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nottop127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Had a fanastic weekend they really look after me as i was the groom they ever allowed me to stay in my room till 2 30 on the day of my checkout (married at 3)
The service was great and the staff bend over backwards to accomadate my needs full.marks thanks to the swan

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nottop127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

My husband and I arrived after a 5hr journey from Poole, to a lovely welcome yesterday by various members of staff at this hotel, who could not have been more helpful. We found the bedroom to be extremely comfortable with a modernised en-suite which was excellent. We enjoyed a relaxing breakfast with attentive service. We stayed here to meet up with friends & family and would definitely stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jpdorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

spent one night at The Swan Tarporley for business. Tiny room although had booked a single, TV didn't work - very helpful man came up and spent 10 minutes trying to fix it but to no avail and as hotel was full wasn't able to move me. Some work going on at the hotel and the new sash window fixing with three long sharp screws sticking out came off in my hand. As one of only two single people at breakfast, I sat and waited next to a table of 6 which hadn't been cleared for someone to come and offer tea/coffee but in the end had to walk round the hotel trying to find someone. One person table is situated within hearing distance of kitchen staff/radio.Not impressed. Paid £65 for single room.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lathey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarporley
0.6 mi away
Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa
2.5 mi away
Willington Hall Hotel
Willington Hall Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarporley
355 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelsall
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
4.5 mi away
Nunsmere Hall Hotel
Nunsmere Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oakmere
897 reviews
8.2 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
4,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan Tarporley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Tarporley

Address: 50 High Street, Tarporley CW6 0AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Tarporley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Tarporley
Price Range: $81 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Swan Tarporley 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 16th century Swan has been welcoming guests through its doors for over 400 years, and was once a convenient resting place for those travelling the 200 miles from London to Chester. Today, our comfortable rooms and welcoming bar and dining areas mean that The Swan continues to be a haven for visitors from far and wide. A regular winner of the Best Kept Village award, Tarporley appears in the Domesday Book of 1086. Back then, Tarporley was home to just eight households, but today is one of the largest villages in the heart of the Cheshire countryside, with antique, curio, craft and fashion shops lining its streets. Some of The Swan’s most historic features are located in its Hunt Room, home to the Tarporley Hunt Club. Founded in 1762, it is the oldest in England. The club historically met twice annually at The Swan, with each meeting lasting seven days and the hunting taking place largely within the nearby Delamere Forest. In the founding set of rules, members were required to drink “three collar bumpers” after both dinner and supper, and, in the event of marriage, to present each club member with a pair of buckskin breeches. The Tarporley Hunt Club still meet once a year today, a quarter of a millennium after Obidiah Lane went hare coarsing with his chums and decided, after much merriment at the Swan, this should happen every year; “We shall meet for the purposes of general conviviality” he declared! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your The Swan Tarporley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan Tarporley Hotel Tarporley
Swan Hotel Tarporley
The Swan Tarporley Cheshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing