We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best Veggie roast meals ever”
Review of Rising Sun

Rising Sun
Ranked #21 of 36 Restaurants in Tarporley
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Postcode CW6 0DXT
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of the best Veggie roast meals ever”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I loved the atmosphere in the snug bar. I was able to have a great meal on a Sunday afternoon with my daughter and dog sat under the table. Food of a high standard and great value.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    88
    25
    26
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“First class service with a smile”
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Visited here on 17th august for lunch. As we entered the bar a lady greeted us with a smile and we proceeded to the dining room. The menu has a fantastic choice I chose the lamb it was very tender and the vegetables and mint gravy were very tasty. My husband chose braised steak and our friend beef they too enjoyed their mains and yes the portions werevery generous. After a while we ordered dessert Eton mess cheesecake and raspberry roulades very tasty indeed. Must mention the young man who gave excellent customer service very friendly and polite. If you want good food and great customer service i highly recommend THE RISING SUN will be returning very soon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jkpss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Nice and friendly”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Nice olde worlde pub. beer reasonably priced seperate dining area nice polite bar staff. would pay it a visit again

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank BlackrodWeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
87 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good Old English Pub”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Had a meal here in July the food was very good and they were able to supply a meal for my veg/vegan wife. Unlike another restaurant in Chester I have already reviewed the vegetables came in a separate bowl for each customer. The restaurant area was busy, but you could talk to each other without having to shout, the staff were very helpful and polite.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank jackson074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lovely village pub”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This pub looks delightful from outside with beautiful flowers, right on Tarporley high street. Plenty of parking at the rear. Good pub food, plenty of choice and very large helpings of food. Excellent atmosphere inside.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank CappucinoPerthUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rising Sun also viewed

 
Tarporley, Cheshire
Tarporley, Cheshire
 
Tarporley, Cheshire
Tarporley, Cheshire
 

Been to Rising Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing