We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect 40TH”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Willington Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tarporley
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect 40TH”
Reviewed February 4, 2008

We had a truly amazing time at Willington Hall on the weekend of the 25th/26 January 2008. Everything was just perfect.

The entire staff made my 40th Birthday so special. All my guests had an absolutely wonderful weekend and one they will never forget.

The friendliness and hospitality of all the staff from Michelle and Andy to the servers was nothing short of excellent. Nothing was too much trouble.

The food was delicious on both nights and I could not fault anything.

I would recommend this hotel for similar evenings to mine or for weddings.

A truly memorable weekend.

  • Stayed January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EnglandGaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    72
    28
    12
    4
See reviews for
74
147
9
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
manchester
1 review
Reviewed November 4, 2007

We got married at Willington Hall hotel in August 2007 and had the most fantastic experience. It is a beautiful country house venue set in the most amazing grounds (perfect for post-ceremony drinks and photos) It has a very relaxed "country home" feel and the staff are all very friendly and attentive. From the moment we arrived for our wedding (and indeed in the months running up to the big day) we were looked after and nothing was too much trouble. As previous reviewers have commented, Michele the french guy who works there is fantastic and he ensured that everything ran to plan throughout the day and myself and the rest of the wedding party had nothing to worry about at all. The food was wonderful - and so many guests commented on how tasty and hot it was (my dad also commented that he had never had such large Yorkshire puds!) The staff were also very flexible when it came to choosing menus (and as vegetarien i was more that happy with the meat-free choices!) The bedrooms are really lovely - offering superb views across the countryside. Room 1 (which is the bridal suite )is a huge corner room and absolutely gorgeous with a big four poster bed. The other three rooms that I managed to see were also lovely - and all of a very good size. All our guests who stayed there were really happy with their rooms and commented on the extra touches such as the fresh fruit which they had.
Overall, I cannot recommend Willington enough. As a wedding venue its perfect (especially if you want an "english country " type wedding like we did. What's so lovely about the place is that even though its a grand old house, its got a lovely understated feel to it, and is not at all flashy. All our guests commented on what a lovely time they had and how relaxed they felt there. It also has such a peaceful location which makes it ideal for a relaxing weekend away.
We will definitely go back (and try and get room 1 again!!)

  • Liked — location, gardens,room,food
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachmManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2007

We had a more perfect day than we could have hoped for. Everything looked amazing, the day ran smoothly, and we didn't have to think of anything other than enjoying ourselves throughout the day. A special thanks to Michele who was a fantastic Toast Master, he ensured we were always where we needed to be, guests were catered for without a hitch, and, at the same time, has a great sense of humour. This created the relaxed and fun-loving atmosphere we wanted our wedding to have. To cater for a large amount of people must be stressful and it did not show once, they made it look effortless when we know it must have been hard work.

They have fabulous gardens, which we were fortunate enough to have good weather and be able to use, the bedrooms are lovely, have a real country house feel to them, and we also had photos taken inside the rooms and on the stairs, which, if the weather isn't so good, are also picture-perfect. I cannot praise the staff enough. They are the most warm, friendly and attentive staff, and we were relieved 100% of the pressure we thought we would have to cope with on the day.

The added bonus is, if you use the Hamiltons Suite, everything is in the one room, bar dance floor, tables to sit at, so you don't have to go far, and the party atmosphere remains as no one is split between rooms.

Marks out of 5? We give them 6!

  • Liked — Loved everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Orvsurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaviesCheshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2007

From start to finish the Willington Hall Hotel staff were brilliant they made our wedding day a fantastic day to remember.

From the moment we booked the staff and owners were very accommodating and extremely professional they have obviously lots of experince in weddings, we had been several times for meals in the Hotel restaurant and knew the food and service would be excellent.

From the minute our wedding party arrived everything went smoothly, the rooms were all ready and are all very big and airy with fresh fruit and mineral water complimentary on arrival.

The food was excellent really hot and tasty, everyone remarked on the quality.

The evening reception was again great and the buffet lovely.

A special mention is for the Hotel Manager Mechele who was brilliant he kept us all calm and even though we overan 10 minutes it was not a problem he is a credit to the hotel.

I would definately recommend this Hotel again and will return for evening meals quality assured every time.

Thank you Willington for this amazing day.

  • Liked — large rooms
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaviesCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2006

Lovely House, lovely location, we had a nice big room too!
As far as the accomodation goes, unfortunately, someone has sprayed flies... then not hoovered them up, so my first job on arrival was to gather up the bodies (about 15 of them) and drop them in the bin! Quite a few spiders lurking in corners too! The evening check -in receptionist was a little snippy (a bit rushed?), but the day receptionist was lovely.

My main disappointment was the restaurant really. A few items list, but not available, a rather uninspired menu I thought... catering for blue rinse(?). Good wine list.

There was a 2 for one offer in the restaurant that many guests had signed up to (not us!), so it probably it wasn't a good night for the non-cheap-skates to visit.

One Night 14-poster bedroom (2 people)=£120 (approx $200)
Bed and Breakies, Excluding Dinner.

  • Liked — Room Views
  • Disliked — Flies and Dinner Menu
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RichardBJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarporley
2.5 mi away
The Swan Tarporley
The Swan Tarporley
#2 of 4 in Tarporley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
4.0 mi away
Nunsmere Hall Hotel
Nunsmere Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oakmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
10.1 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa
1.5 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelsall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
10.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willington Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willington Hall Hotel

Property: Willington Hall Hotel
Address: Willington, Tarporley CW6 0NB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Tarporley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tarporley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Willington Hall Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Willington Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willington Hall Tarporley
Willington Hall Hotel Tarporley, Cheshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing