We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excallent food and service”
Review of The Swan Tarporley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Swan Tarporley
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tarporley
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Excallent food and service”
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Not been for food for a long time and their fish finger sandwich was amazing. Will be coming back.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smallcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    153
    34
    20
    9
See reviews for
77
211
23
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2011

It's all too easy to write a review only when dissatisfied. Well, we stayed at the Swan in October for a couple of nights when visiting a relative. The reason we stayed there was that it was race weekend in Chester and all of the city hotels were having it off with regard to price. The Swan had a good rating on TA and was far enough out not to change their rate.
I have to say that I was quite impressed. The rooms were comfortable, if perhaps a little tired. I mentioned this to one of the managers who replied 'We prefer to consider them as 'shabby chic, sir'. I thought that was a pretty good answer. The service was good and although we did not use the restaurent the breakfast was also good. A nice touch was that whilst my wife and daughter were shopping in town, I read the paper in the bar. Both days the manager bought me a complimentary pot of coffee. There is plenty of parking and it was nice to settle in the bar for a pint or two after a day out.
This is an old school pub/hotel and is very comfortable. I will definately stay there again, given the chance.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Critical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierrefitte sur Sauldre, France
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2011

Stayed one night, good value for money.eat in the bar, average food. Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gareth1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heide, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2011

Went to look at this hotel with plans to bring my family to stay next year. I went with my daughter and two grandchildren to check the hotel on the quit. My daughter ordered and payed for the drinks,i was seated in the entrance lounge(very comfi) when she came back with the drinks and barmaid in tow.The barmaid said no children allowed in this area and moved us down the back near the back door. If they told us first about the children we would not have had the drinks.Not only a silly rule but a rule that has lost them a few good bookings for next year

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank barneyboy462001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights as we were attending a wedding which took place in the hotel itself (in the Hunt Room which was gorgeous - filled with atmospheric paintings and a lovely green colour). Our room had a wooden four poster bed which was very comfy. It was a Little chilly from the draft from the windows but nothing we couldn't cope with. The staff were efficient and polite and the choice and quality of breakfast was very good. I had kippers one morning which were excellent. The bar snacks are worthy of a special mention: although your eyes may pop out when you see that a Scotch Egg costs £5, when you get it and see that it is the size of an Easter egg, is freshly made and completely delicious it is worth it! Super chips and pork scratchings also available. The high street itself is very pleasant for a stroll with boutique style shops and other places to eat/drink. All in all a most enjoyable place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorienstanfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2011

We visited The Swan on Sunday after a lovely walk around Tarporley and really fancied a Sunday roast. We were greeted at the door by very friendly staff and were told we could sit where we liked so we picked a table in front of the log fire. We promptly ordered Roast Beef and when it arrived we were so impressed. A giant yorkshire pudding with 3 large slices or perfectly cooked beef and all the trimmings. The goose fat roast potatoes were a triumph!
It was genuinely the best roast i'd had in a long time and would highly recommend to anyone. Where else would you rather be on a cold winters day than sat in front of a fire with a pint of great beer and a large plate of roast beef!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank simon777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2011

Having visited The Swan on numerous occasions, we took the plunge and booked our Wedding here. The service was absolutely fantastic. All of our guests had the most fantastic time, and could not believe we had found such a gem of a venue.
The staff could not do enough for all of our guests, the rooms were very comfortable, and the food was outstanding.
If you want to visit the Cheshire area, this is the perfect base, you won't be disappointed. Thank you again to Sue, Marlene and all of the team and The Swan, we had the greatest time.

Room Tip: The family room sleeps 5 in comfort and represents great value for money. The Coach House is really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EBradshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarporley
2.5 mi away
Willington Hall Hotel
Willington Hall Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarporley
347 reviews
0.6 mi away
Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa
4.0 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelsall
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
3,609 reviews
4.5 mi away
Nunsmere Hall Hotel
Nunsmere Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oakmere
883 reviews
7.8 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan Tarporley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Tarporley

Property: The Swan Tarporley
Address: 50 High Street, Tarporley CW6 0AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Tarporley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tarporley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Swan Tarporley 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 16th century Swan has been welcoming guests through its doors for over 400 years, and was once a convenient resting place for those travelling the 200 miles from London to Chester. Today, our comfortable rooms and welcoming bar and dining areas mean that The Swan continues to be a haven for visitors from far and wide. A regular winner of the Best Kept Village award, Tarporley appears in the Domesday Book of 1086. Back then, Tarporley was home to just eight households, but today is one of the largest villages in the heart of the Cheshire countryside, with antique, curio, craft and fashion shops lining its streets. Some of The Swan’s most historic features are located in its Hunt Room, home to the Tarporley Hunt Club. Founded in 1762, it is the oldest in England. The club historically met twice annually at The Swan, with each meeting lasting seven days and the hunting taking place largely within the nearby Delamere Forest. In the founding set of rules, members were required to drink “three collar bumpers” after both dinner and supper, and, in the event of marriage, to present each club member with a pair of buckskin breeches. The Tarporley Hunt Club still meet once a year today, a quarter of a millennium after Obidiah Lane went hare coarsing with his chums and decided, after much merriment at the Swan, this should happen every year; “We shall meet for the purposes of general conviviality” he declared! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Swan Tarporley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan Tarporley Hotel Tarporley
Swan Hotel Tarporley
The Swan Tarporley Cheshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing