We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful traditional pub - the same as its always been”
Review of Rising Sun

Rising Sun
Ranked #20 of 37 Restaurants in Tarporley
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Postcode CW6 0DXT
oxfordshire
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful traditional pub - the same as its always been”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

What a lovely cosy pub - the same as its always been. Not sawdust and spittle type but cosy, warm and lovely with old fashioned bar. Apparently its the only pub in England that occassionally still has a queue at 5.30 of people wanting to get a seat in its lovely cosy atmosphere.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank arderne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    88
    26
    27
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Had very nice meal here. Menu is extremely varied and suit most tastes. Excellent value for money and fast friendly service.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We have been eating meals at the Rising Sun for over 30 years and can honestly say we have never had a bad meal here. Their menu is extensive - far more varied than many other places and we've never had a problem taking our vegetarian friends here. They are always very accommodating if we've wanted a variation on the menu. The atmosphere is very much olde worlde with a low-beamed ceiling and nooks and crannies. The various owners over the years have retained the Christmas decorations of whitewashed twigs across the ceiling intertwined with fairy lights which makes it very atmospheric. Pity the open fires have been replaced with gas powered coal - but otherwise we cannot fault this for food and for drink. Perfect!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GE_RikB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgnorth
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Ticked all the boxes, just missing that sparkle”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Met up with family for a Festive lunch - and we DID enjoy it. The welcome was friendly... the food was good... the service was efficient....

But it just felt like the tinsel was missing off the Christmas Tree.

The Dining Room has been commented on by others - after walking in to a cosy country pub, it is a let down. The lights were bright, floodlight-esque, the decor dated. But comfortable if a little tight. Once the lights were turned down from full-beam...

The menu is massive! Not the actual menu but the selection. Gordon Ramsey would have a field day! But what came was really well-cooked. The steaks were great, fries brown and crispy. The veg was plain, frozen methinks, but okay.

Puddings were agin very good - one bit of feedback is the Trifle was sherry-less and sponge-less despite its description. That was a shame.

Everything was okay but it just lacked a little sparkle. The service was efficient but lacked any interaction or friendliness. The food was okay but was 'good home cooking'-esque.... the dining room really needs a makeover so it fits with the pub.

You'll enjoy a visit here but it won't leave you texting your mates to rush & book a table. we'll certainly be back... with sunglasses and a miniature Sherry.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thomsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Where Else”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We have been meeting friends in the Tarporley area for 30 years and have tried most of the local eateries. However we always end up back at the Rising sun as its one of the best menu's in the area, portions are always good and staff very friendly. Long may we enjoy it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rising Sun also viewed

Tarporley, Cheshire
Tarporley, Cheshire
 

Been to Rising Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing