We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunchtime restaurant review, well worth a visit.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Willington Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tarporley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We visited Willington Hall hotel to try the lunchtime menu. I must say we were not disappointed. The service, as usual, was first class even though they were busy with a group booking.
The food, also, was excellent. They have a good variety from light bites, such as sandwiches, to full meals.
I would recommend this restaurant for both the service and the food.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColinFD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (359)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

284 - 290 of 359 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed here for one Sunday night for my partner's fiftieth birthday. The location is completely rural within expansive grounds. It was very quiet and peaceful. We stayed in the four poster bed room which was spacious with lovely views of the surrounding countryside. Breakfast is included and the full English was delicious. Would recommend the homemade jam and honey. We also had the Sunday roast which was good value at £15 for three courses. It was beautiful made from local produce. The staff were friendly and helpful, they all clearly enjoy working there. Local visits should include Chester and Tarporley. I would describe the decor as rural chic, if you like that sort of thing. The furniture seemed to be from when the hotel was a stately home. Couldn't fault it and would definitely go back. Great setting for a wedding.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank stuofhallbank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Booked last minute through booking.com .. £75 for Double room including breakfast ...Stayed Friday night as racing at Oulton Park Circuit which is only a 15 minute drive away.
Great old family mansion built circa 1850's I think . Superb views.. Very friendly and helpful staff.
Lovely good sized double room which was well ,in fact over heated (No heat adjustments were possible in the room other than opening the window)..Very comfortable bed. Bathroom was functional and clean but a little dated with lower end fittings
We had dinner in their restaurant .The food was really excellent ..they clearly have a very good chef.

As with all old places you could find maintenance issues with the fabric of the place if you wanted to and the gardens appear to have been let go a bit. However the place has a really great ambiance. We will certainly stay here again .

Room Tip: If you require breakfast pre-&.30am let them know in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We only stayed one night at Willington Hall and all the staff were unfailingly helpful and very friendly. We brought our Border Terrier, Gryf, with us and I've never seen a dog made so welcome: the receptionist introduced him to all her colleagues. The rooms are large and country house sized and the breakfast was cooked to order an excellent. We had kippers and smoked haddock. Another nice touch was the homemade marmalade rather than catering portions. My only disappointment was that we were only there for one night!

Room Tip: We had rooms at the back with a fantastic view across the garden to the Clwyd Hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shieldsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

My wife and i loved this brilliant little hotel, very friendly staff who worked very hard for you. Food was superb, we opted for a bar meal rather than the resturant but it was well above the standard that you would expect for a bar menu. Breakfast was a similar standard with quality ingredients rather than the fatty sausage and bacon that you often get. The location is lovely but was covered in a foot of snow when we were there! This is a 3 star place and doesnt have all the bells and whistles but we were very happy with our experience and look forward to our next visit. Recommended

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank graham s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We spent one night at Willington Hall. The hotel is set in lovely grounds with fantastic views of the countryside. Not far from the village of Tarporley which is very picturesque with a variety of shops cafes and pubs. Our hotel room was very warm and comfortable with tea making facilities. Staff were very friendly and helpful. We had our evening meal in the Hotel Restaurant, the food was delicious and piping hot. After a very restful sleep we had breakfast.... there was plenty of choices and everything was cooked to perfection. We would highly recommend this hotel for a nice quiet break away and would definitely stay here again. :)

Room Tip: We had a room at the front of the Hotel but there was no noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

My husband and I booked one night at Willington Hall for a romantic getaway and we weren't disappointed. A beautiful building with stunning views. Friendly, warm staff who can't do enough for you. Lovely room with a very comfy bed and breakfast was delicious!! Will definitely be back but for a couple of nights next time.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wardy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarporley
2.7 mi away
Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa
2.5 mi away
The Swan Tarporley
The Swan Tarporley
#2 of 4 in Tarporley
504 reviews
10.1 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelsall
402 reviews
4.0 mi away
Nunsmere Hall Hotel
Nunsmere Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oakmere
908 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
2,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willington Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willington Hall Hotel

Address: Willington, Tarporley CW6 0NB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Tarporley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tarporley
Price Range: $99 - $650 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Willington Hall Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Willington Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willington Hall Tarporley
Willington Hall Hotel Tarporley, Cheshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing