We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Swan Tarporley
Nearby Hotels
$177
$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
$111
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$81
$74
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$82
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oaklands Hotel(Weaverham)
$88
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$62
Mercure
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$147
$141
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (548)
Filter reviews
548 results
Traveler rating
295
169
43
26
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
295
169
43
26
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshunt roomcoaching innoverlooking the high streetbath saltslovely villagecoach houseroast dinnerfish and chipsbeer gardenoulton parka lovely place to stayone night staycar parkfour posterfull englishmain buildingstaff were attentive
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
470 - 475 of 548 reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Arrived at quite a busy time, just before the "Bridge Club" began to arrive....Shown to our room..10...Clean and comfortable. Nice 4 Poster...lovely comfy matresss.
Managed to get a table before the rush started and food was ordered and arrived without a problem. The steak was out of this world....probably one of the nicest I have ever tasted...made sure the chef was informed! My wife had the home-baked Chucken & leek pie, she said it was excellent....Wine list very good...moved outside after the meal and we sat on the patio area and enjoyed the warm evening. Quite a busy little place and a nice group and age-range of people. Nothing too loud and just a nice ambience,reflecting on a busy past few weeks at work. Second time here at the Swan...service was good and polite, as it was first time, 3 years ago.
After a good nights sleep.....Breakfast was very good, not a scrap of grease with the Fulll English........nicely served.....and yet again another pleasant stay at a quite delightful little Pub/ Hotel in Rural Cheshire....thankyou.

Room Tip: Rooms at front of hotel overlook the main road...probably quieter in the coach house at the back of the hotel. Not that it bothered me!!! No lifts..so could be a trek up to 3rd floor...but I'm sure staff would help.....no prob for me yet again!
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NegrilZoggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay - I had work the next day and felt very relaxed following a tasty breakfast of home made porridge. The room (22) was cosy, the bed was comfortable and the room was spotless. The bathroom was really gorgeous. Evening meal - the comments on here raised our expectations and we weren't disappointed. We ate in the dining room, which was buzzing with the local bridge team who eat there each Tuesday. We then moved to a more relaxed area for chocolate pudding and a glass of red wine - perfect. Had a very relaxed stay and will return.

Room Tip: Evening meal recommended.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexis165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

My partner and I stayed at The Swan as we were attending a friend's wedding at Peckforton Castle, about 4 miles away. We thought we might have needed an early check in on the day, so we rang and enquired if this would be possible. They said it was no problem and to come whenever we needed to, provided we rang ahead first.
As it happened, we only ended up checking in late afternoon, and we were greeted warmly and check in was quick and easy.
We were shown to our room, which was out in the courtyard. It was lovely, with an extremely comfortable bed and a big warm duvet and original beams in the bedroom and bathroom.
Breakfast was included in the price of the room, and in the morning we were told we could choose where we sat and my partner and I had the window seat whilst reading the paper with a cup of tea.
My partner had the full english, which looked lovely and extremely filling, and i had egg and toast soldiers, again - lovely.
The staff were very friendly, helpful and approachable - we'd definitely stay here again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fallon81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights having used the hotel on business before . We had a room in the courtyard which was small but very comfortable . Breakfast was superb with good choce - the kippers are excellent . Dinner was also good with a reasonably priced menu of interesting and well cooked food . All the tea is leaf tea or good quality tea bags . Oh and the bar has about 6 real ales - all good !
All staff were friendly and made our stay very welcome - would definatley stay again when in the area .

Room Tip: Court yard is quieter
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tractorboy59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2012

Spotless bedrooms. Comfortable beds. Delicious food served all day and evening. You can even get breakfast up to 11 am, and 12 on Sundays. Friendly staff. Good choice of ales and wines. Open fires. Newspapers. Sloping floors. Popular with local residents [Always a good sign]. Go there and relax.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ComfortCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews