We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, peaceful, relaxing.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Willington Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Willington Hall Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Tarporley
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful, peaceful, relaxing.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I have just returned from a one night stay at Willington Hall and we are already planning on making a return visit to recharge the batteries.
The hotel is set in beautiful peaceful grounds and the room we stayed in had far reaching views over the countryside, the room itself was large and nicely decorated.
We chose to eat in the bar and found the prices very reasonable and the portions huge, the breakfast next morning was in the restaurant and was of a very good quality and finally the staff were all a credit to the hotel, efficient and friendly.
All in all a lovely relaxing place to stay Classy but not stuffy.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank BowTow76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    69
    25
    12
    4
See reviews for
70
142
9
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bodiam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

My partner booked Sunday lunch on the recommendation of friends, and when we eventually found it (thank you again for your time and trouble, athletic Lady in Red) it was well worth it.
It's an interesting house set in beautiful grounds with formal gardens, surrounded by grazing cattle and wheat fields in nice wooded country. The house is large but not overwhelming, with nice public rooms hung with original portraits (and what looked like the original silk wall covering in our dining room) all with the original atmosphere of a large old family house without being 'hotelly'. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the food was good though not exceptional but it was very good value. We were even given free drinks because they had a lot going on and were a bit slow, not that we minded. And as a bonus: a dozen Ferraris parked in front -- we'd coincided with a Ferrari owners' club outing! But even without the bonus it would have been a very enjoyable day. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EyelidCharollais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
44 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Not too far from where we live is a jewel of a hotel settled on seventeen acres of rolling hills, with lakes and cows and horses to complete this bucolic setting. The Willington Hall is a luxury home built around 1849 that not functions as a small hotel with only 10 rooms. Each room has a sofa or in our case, a chaise and is decorated in a rich traditional style. Our weekend included a marvelous, three course dinner and we dined in a beautifully appointed dining room. We also had a full breakfast the next morning.
After, we sat on the veranda and just took in all the beauty of the countryside and could see the Welsh mountains miles away. The only sound we heard was the melodic singing of many birds. We were fortunate to have one of the best, sunny days we've experienced in England in the 11 months we've lived here.
Currently the Willington is offering a dinner special on Wednesday evenings where you can get two of their dinners for the price of one. Now that's really special.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulinevee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

Just got back from afternoon tea with three other ladies, a birthday treat. It was lovely can recommend.Plenty of beautiful cakes and sandwiches,in fact we bought some away with us. The setting is wonderful and peaceful.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank lynnefromchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastry
Level Contributor
70 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

The room was huge and lovely, although lacking tea/coffee facilities. The grounds are also very nice. Food is very good, though not exceptional and reasonably priced for what it is. However the service in the restaurant was a not at level it should be at for this grade of establishment. That said, it is more for couples or small groups and is not business people. I was left for extended periods, the waitress was curt possibly because I asked where a missing component of my meal was. The receptionist was very good and friendly though. Probably very pleasant for couples having a lovely weekend break, or special meal out. Not quite for business travellers.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank squiddyEastry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seascale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

What can I say,absolutely excellent.The staff,the food and the location-excellent.I even had a little bonus;whilst stretching my legs after the delicious evening meal 2 badger cubs kept running across the drive way-what a delight it was.Again the food and the location excellent but it was the staff that gave it that extra something,they were brilliant.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davew26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for a few nights as an Easter break. It was recommended by a family member who lives close by. We were not disappointed the staff were lovely and warm. Our dog was fussed and we were made to feel very welcome. The room was huge and the building speaks for itself it's fabulous. The breakfast was endless and very tasty the staff accommodated us like royalty. We will definite go back next time with friends! The beauty salon next door is worth a mention too. The young girl was lovely and I was made to feel very special. For the motor heads out there it is very close to Outon Park.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeniseElliott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarporley
2.6 mi away
The Swan Tarporley
The Swan Tarporley
#1 of 5 in Tarporley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
4.7 mi away
Wild Boar Hotel
Wild Boar Hotel
#3 of 5 in Tarporley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
10.2 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Nunsmere Hall Hotel
Nunsmere Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oakmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
2.8 mi away
Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa
10.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willington Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willington Hall Hotel

Property: Willington Hall Hotel
Address: Willington, Tarporley CW6 0NB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Tarporley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Tarporley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Willington Hall Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Willington Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willington Hall Tarporley
Willington Hall Hotel Tarporley, Cheshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing